We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
120
35
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
35
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river boat ride local village hidden gem heritage property magical setting stayed for nights unique location rajasthani cuisine cup of tea fabulous views family run family home narrow streets wonderful heritage large bathroom boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This is a wonderful heritage fort to stay in if you are near Kotor. While the rooms are faded grandeur, the spacious rooms, wonderful views and antiques provide an opportunity to experience how royalty lived in the past. And in the present. The prince is very approachable and proud of his heritage and of the lovely building and grounds. There are not many places you have this opportunity. The home cooked food was delicious and plentiful. Breakfast on the roof with a view over the river was very special.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerDelhi, Manager at Bhainsrorgarh Fort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear Guest

Greetings from Bhainsrorgarh Fort!

Thank you for taking out time to write a review on your stay at Bhainsrorgarh Fort on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again.

With Warm Regards

Team Bhainsrorgarh Fort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We were there for new year's celebration. I'll call it sheer luck that we got 2 rooms in the last minute. We were 2 couples. We instantly liked the place. Actually it is known to lesser People which is the best part. Less crowded and exclusive place. I have truly never seen such a place in Rajasthan as of yet. Unique setting. Nestled above the fork of chambal and bramhani. It's hard to describe its beauty in words. Just go and visit to understand it. Mr. Hemendra is very hospitable and and warm host. Would love to go again.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank chaskaramrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerDelhi, Owner at Bhainsrorgarh Fort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear Guest

Greetings from Bhainsrorgarh Fort!

We thank you for taking out time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor. It was lovely to have you over and thank you for showing appreciation of our services. We hope to hear from you again.

With Warm Regards

Team Bhainsrorgarh Fort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

My first visit here was magical so I was a little apprehensive about the second. I returned with my husband as I wanted to show him the amazing places I had seen. I had raved about the fort as it was the highlight on my last trip so expectations were high. Neither of us were disappointed.
This time we were booked into a suite on the second floor overlooking the river. The bedroom was smaller - with a balcony overlooking the river and countryside, but we had a vast sitting and writing room all to ourselves with a large bathroom off that. It was tastefully furnished, clean and comfortable. We loved it.
The rooms were all occupied so there were plenty of guests around, but the grounds are large and you could chat to others or sit alone as you chose.
Dinner was served in a garden filled with candles around the walls. The setting was beautiful. All the guests sat chatting around a fire with pre dinner drinks, then gravitated towards our own tables before helping ourselves to the dish of the day laid out as a buffet.
A good breakfast was served on the roof top. Brilliant scrambled egg!
The early morning boat trip was amazing. Once again we saw different kingfishers, fruit bats, and several other birds - all with a cup of tea in our hands. Perfect!
Bhainsrorgarh fort is the perfect place to stay to relax and experience the countryside as a contrast to the noise and bustle of the towns.
It might be worth mentioning there are various uneven steps in places, which are quite difficult to see with candlelight and dim lighting in the dark so small children or the elderly could struggle.
I look forward to my third visit.

Room tip: In this location I am sure all rooms have lovely views, but I would always ask for a room with a river view.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wendygE2807RX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerDelhi, Manager at Bhainsrorgarh Fort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear Guest

Greetings from Bhainsrorgarh Fort!

We thank you for taking out time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor for the second time. Guests coming back to us is such a delight and we were so happy to have you over again this time with your husband and it was a pleasure meeting him. We too look forward to hearing from you soon with regard to your next visit to Bhainsrorgarh Fort.

With Warm Regards

Team Bhainsrorgarh Fort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

The location of this fort is its absolute selling point. It is well restored and full of historical memorabilia. Comfortable rooms too. The 2 brothers are around at check-in and -out as well as at dinner time. We expected it from a family home that is run by the family but found it rather business like. None of the other young staff speak any meaningful English but they were all friendly.
Boat rides on the river are offered, at R750 per head which we felt a little steep for a good hour. Also, the tea/coffee service during the tour turned out to be a single bottle of water. No explanation was provided.
Food was very good generally although we found the dinners a little on the bland side but, granted, this is a matter of personal taste.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerDelhi, Owner at Bhainsrorgarh Fort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear Guest

Greetings from Bhainsrorgarh Fort!

We thank you for taking out time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor and pointing out things that you did not expect with us.

I well remember your arrival and stay with us. We did personally welcome you as we do with all our guests and we also do try and spend a lot of time with our guests as apposed to your comments. It was just by chance that we did not sit and chat for long with you as compared to what you had expected from a family run Heritage Hotel. When there are just one or two rooms occupied in a property, the owners get to spend more time with each guest and on higher occupancy dates the time is usually divided. My apologies if you felt that we could not give you more time than you expected but I do remember we met a several times during your stay (only that we could not sit and chat for long as either you were busy exploring and taking photos or we were in the process of looking after operations as each aspect has to be personally supervised)

You went for the boat ride after breakfast, that's when tea/coffee is not served as usually guests have already had a cup or a few and do not repeat that so soon. This we have done with experience from other guests who have refused to have but we have noted your comments and hence have made it mandatory to have it now onwards even right after breakfast.
Rs.750 per head steep for a boat ride: That's the rate we would have offered you before you chose to take the boat ride.

We are sorry if you found the food a bit bland but would have appreciated if you had told us during the first meal with us and we would have prepared the next one to suite your palate, as you have mentioned that we were there at least at dinner time with you and I very well remember asking you how the food was.

Thank you for giving us 4 out of 5 stars in your TripAdvisor review and hope I could address your concerns with my explanations. We would be very happy to have you over again and make sure that you have the best of experience at Bhainsrorgarh Fort.

With Warm Regards

Team Bhainsrorgarh Fort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

For years my girlfriend hankered after a tour of Rajastan and collected a file of articles on the place. Bhainsrorgarh was in one of them. We booked two nights and were unsure what to expect. We should have booked three nights. No, make that four. It's an old 18th century fort with bags of character set high on a cliff by a magnificent river, the Chambal. We had a suite overlooking the river with balconies on two side. Comfortable but still retaining its character. We loved it. Food, fresh, locally sourced and delicious, was served on the roof and we looked down to green parrots in the trees below and watch the swallows swooping (or were they swifts??) while we ate. The hotel is still owned and run by a descendant of the family that built it and he was ever helpful and informative. He arranged an early morning river trip in an iron row boat (maybe because of the crocs?). It was idyllic and tranquil. As well as crocs there were trees filled with fruit bats and storks. kingfishers dived and egrets and other waders I couldn't name did their thing. The countryside is lovely here and we managed to fit in a walk by the river and into the village. There is none of the big city hassle. The kids love to say hello and the adults are polite and warm. This was the India we'd hoped to find.

Room tip: Get a room overlooking the river.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerDelhi, Owner at Bhainsrorgarh Fort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Guest

Greetings from Bhainsrorgarh Fort!

We thank you for taking out time to review your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you back on your next holiday to Rajasthan.

With Warm Regards

Team Bhainsrorgarh Fort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews