We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Quality Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mansion House Llansteffan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llansteffan
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality Restaurant”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Visited last Friday for a meal with friends. We were greeted by the owner and promptly shown to our table. Service was friendly, efficient and prompt. The meal could not be faulted. There was a good choice of starters and the main courses were excellent. The fresh locally caught Sea Bass is to be recommended. Deserts followed - again excellent. Altogether very good value for money.
The restaurant created a friendly, relaxing atmosphere and I would not hesitate in recommending the Mansion House to anyone wishing a meal in beautiful surroundings with friendly, efficient service and very good food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    27
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
69
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbles
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our Classic Car Club organised a road run finishing with a meal in this Restaurant. Very friendly reception by the owner made us very welcome. Main meal was excellent, the Apple Pie & ice cream was a bit too much pastry & not enough apple but was tasty never the less. Service was also very good. Lovely old Manor House in beautiful setting Although we didn't stay I think this would be a great retreat for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Based on other reviews and wanting something different to the regular mainstream hotel venues we stay in, I would recommend Mansion House. We stayed 3 nights. Great location giving the quiet break which we wanted and yet a short drive to Camarthan and LLanstefan. Our many thanks to David, Wendy, Chef and staff for making us feel like "Guests", an experience you often do not get in hotels these days. We had intended to eat out at least one night however the hotel food was so good we ate in all three nights !!! You can use the restaurant even if you are not staying at the hotel,Try it. David & Wendy, we both wish you all the very best with your venture.

Room Tip: some rooms have great views over the estuary - top floor with two single beds is at the top of steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed one night but wished we it could have been longer. Glorious location and views and a very relaxed atmosphere. Perfect for children - ours played with the owners children (and others staying there) and had a fantastic time. Restaurant food was very good - always nice to see high quality children's food. It does feel like a mansion house - granted some of the rooms need a bit of work doing but it doesn't matter when everything else is right. I think the owners are planning to refurbish in the near future. I would thoroughly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 132lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were thrilled to be invited to a wedding celebration here last weekend. What a venue! Perfect for a beautiful wedding. The views were breathtaking on all sides, the welcome was warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for the lovely couple who run this beautiful hotel. The Hog roast we were served was excellent and the room having several sets of double doors looking out on to fabulous lawns and then a view of the sea meant that on a very hot day we had the comfort of elegant dining with an 'al fresco' feeling. Our room was very comfortable with good views, the en-suite bathroom was compact but spotless and the tea/ coffee tray in our room offered bottled water and plenty of biscuits too. The benefit of wonderful sash windows meant a cool and comfortable night when the temperatures were very high, beds and bedding wonderful. Our breakfasts were delicious, no excess fat and beautiful bacon. Check out was a very comfortable 11.00 am meaning that we could sit and reminisce about the evening before after breakfast not feeling that we had to rush off. We will definitely return to sample the delights of the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallanders60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

stayed Monday night we were meant to be in the upstairs rooms but as traviled with grandmother they moved us in to the family room which was a very nice thing to do . thank you so much will be staying again if in the area again . food eas wonderful breakfast was really nice too . wonderful setting nice and quiet as we live in the country it was ideal .thank you both so much .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missb1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
305 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

A very warm and personal welcome by the new proprietors (since November). Excellent location near Llansteffan, West Wales. Beautiful beach and castle. Quite close to Carmarthen town.
Good price £80 a night for a double room bed and breakfast. Good value.
Very comfortable bed and a good shower. There was tea/coffee making facilities including hot chocolate, bottle of water and plenty of biscuits. In the bathroom there were plenty of towels, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, soap and shower caps.
The room could do with a make-over. It was painted white over the previous wall paper. There were cobwebs in the high ceiling and dust dropped from the extractor fan as you turned it on in the bathroom. Although the hotel advertises that each room have "uninterrupted views", our room faced the fire escape.
We dined in the Tafarn Pantyrathro restaurant. The food was outstanding, although this place need to be redecorated as well. The new owners have started a programme of alterations, and I bet by the time they finish this place will be a first class country hotel.
In the restaurant I had the BBQ chicken with chips and coleslaw from the Specials Menu (£11 good price). Beautiful! It was home-made coleslaw and home-made BBQ sauce. My wife had the Pan Seared Gressingham Duck Breast. What a treat! We had a nice chilled bottle of wine as well. A very pleasant evening.
The breakfast the following morning was first class. Cereals and toast with home-made jams and cooked breakfast nicely cooked without excess fat.
We really enjoyed our stay. The owners made us feel at home. Braf cael gwasanaeth Cymraeg hefyd. We will definitely stay here again, probably when they finish the refurbishment. Diolch yn fawr.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craffwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llansteffan
2.5 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.0 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
11.2 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
15.1 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
4.8 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Llansteffan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Llansteffan

Property: Mansion House Llansteffan
Address: Pantyrathro, Llansteffan SA33 5AJ, Wales (Formerly Pant yr Athro Mansion House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llansteffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llansteffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion House Llansteffan 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mansion House Llansteffan, nestled in beautiful countryside with breathtaking views of the Towy estuary and beyond. We are minutes from the charming seaside village of Llansteffan but also just five miles from the large retail and market town of Carmarthen. Whether you wish to dine with us, celebrate a wedding or special occasion or just get away from it all, the Mansion House offers charm and hospitality that will stay with you for a long time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mansion House Llansteffan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pant - Yr - Athro Country Inn And International Hotel Carmarthen
Country Inn Carmarthen
Carmarthen Country Inn
Mansion House Llansteffan Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing