We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Escape With Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mansion House Llansteffan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llansteffan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had only eaten at this hotel previously, but work brought me back to the area, and I stayed overnight. The hotel is clean, with fantastic views across the estuary. Food is excellent and clearly cooked fresh.
if you want to slow down and take things easy, and have some peace and quiet, book a few days here. Carmarthen is just a short drive away, but could be miles away once you settle in at the hotel. Would recommend this hotel now, but once the owners have got everything as they want it, the place will be very difficult to get into if you don't book! Is also highly recommended for your wedding bash or special event, as the garden will take a marquee overlooking the estuary.
Excellent, will be back again!

Room Tip: pay a bit extra and get a room with a view of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardmarsh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

My Valentine and I stayed here just one night 14th February. The setting is lovely and the house a true gem with lots of original features, including stained glass in the big landing windows. Unfortunately our stay was "clouded" by bad weather which obscured what would have been a fabulous view from Room 7, but the welcome from David and his wife was very warm. Our room, a small double, was immaculate as was the en-suite and we were plenty warm enough with the radiators and an additional free standing electric radiator. Valentine's dinner was a busy affair with lots of diners enjoying a lovely menu. We had the rack of Welsh Lamb which cut like butter and tasted absolutely beautiful. Breakfast in the adjoining "Inn" next door was just as delicious and beautifully presented. This hotel ( officially its a restaurant with rooms) is due for major works during the November 2014 period so any issues presented to the owners are likely to be addressed during that period, when the hotel is likely to be closed. (Check if you want to stay). Rooms are to be made bigger and various works and decorations undertaken. It is currently a lovely place to unwind and we are likely to revisit when the works are completed.

Room Tip: The Mansion House is graded as a "restaurant with rooms" which meant there was no lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scribeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Visited for the 1st time on the 2nd February for a birthday lunch. Sunday lunch was lovely - good selection; service was excellent; staff very attentive and helpful. Some parts of the building need a little tlc, but it's an old Mansion House, so it's to be expected. Will return as the location, views, service and most importantly the meal, was well worth the drive from Gloucester.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I ORIGINALLY SUBMITTED THIS REVIEW IN JULY 2013, BUT IT HAD DISAPPEARED.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our day at the Mansion House for a friend's wedding reception, but this was mainly due to the quality time we spent with friends and family. Our issues were as follows:

- We waited an entire hour between starter and main course. We fully understand that catering for 120 guests was difficult, but this was excessive to say the least.

- There were a lack of high chairs at the reception dinner. Surely a sufficient number should have been available, knowing in advance the number of young children attending?

- The sound system (microphone and speakers) was appalling. The sound was totally distorted and no one in the room could decifer anything. The best man finally abandoned the microphone and attempted to shout his way through the remainder of his speech. Every other speaker did the same, which meant the majority of the reception party missed out on the speeches. Surely this could have been checked prior to our arrival at the venue; failing that, surely it could have been rectified during the speeches? Unacceptable!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoPolo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed a couple of nights over the christmas period.
Arriving late we where greeted by the owner David who helped with our bags .
Our room a family room (room1) was massive . The shower was warm the tv worked the kettle did to .
Breakfast was great , served in the popular Restaurant adjoining the hotel .
This place is a classic old building in need of some love . The christmas tree was the biggest indoor one we have ever seen !
All in all great people , great food nice room in need of some love value for money it is not

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Visited last Friday for a meal with friends. We were greeted by the owner and promptly shown to our table. Service was friendly, efficient and prompt. The meal could not be faulted. There was a good choice of starters and the main courses were excellent. The fresh locally caught Sea Bass is to be recommended. Deserts followed - again excellent. Altogether very good value for money.
The restaurant created a friendly, relaxing atmosphere and I would not hesitate in recommending the Mansion House to anyone wishing a meal in beautiful surroundings with friendly, efficient service and very good food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our Classic Car Club organised a road run finishing with a meal in this Restaurant. Very friendly reception by the owner made us very welcome. Main meal was excellent, the Apple Pie & ice cream was a bit too much pastry & not enough apple but was tasty never the less. Service was also very good. Lovely old Manor House in beautiful setting Although we didn't stay I think this would be a great retreat for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llansteffan
4.9 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
192 reviews
6 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
577 reviews
11.2 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Llanelli
895 reviews
5 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Llansteffan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Llansteffan

Address: Pantyrathro, Llansteffan SA33 5AJ, Wales (Formerly Pant yr Athro Mansion House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llansteffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llansteffan
Price Range: £112 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion House Llansteffan 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mansion House Llansteffan, nestled in beautiful countryside with breathtaking views of the Towy estuary and beyond. We are minutes from the charming seaside village of Llansteffan but also just five miles from the large retail and market town of Carmarthen. Whether you wish to dine with us, celebrate a wedding or special occasion or just get away from it all, the Mansion House offers charm and hospitality that will stay with you for a long time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mansion House Llansteffan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pant - Yr - Athro Country Inn And International Hotel Carmarthen
Country Inn Carmarthen
Carmarthen Country Inn
Mansion House Llansteffan Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing