We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madame Vacances Residence Provence Country Club
Reviewed 1 June 2012

A beautiful location with excellent golf course, good restaurant and very helpful staff. We had to extend our stay because of car problems and the reception staff were extremely helpful in facilitating our conversations with the repair garage.
Accommodation was clean and more than adequate for our stay.
Definitely will return for a future holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

Firstly, the location is fantastic: The nearest village of L'Isle sur la sorgue is gorgeous with a river running right through it and watermills everywhere covered in ferns. The market is lovely but as others said, get there early to avoid the worst of the rush. Beyond this, there are dozens of places to explore within a short drive and bigger cities like Avignon, Orange and Aix-en-Provence.

The setting for the apartments is also beautiful - the golf course is stunning and there are lots of trees and lakes.

The stagiaire who greeted us was clearly new, but Rosie, the English lady with whom we dealt for most of the trip was very helpful and accommodating. The apartment itself was basic - not perfectly clean and a might tired around the edges, but "it did the job". It was frustrating to have to supply everything down to salt and pepper and cleaning products - not worth buying washing products for just a week, but we had to do it. Talking of which, the laundry at EUR5 a pop was also pretty expensive. We were on a ground floor which meant we had more space for our son to run around. There is no air conditioning, so I am not sure how we would have felt having all the windows open at night if it had been really hot.

The pool is nice, but exposed - a few umbrellas wouldn't go amiss. The water was cold and got colder due to a mistral. There was little else for our three year old to do, but we kept ourselves entertained. A small playground would be a welcome addition.

The age groups were pretty varied - but we were just before the Summer break.

All in all, a good break but do not go for this if you are looking for five star luxury.

Room Tip: If access to the pool is important, check how far you have to walk from your apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SocialJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serviceclientele, Responsable relations clients at Madame Vacances Residence Provence Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Dear member of TripAdvisor,

We would like to thank you for your time and the comments about your stay in our residence.

Be ensured that your comments will be passed on to all teams concerned as it motivates us to do even better.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our residence.

Best regards,

Customers Relations Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Despite the Mistral blowing for the first few days, we had a good time at the Provence Country Club. The Highlight is the golf course. The Lowlight certainly is the apartment itself. We booked online and had an upper floor apartment (which are sunnier than the ones at ground floor because of the trees). We had a nice view to the 2nd hole of the Golf Course and a mountain range. Having breakfast on the balcony in the sunshine was really nice. The pool (of the whole resort) we didn't really use.

Standard of the Apartment? Don't get too excited, it's all self contained, so you have to do your shopping. You have to bring pretty much everything yourself, salt, pepper, oil, sponge, washing up liquid, even tabs for the dishwasher. If you want to avoid the charges for sheets and linen, just bring your own. They are standard single bed mattresses. Also they don't really have any duvets. They are just woolen blankets. So if you prefer sleeping with proper duvets you should bring them yourself. The beds were ok, but as the rest of the apartment quite low quality. I'm not old, but after a few nights and a few rounds of golf I really longed for a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed. The rest of the apartment is decorated in a simple way, nice but you can see it's all quite cheap and a lot of people have obviously been here. This place needs a make-over soon. Also, our apartment wasn't cleaned, I found other people's hair everywhere! So I called the reception and complained. They offered a free cleaning at the end (which usually costs about 60-70 Euros). The kitchen was small but had most things you needed.

Despite the lack of quality of the apartment (which is probably more like a 1* or at the most 2*), the golf course and club was excellent and more of a 4* standard. The driving range was basic but ok. The greens and fairways are very well kept and some of the best I've seen around for a while. It's quite expensive at about 70 Euros per Person per 18 holes, but I think it's worth the money. The Club house terrace is beautifully set overlooking the 18th, with relaxing chairs and sofas. The club house itself has a lovely restaurant with glass fronts overlooking the terrace and the 18th hole as well. When it's still warm enough they open the glass fronts, so it feels as if you were sitting outside. Watching the sun set over the golf course from either the terrace or the restaurant is truly great and we indulged in that view pretty much every night.

The food in the restaurant is very good as well, not Michelin standard, but some of the dishes were close to it. The bar area lacks a bit of character and the toilets are downstairs. But that's it with the negatives for the club house. The shop is tiny tiny and doesn't offer much. There's a golf shop towards Avignon, they should be able to tell you in the club house where exactly it is.

Make sure you go to the market in the nearby village on Saturdays. It's packed during lunch time and after, but if you go there very early or rather late, then you'll enjoy the market. Trying to get a lunch-time table here on a Saturday is an absolute nightmare, so don't even bother. Other than that it's a nice little town with some lovely canals.... but don't venture too far away from the old town, it gets a bit grim the further away you walk.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Nice apartment style hotel. Ideal for families with teenagers.
Note: we did not pay for sheets, towels or TV. We did pay for the apartment to be cleaned.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We chose this because it seemed like a good deal--the dollar doesn't go very far in Europe! Receptionists are friendly, helpful, and speak English. The best part is the location--wonderful day trips from here, but also a very quiet place to relax. Lovely canoe trips, Provence villages, Avignon, Pont du Gard, all within easy reach (you need a car).

Be prepared to pay a lot extra for sheets and towels. The kitchen has the basics, no worries there. Cleaning is not included, but also don't expect it to be spotless. The blankets don't get washed between stays (not sure how often), so if you want to be sure they are clean, bring your own (laundry is on site but expensive).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank happygofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

This is in a beautiful setting- about 30 mins drive from Avignon . The apartments are very nice and generally appear quite clean, however, as with some apartments the previous occupant cleans the toilets, baths etc. So basically you are relying on them doing a good clean. It is consequently superficially clean. We felt that the toilets had almost definitely not been cleaned. Two out of three of us came away with athlete's foot. From the shower? Of course I cannot prove that and it was VERY hot.

No air conditioning! We had to buy a fan.

The swimming pool was so busy with kids that we did n't even bother- despite the heat. There are NOT enough sunbeds- so get up early. Also hardly any shade. I would n't take young children there.

The golf course looked fantastic but you need to book in advance for the coolest times.

Restaurant was good but with a limited menu. Staff very good. Breakfast is a complete rip off so please do not bother unless you want to pay 8 Euros for a coffee- two mini croissants and a pat of butter.

The best part is that you are in a perfect place for exploring the beautiful surroundings. I loved Rousillon for the geology, Glanum for the Roman ruins and Isle sur la Sourge for countless shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debthereb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

These self-catering units are spacious and clean, but I would never call them 5-star accommodation. The units are a bit spartan, and the hotel takes "self-catering" to the extreme--be prepared to buy your own dish soap and paper towels, and to pay extra for the use of sheets and towels. But the location is nice, the view over the golf course is gorgeous, and it works well for families with kids. Good value.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank blueinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saumane-de-Vaucluse
1.5 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#4 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
736 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
282 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cantosorgue
Hotel Cantosorgue
#12 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
98 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
286 reviews
7.3 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madame Vacances Residence Provence Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madame Vacances Residence Provence Country Club

Address: Rte de Fontaine de Vaucluse, 84800 Saumane-de-Vaucluse, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Saumane-de-Vaucluse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saumane-de-Vaucluse
Price Range: £25 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madame Vacances Residence Provence Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Madame Vacance, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Madame Vacances Residence Provence Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Provence Country Club Hotel Saumane-De-Vaucluse
Residence Provence Country Hotel
Hotel Residence Provence Country
Madame Vacances Residence Provence Country Club Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing