We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best resort in Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hang Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best resort in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was my second time staying at Veranda Chiangmai. The first time my parents, who live in Chiangmai, took me to the resort and this time I went with a friend. The staffs are always helpful and kind. The scenery from the rooms are breathtaking. If you are looking for a place to just relax, Veranda is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aokuno18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandaChaingMai, Managing Director at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Veranda Chiang Mai-The High Resort. We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and staff during your stay. Looking forward to your soon return visit.

Best regards,
Surasak Wongkiatthaworn
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    282
    78
    26
    15
See reviews for
216
413
29
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

After unsatisfactory experience at Veranda HuaHin, I did not expect much from Veranda Chiang Mai. However, the hotel is better than I expected and also far better than Veranda Hua Hin.

The best point of this hotel is the view! It is very well located in the middle of the valley where you can see many greenery hill and also the hotel itself have a very good landscape that you can feel very closed to the nature. Also, the big plus of this hotel is the main pool where it offer the best view at the hotel. However, the size seems to be a bit small. The services and the staffs are as good as 5 stars hotel should be. They also offer varieties of Thai snack as part of every night turn-down services. The breakfast is alright. They offer many western and Thai breakfast items. However, they should consider putting some Northern Thai food in the menu as well since Chiang Mai is also known for its delicacy. The room service price is not that bad, but you cannot use Accor member card to get discount on the room service item.

Now, the things that need to be improved. First the location is far from the city, and you will need to drive 30 mins. It wouldn't be any problem, except that there is no sign board or any direction sign on the main road. I have to drive around 7 km. to the hotel via local road that have very few houses and surrounded by many big trees. With no direction sign, I could only rely on GPS. So, if you consider driving there, GPS is a big plus, and the hotel should consider to put more direction sign on the way as well.

Second, the in-room internet signal is very bad. I got disconnect several time, and the speed is quite bad as well. I have to rely on my 3G signal to send my work related e-mail. (BTW, the DTAC signal there is not quite strong neither, I got the EDGE connection instead of 3G many times.) However, the internet signal at the lobby and the restaurant seems to be fine.

Other things are just minor points such as the room condition is quite old, and the wash basin design is not that practical (too low for me.)

To sum up, I think it is a good hotel that you can find relaxation and refreshing atmosphere. If they can improve things that I mentioned, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CakeHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandaChaingMai, Managing Director at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions, we will focus on the advice given.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback to improve our services and facilities as complete satisfaction is our goal of Veranda Chiang Mai - The High Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Veranda Chiang Mai - The High Resort during your next stay in Chiang Mai.

Faithfully yours,
Surasak Wongkiatthaworn
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

So quiet, so comfortable, such impeccable design and decoration, gorgeous large rooms with enchanting views, I slept so well! Fantastic place to go with small children - so much to explore, (although always supervise small children because lots of water features and high walls), lovely pools, delicious, extensive breakfast-with-a-view, cute children's play-room with child-minding services. Some lovely touches: small treats when the room is serviced and a free DVD library facility. We really loved this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your nice feedback after your stay in Veranda Chiang Mai-The High Resort. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and would be very pleased to welcome you again, next time you visit Chiang Mai.

Best regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

When I arrive the lobby. They offer me a special welcome drink. My room was a plunge pool villa no 901. The room is larger than my expected and it had a own jacuzzi. It just around 3mins walk to the hotel coffee shop and edged swimming pool. Also u can ask them to arrange a buggy car to pick u up to anywhere within the resort. And they offered free shuttle to Night Bazarr at 1900. The room is valuable to what I paid and their staffs provide good services. There is just a problem I found was the water pressure and hot water at bathroom is not enough and not stable.

Room Tip: Plunge pool villa is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Won S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandaChaingMai, Managing Director at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions, we will pay more attention in its every detail especially a water pressure and hot water. However, thank you again for your valuable feedback to improve our service and facilities as complete satisfaction is our goal of Veranda Chiang Mai : The High Resort.

Best regards,
Surasak Wongkiatthaworn
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014


We spent 2 nights in the resort and we felt like living in the beautiful botanical garden.
The front desk were very helpful when we had to called to we had difficulty in finding the hotel.They offer us to take the free shuttle from city ,When we arrived They were quick and efficient during check-in . they provided us with maps, directions and guidance on what to do in chiangmai.
We had a lot of fun in the swimming pools, fitness club, bicycles, We admired the mountain views, feeling so happy and relaxed.
Our Valley Deluxe room is located in a low building on high ground away from lobby with spectacular valley view. Our room is spacious, . Room is very clean and have good bedding.
Buggies are available to travel around this huge resort. If you need to go around the resort, the buggy will come to pick you up quite quickly.

All and all, we love this beautiful resort. It's truly hard to leave this paradise!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandaChaingMai, Managing Director at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Veranda Chiang Mai-The HIgh Resort and taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Veranda Chiang Mai The High Resort during your next stay in Chiang Mai.

Best regards,
Surasak Wongkitthaworn
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stay at Veranda High Chiang Mai's valley deluxe room in March 2014. Overall a nice, relaxing atmosphere throughout the whole resort. Detailed description as follows:

Pros:
- great, relaxing resort decor.
- reasonable fast check-in process.
- nice welcome drinks and scented towels to keep u fresh.
- spacious Valley Delxue Room with unique bathroom setting.
- able to convert into an open concept bathroom.
- allows one to soak and relax in the huge bathtub while sipping cocktails and watching television.
- wonderful Thann toiletries.
- nice daybed
- great view of the mountains from my room, accompanied by classy water features.
- nice turn-down service with great little snacks.
- wonderful food of a good standard served at the Higher Room (breakfast and lunch); try to get the tables overlooking the infinity-edged swimming pool. You need to get these seats at least once and enjoy the breeze and view at breakfast, through your stay.
- Great dinner sets / food at Rabiang Cha (save for the mosquitos), at a decent price.
- good service from F&B staff in general.
- pleasantly decorated restaurants.
- useful, complimetary shuttle services to town, twice a day to different locations.
- decent spa and massage standards at a reasonable price (by hotel standards) + great spa ambience.

Cons:
- 30mins or so drive from where the action is (go to Le Meridien Chiang Mai if you want to be near great local Thai food and nightlife)
- Poor WIFI connection; struggled with connecting my iPhone 5 and iPad everyday without fail. Brought up to management everyday but to no avail; left me with a 'sorry we cannot do anything about it' response.
- It's mosquitoes galore out there.
- I paid a premium for a new Toyota Camry round trip airport transfer but was greeted with only a van on arrival at the airport. Informed frontdesk on arrival but staff were totally unapologetic and made no effort to make any form of refund or corrective work. Had to specifically informed frontdesk on day prior to checkout to insist and remind them that I had made payment for a Toyota Camry and not a van! - only after much effort, was this fulfilled!
- i wish they had more tables at the higher room, over looking the great infinity edged pool
- library was always closed - you need to get the staff to open for you.
- bicycles come at an exorbitant price - would be good to be complementary to hotel guests.

Nonetheless, enjoyed my week's stay at Veranda High. Will recommend if what you want is a quiet, relaxing resort away from the hustle and bustle of the city, with great thai food and ambience. Resort management needs to improve on the cons mentioned in order to be a genuine 5 start hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DoctorTanWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions, we will focus on the advice given.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback to improve our services and facilities as complete satisfaction is our goal of Veranda Chiang Mai - The High Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Veranda Chiang Mai - The High Resort during your next stay in Chiang Mai.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

stayed for few nights which was enough,relaxing and very private and quiet around the hotel.The rooms were magnificently decorated and facilities were stunning, huge stone bath tub for two,design was number 1.Breakfast were great and plenty of variety, infinity pool views were magnificent and sunsets were picturesque. Had therapies/massages there which were exqisite .Only surprise/downside was that for a 5star place the reception staff were not able to communicate as well as should be expected for this rating found them very limited.Overall would come back again.

Room Tip: all rooms have a good location and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luggetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and suggestions that inspire us to improve our services and facilities at excellence, as completing satisfaction is our goal at Veranda Chiang Mai - The High Resort. We will pay our finest attention in every detail so as to bring out the impressions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Veranda Chiang Mai-The High Resort during your next stay in Chiang Mai.


Faithfully yours
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hang Dong
7.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
6.1 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
9.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
7.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
8.4 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection

Property: Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
Address: 192 Moo 2 | Banpong, 50230, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Hang Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hang Dong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hang Dong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hang Dong
#1 Spa Hotel in Hang Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda Chiangmai: The High Resort, is a total Zen experience from the moment of arrival. We located in private valley with rice and tea terraces, natural ponds and orchids. Perfect retreat to relax and indulge yourself in the Spa. Divided into two zones, on one side representing the cultural heritage of the north and the other the Contemporary Veranda style. A boutique northern retreat of just 72 rooms, all guests are ensured of the best personal service, 24 hours a day from our warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Hang Dong
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection Chiang Mai Province/Hang Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing