We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cofresi Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Boqueron
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We are a family of 4. The kids are 3.5 yr and 1.5 yr old. We stayed at the hotel from Dec. 24 to Dec. 30, 2013.
Pros:
- Convenient location, 10-min walk to nice calm beach.
- Nice to have an apartment with a full kitchen.
- Maintenance and cleaning staff were nice.
- Value for the apartment was okay (~$120/night)
Cons:
- Hot water availability seems to work on a breaker system, which we popped for no apparent reason and had no hot water (suspiciously) for 1 day. The next day, we then knew how to reset the breaker, but it was very frustrating to have to reset it every minute for a while! There was no apparent reason for the breaker to pop.
- Bathroom: shower head holder broken and no bath stopper to take baths. Essentially we could neither take a shower or a bath.
- Kitchen not fully equipped, e.g. no dish soap, no sponge. But we asked the front desk and the maid provided those.
Less important points but worth mentioning if the hotel wants to improve guests’ stay:
- No hot water option at the kitchen sink.
- Old beds: hard but not too bad.
- Some bath towels were also old (small holes or thin parts)
- No onsite hotel parking (only 3 spots to unload): the parking is maybe 100 yards away.
- Chairs’ pad is held with screws that one can feel through the pad.
- No crib available
- Staff did not speak much English.
- Facilities consist only of a pool on the roof, which we did not use. No computer with internet. No community room.
- The fire alarm next to the elevator was already pulled.
- Our apartment was located between two tanks (in the outside corridor) of propane gas.
We would still recommend this place but only if you have low standards.

Room Tip: We had a 6-person apartment #104, on the ground floor. The nearest fire alarm to our apartment was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

We love the place since the very beginning. All the staff were very friendly and customer services oriented. A place with good maintenance. Everything as described. We definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KdelValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I've been to the Cofresí twice before. The owners are doing everything to maintain their building. Write Cofresi Beach Hotel in google maps and you'll see the location. It's a short 10-15 min walk to the beach (Balneario de Boquerón) and to the village. This weekend we wanted cable tv to watch the playoffs and i knew the Cofresí had cable. If you want a nice clean apartment, consider this apartment hotel. I found it spacious and comfortable, clean, well equipped kitchen, good bathroom and shower, everything worked. There's a well stocked and friendly mini market accross the street. Staff is friendly and ready to help, just ask. Don't expect any luxuries, it's just a basic place to live in a beach village.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LauraVioleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel from September 11-15 and had a great time. The staff was super nice and very helpful. We chose a 2-bedroom apartment for six adults because we needed the bathroom to have holding bars for our very senior dad, and the 3 bedroom ones didn't have those. Although it ended up being a bit cramped for my sister, who had a large service dog with her, and she ended up moving to an identical apartment next door, the 2-bedroom was comfortable enough for 5 adults and would be perfect for a family with children. The apartment was very clean and the kitchen had everything we needed in very good condition. Getting to the hotel was very easy and it had everything we needed nearby: groceries, places to eat (including a bakery with great fresh bread!), and easy access to all the great beaches and surrounding areas. The hotel's pool is on the roof (with a great view) and is open until 8:00pm and later during the weekends. Since I don't like getting sun-burned, my daughter and I always go swimming at night. Although this pool was small, it was very clean and we had it all to ourselves, so it was very very relaxing to unwind from our busy day in the cool water surrounded by the lights of the town on a breezy night. Overall, it's a very good place to stay. It's not luxurious, but it's a great value for the price.

Room Tip: Even though the 2-bedroom apartments sleep 6 adults, they might feel a bit cramped. They would be g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhsandnnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

It's good cause it has every utensil you have at your kitchen and it's also close the beach. But what I noticed when I woke up is that I had sore throat! Which I didn't had before that day, this tells me that something wasn't clean. Might be the A/C or anything else like the pillow! The pool it's at a great temperature but it's too small. 8 people inside and no one else can get in! Besides that, I got the warm cozy feeling like if I was at home, which I loved! Thank You!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulises_Borrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Very good first impressions from staff and overall maintenance. Clean, comfortable,cozy and well equipped. Cooking ware, linens and china in very good condition, as was microwave, range and oven. Only drawback: incontinent fridge. It would help to change bath faucets and showerheads. Overall: a pleasant, peaceful stay near the turquoise mild waves of Boqueron Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anamari802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Positives
Gate parking lot, excellent location near amenities of Boqueron, quiet, apartment clean and cozy, pool area clean and well maintained, cutlery and china available and clean. Larger apartment (3 bedrooms) fits 6 people comfortably (up to 8 with sofa bed, although it will be crowded). Staff very friendly, courteous and service oriented. Kitchen fully equipped (fridge, microwave and stove full size). Perfect for weekend or week stays.

Negatives (few)
Shower and faucets need renovation, rain water accumulated in front of door, fridge condensed and let out water that needed to be cleaned regularly. Too much furniture in a small common area. The table is right in the middle of the kitchen. Difficult to walk.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merlin318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boqueron
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 4 in Boqueron
351 reviews
4.3 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Boquemar
Parador Boquemar
#2 of 4 in Boqueron
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
21.6 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
805 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cofresi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cofresi Beach Hotel

Address: Road 101, Boqueron, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo > Boqueron
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Boqueron
Price Range: £63 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cofresi Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cofresi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Beach Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing