We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
5
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2020 via mobile

This is a fab camping barn in Kentmere the Lake District. Christine is so easy going and can cater as well, she is an amazing cook! She’ll also cater for whatever dietary requirements she can. The barn is basic with gas heaters and a self catered kitchen. It has 10 bunks and 2 toilets and 2 showers. Perfect location to get together, for walking and biking. Thanks Christine we had a great stay :)

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 553stefk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2020

Last month I stayed in the camping barn, and it was great. simple as you can expect, but has a nice little kitchen, and a slow cooker!! What's not to love after a long day over those eastern fells.

Christine the owner was absolutely lovely! Her breakfasts are great, and her homemade preserves are to die for!

As a matter of fact, a friend and I visited just the other day for breakfast on our way to mountain bike the fells. As always, wonderfully accommodating. Thank you!! We will be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samji1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2018

After enjoying our stay during the winter months, we decided to head back to Maggs Howe. Christine, the owner, is very friendly and welcoming. She is keen to ask about planned walks and offer advice. The barn itself is very spacious and well facilitated. There are gas heaters and ample space to relax. The kitchen area is also spacious with a gas stove. The location is truly beautiful. Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ColinLiptrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights arrived late so we're left with a note to go straight up our room . It was warm and cosy with great views of the next days walk - the Kentmere horseshoe ! We awry too late for an evening meal but drove back to the Eagle and Child pub for a lovely meal ( recommended ) with vegetarian options .After a good night sleep on comfortable beds and a huge breakfast and great choices we were blessed with good weather succeeded in our fell walk over 7 Wainrights . This was followed by a lovely late evening meal . Christine was so helpful and friendly as we're her dogs . There is a great garden to sit in if , books to read games to play and even wifi, we had time ! We had the ensuite family room which was a bargain with fresh milk for our drinks . Definitely would love to return a peaceful area of the Lake District .

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank withouttnekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed B&B in the house but you can camp here (not v flat ground) or there is the camping barn. Christine makes lovely cakes and afternoon tea which you should try even if you aren't staying here. The view from here is lovely as you can see from the photo. Not many people venture into Kentmere as you can't drive through but walking or biking from here is excellent. Definitely the quieter side of the lakes.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Fabclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews