We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Does Feel Like HOME!”
Review of Homeplace Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Priddis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homeplace Ranch
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It Does Feel Like HOME!”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

My visit to Homeplace Ranch was one I'll not forget for a long time. I have ridden horses off and on for years and finally at the Homeplace Ranch feel like I understand what riding is all about... the horse and building the horse and rider relationship. I was given excellent instruction up front on Woody, a wooden horse with saddle and bridle, as to how the horses were trained and how to ask them for what I wanted them to do. I learned that a horse wants to be taken for a ride, not take me for a ride. Understanding this before I got on my horse helped me feel safer and relaxed, and it seemed Pasqualie felt that as well. The other part that was great at the Homeplace was that everyone pitched in and helped with meal time. We helped set the table, we helped serve one another during meals, we helped clean up after the excellent home cooked meals by Karen... just like at home, except we enjoyed it a lot! Then we sat around the lodge and chatted, told stories about our lives and laughed a great deal. I made new friends from England, Germany and Switzerland in one very short week. I didn't really consider myself a rider before this week, but after the lessons I learned at Homeplace Ranch, I do now... I don't know it all, but I know more than I did... thanks to Mac, Nola, Rob (excellent wranglers) and of course, Pasqualie! To learn more about Homeplace Ranch check out their web site at http://www.homeplaceranch.com today!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdwgrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
5
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Although this is a beautiful place and the kitchen staff are fabulous the wranglers are unfriendly and downright rude. Too much ego for a guest who knows anything about horses which makes a seasoned rider doubt their own competancy. I would not reccomend this ranch to anyone who is an experienced rider as they treat you like you don't know anything. God forbid you do something remotely incorrect in Mac's eyes. If in his 70 years he hasn't done it then it is WRONG! Even if it is as simple as how you get into a saddle and have got into a saddle for 25 years on your own ranch. BEWARE, Mac will humiliate you and your party in front of everyone and then treat you like crap afterwards. The trailrides are quite mundane. You walk the whole way with the promise of trotting or cantering and then when they finally let you trot it is (ONE at a TIME for a 20 second stint if that). No cantering at all! So it you are extremely inexperienced you may have a good time but if you have ever rode before it will be the most boring trail ride you have ever been on. The wrangler doesn't even talk or offer any information to anyone. We were there for a day long ride which was only about 4 hours of riding and a lunch which left two hours of standing around doing absolutely nothing. Terrible value for your dollar. We will not be back. There are many, many riding establishments in the Bragg Creek, Kananaskis, Cochrane and Banff area that I would reccomend. Home Place Ranch is NOT one I would send anyone to!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

What an awesome experience staying at Homeplace Ranch. Mac is the ultimate horseman and his staff are all excellent and knowledgable.
We were encouraged to mingle amoungst the horses and see which horse you felt comfortable with before your first ride. I have never seen such care and attention to detail around the horse preparation and how much I learned before setting off on our fist days ride. Mac's stories and knowledge extend beyond ranch life and set the tone for a very memorable visit to Homeplace Ranch.
The rides were good and we saw plenty of wildlife, the scenery is outstanding and my horse, Spirit was one of the best I've been on.
Now the other part of the experience, the food and the lodgings, the food was outstanding, Karen is not only an awesome cook she is a very warm and caring person and it showed in her food. Tanya, Nola and Rob all helped around the meals and Duncan the head wrangler, entertained us with stories when Mac was not there. The main house was warm and comfortable, the beds were clean but a bit creaky, but I slept better than I sleep at home on my expensive pillow top sheep counting football field sized bed. The bathrooms were adequate and after a little maintenance on the shower taps to tighten a loose screw and a few plunges on the sink drain it was good to go.
Overall the experience was better than I expected and I will definately go back.
David Barrett Vancouver, BC

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidBarrett13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Our visit to the Homeplace Ranch was extremely disappointing and not worth the money. My room was dirty and in dis-repair… several of the bathroom sinks did not drain, no soap, bed sheets were so old and thin they had holes. Curtains were yellowed from age and not ONE electrical outlet worked in the bathroom. And the hot tub apparently has been broken for YEARS.

The horses are friendly and the views from the hilltops were very beautiful and the staff was wonderful, friendly but ill equipped to handle the guests due to the lack of maintaince on the living quarters and kitchen. FYI: The horse tack house was in better condition. The oven was broken so everything was under cooked. No bottled water, no soda, and no ice tea, no real items for a pack lunch.
The horseback riding was quite enjoyable, but a full day drive is only 4 hours after two twenty minutes breaks and an hour for lunch. We would be back at the ranch by 3:30pm with nothing to do…they had NO arranged activities, unless you wanted to help the staff work and guess what the sun doesn’t set until after 10:30pm, so that a lot of down time with no TV, no computer, no cards and no one there…
To be fair, mornings were breath-takingly beautiful. The horses came running down from pastor and into their assigned corals. Watching them graze on grass and play tag with each other was …heavenly.

I would certainly not recommend 'Homeplace' but would like to try another ranch vacation, after I verify references.
St Louis Mo - June 2010

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CahillOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Was not as advertised on website at all! Felt completely ripped off. Was never informed that Sundays are only half day rides before booking, so wasted one day not even able to ride a "full" day out. The half day ride was only 1.5 hours actual saddle time the first day. A complete joke. They say you can choose to do a full day, but only offer 1/2 day rides the first day there. Even though I typically ride 3 to 5 hours daily here at home.The full day ride was only 4 hours in the saddle, due to 2 breaks & a late start w/ early return both days I did the full day rides there. Ended up leaving after 4 nights when I was booked for 2 weeks. Food consisted of a lot of leftovers & undercooked offerings due to wrangler substituting for regular cook while I was there & an oven that is broken & has been for awhile. Food selection available for them to cook from was limited. On trail rides, the water we were given to use for personal use was poured into someone else's old soda pop bottle! Truly disgusting. Lunch for on the trail consisted of an apple & stale leftover breakfast offerings from the previous 2 days beforehand. Poor ranchhands had to make due with scant offerings to give us. First night's meal, I couldn't even get a knife through what was supposingly called "ribs". Was so bad. Went to bed hungry more times than not due to inedible food offered.Accomodations were poorly decorated, drain in my BR did not work well & outlets in 3 of the bathrooms did not work. (tried several other rooms & no luck there either) Biggest complaint is that riding "all day" did not really happen & that is why I went there. For the cost I paid of $300.00/day it was a total rip off!! Horses did appear to be pretty well taken care of, minus a few saddle sores I noticed on my gelding I used for the last 2 rides. Hottub did not exist, has been broken for awhile now, but still advertised they have it available. Was never offered opportunity to get a ride into town to do something else/see neighboring sites they said were so close to their ranch. So make sure you rent a car to get out of there because all riding is done by 3 pm & it can be a long day/night, esp. if the weather isn't cooperating & you are stuck there unable to at least ride a little. For the price paid, it is NOT worth it & I do NOT recommend this place to anyone unless they either deliver what they say they will (3 daily fresh home cooked /assembled meals with bottled, sealed water, full day rides, hottub, no leftovers day to day, etc.) or cut their rates if they keep it as is. Complete disappointment, except for meeting the hired help that were all super-Rob, Nola, Tanya, Karen, & Duncan. No soda pop available there either, need to bring your own on that too. For that price, one would think this would have been "a given" available for guests. No shower soap or mini shampoo bottles, lotion, or hairdryers either, so make sure to pack that if you go. Do not assume it will be there for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogababyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I went on holiday with my 24 year old niece to Homeplace Ranch. We were met by Rob one of the ranch hands at the airport who filled us in on life a the ranch and what wildlife was arround. As we approached the ranch we were immediately struck by the breath taking scenerey around it and as we got out of the car the peace and scerenity. We entered the ranch and were met by Karen who gave us a lovely welcome and we suddenly felt at 'home' , it was so cosy and homely in the ranch house and our rooms were lovely and cosy and very clean too. They were named after Mac's horses. The food was amazing ( think we both put about 7 pounds on !!) , we are vegetarian so that can sometimes be a problem but Karen who does the cooking came up with some wonderful meals. There were always muffins and cookies and coffee to help yourself to and amazing cinammon buns !!
The weekend of our holiday was a horsmanship course taken by Mac (the owner) and Susan his partner. They are both really friendly knowledgable people and although I have been riding 40 years I learnt a lot. ! We were given the opportunity to choose and bond with our horse Mac is very keen that the horses are ridden as they are trained and shows you on a wooden horse ( named Woody!!) I was very keen on learning how to ride western properly and Mac will give you tuition as you are on the trail ride ,if you want ,it which I thought was excellent , better than in an arena !!
The horses were lovely too , very well kept , when they are not being ridden they roam as a herd all through Mac's land and then come in for their oats in morning. They also has loads of beautiful hay to eat too.
I rode a horse called Terry who was lovely ,and a wonderful horse called Rollin' Thunder whose claim to fame is that he carried Mac carrying the Olympic Torch for the Winter Olympics. My niece rode Gus, who she was so smitten with I haven't been able to shut her up about him !!! These horses are n't just trail riding horses they all have personalities and well trained . They are excellent for riders and people who aren't as experienced. Duncan was the head wrangler and he was very knowledgeable , experienced and helpful too. Tanya and Nola worked there too and were lovely and helpful and great fun . We saw plenty of wildlife including moose , deer and a beaver.
After riding all day the dinner was always wonderful and we were happy just to relax in the cosy lounge or sometimes go for a walk.
We had a great time at Homeplace Ranch and would not hesitate in recommending it .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koppa_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2010

I Had a great time on the ranch at Priddis, Alberta. The 2 guys who lead the rides, Mac and Duncan looked like real cowboys. Riding western style is harder than I was used to, where most control is on the bit, not with neck reining. Mac has a horse to suit all riding abilities. It was great terrain for riding: in and out of poplar trees, across pastureland, down snowy icy gullies and up and down almost vertical gradients. One day we saw a Moose and on other days deer was pointed out to us. Whenever I entered the bunk lodge there was always the aroma of cooking and baking, the food tasted good too. My stay at the ranch was the highlight of my Canadian holiday. I enjoyed meeting 'Woody' too!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbeveridge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priddis
7.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cochrane
10.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary West
6.7 mi away
Rockyview Hotel
Rockyview Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cochrane
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#28 of 32 in Jasper National Park
34 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Homeplace Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeplace Ranch

Property: Homeplace Ranch
Address: Site 2, Box 6, RR 1, Priddis, Alberta T0L 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Priddis
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Priddis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homeplace Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Homeplace Ranch Alberta, Canada - Priddis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing