We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet in Thailand”
Review of Phaya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phaya Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Lamphun B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quiet in Thailand”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The opinions of others on Trip Advisor led me to Phaya Inn -- and I agree with them. I took a mini-bus from Chiang Mai [75 cents] and a 2-bencher back [50 cents] to another world. A town that has next to no signage in English, no tourist groups, attractively planned, filled with astonishing temples -- and this clean modern lodging -- to the point of WiFi in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank PadovaChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This is my first trip to Lamphun as I was seeking a short escape from the confusion of town and busy working life. I searched on Tripadvisor and hit Phaya Inn, which indeed deserves the first rank. The inn keeper had been very helpful from the reservation process and during the stay - giving directions, share what to do, where to dine and the rich history of Lamphun. I had discovered the amazing experiences for the great holiday tips and could not believe that there are so much to explore in such a small and peaceful city.

Location wise, the hotel is not all far from Chiang Mai and it is found that Phaya Inn is located in the history route of Lamphun culture - I took a tram visiting 9 temples, museum, and the monument of Queen Jamma Dhevi. The great local dining places including Friday's walking street are just a short distance away by car.

Rooms - the rooms are the best in Lamphun; specious, very clean and well maintained. The ceiling is high and the furniture are made of great quality teak wood. Amenities includes free bottled of water, Wi-Fi, (huge) minibar fridge, big wardrobe, TV with English speaking and local channels, dressing table, telephone, bathroom with hot water and shower. These exceeded my expectation for the price I paid and I am very sure that the place could have sold at double or triple times higher if located in downtown.

Cleanliness - this is the highlight.. Rooms and public spaces are very clean - at a level of 5 star luxury hotels. Heard that the owner used to manage many upper scale luxury resorts in Thailand.

Service - the owners all are very friendly and helpful. Although there is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is a coffee/tea and snacks provided complimentary for breakfast. In-room, there are extensive food menu with delivery service from a local restaurant nearby. Laundry service is also available with reasonable price, I guarantee that your clothes return fresh and clean. Wow!

In Summary, I would highly recommend Phaya Inn to all my family, friends and visitors. I was very impressed with the place and services and will definitely return to this great "Gem" of Lamphun!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Petitgino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Just only half an hour drive from Chiang Mai to here. Touching of green and fresh air from a nice garden surrounding the hotel. The location is great and easy to get to the famous temple in town. Rooms is nicely decorated. Pretty much enjoys my coffee & juicy drink at the basement of lobby area with speed of 10MB internet offered, I could be their the whole day to enjoys my photo upload to share with my friends in FB . It is a five-minute-ride into the centre which you could find the place for dining. You can get the recomendation of nice restaurant in town from the hotel's staff which you should ever miss to try for. Cozy hotel and very memorable place for you to try.... :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LunaAmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

A sweet night with a very nice hotel , a big room & sweet bed like ***** hotel, TV and free HI-speed wifi a big value, hot shower, fridge are comfortable and very clean. Complimentary cofee & snack at the lobby in the morning. 5 min by car to Lumphun city and 20 min to Chaing Mai. You are in our memorable!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank papa_nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed my 2 nights. Very nice and helpful people.

Hotel is clean, comfortable, quiet. Cannot fault it.

Kitt is fluent in English, very useful...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eternalcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
214 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This well decorated and kept hotel welcomes you as a friend. Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The view is to the fields. The lobby offers coffee and caked in the morning. Internet and TV are working well, parking downstairs. It is a five-minute-ride into the centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Thought it would be extremely busy during New Year in Chiang Mai and decided to reside at this small town about only 20 mins away. The accommodation was a big surprise comparing to the value of money paid. A very clean comfortable bed with white stripe duvet just like in any other international hotels. The design wise is quite traditional but cozy. Free WIFI is a big plus. Family operated with genuine friendliness. No breakfast or restaurant available but replaced with complimentary snack and coffee in the lobby every morning. Own transportation would be better, but if not, walking distance from the hotel to the main road to catch a bus is enjoyable along the river and trees.
Lamphun is small but full of interesting temples. We would have spent more days if we knew and didn't plan other destinations.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Unchank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamphun
0.0 mi away
Lamphun Will Hotel
Lamphun Will Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lamphun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marndadee Heritage River Village
0.0 mi away
Kaomai Lanna Resort
Kaomai Lanna Resort
#126 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Grand Jamjuree
The Grand Jamjuree
#5 of 18 in Lamphun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Princess City
Royal Princess City
#5 of 18 in Lamphun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamadevi Lamphun
Jamadevi Lamphun
#1 of 8 in Lamphun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phaya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phaya Inn

Property: Phaya Inn
Address: Bann Changkong 35/1 | Chitwongpanrangsan Road, Lamphun 51000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Lamphun Province > Lamphun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lamphun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phaya Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Lanna Living - finest accommodation in LamphunPhaya Inn is located only 22 km from Chiang Mai, in the historical city of Lamphun or originally known as Haripunchai, a province with a stretching history of more than 1,300 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Phaya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing