We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Comfort and great View from Room”
Review of Kaslo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaslo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Certificate of Excellence
Mahahual, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Luxurious Comfort and great View from Room”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Upon arriving in the quaint town of Kaslo on our motorcycles, we make our way to the beautiful renovated hotel. Check in was a breeze. Security at this hotel is outstanding, with the most up to date hardware, as you're not even able to access the staircase or elevator without a swipe card.
We enter our room and its unbelievably spacious and luxurious with a huge balcony and views of the lake and mountains. The details in the room are very high end. This hotel ranks higher than most five star hotels we have stayed at when it comes to furniture, size and overall luxury. They spared no coin here.
Once we cleaned up, we walk the town, lots of great stores with local artesian arts and goods for sale. We head back to the hotel for dinner and drinks on the patio and enjoyed the rest of our stay there. Unfortunately, for the quality of the hotel, the food in their restaurant was a let down.
We would definitely be back to the Kaslo Hotel the next time we pass through there.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and get the lake view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlovers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    37
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
70
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Peaks, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was our first visit to Kaslo and we was very impressed with the area and town. I booked the Kaslo hotel based on reviews that I had read prior to booking, that rated it very highly.

In our opinion it is a very nice property asthetically, the rooms are clean tidy and spacious, however for $200 a night plus tax which did not include breakfast we felt it was too expensive. The location is idyllic however an open mic night which happened in the hotel bar the one night we decided to stay, meant that we did not take full advantage of the room and deck which overlooked the lake as the atmosphere was spoilt and the music continued until 12.45am.

This may not bother some people but was not what we was looking for. We have stayed in many Hotels and B&B's in Canada in fantastic locations and our expectations are extremely high, unfortunately the Kaslo Hotel did not live up to our expectations and we would not go back.

Room Tip: Room # 205 is for people with disabilities we was not informed of this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Fantastic picturesque town and an excellent hotel. This town and hotel were recommended in one of our travel books for Western Canada. It was well worth a visit - charming town on a very large lake.

Hotel / food / service were first class - we would recommend. We only stayed for one night and wished we had stayed longer.

We booked this destination direct over the internet and were surprised that our travel agent was unable to do it? Anyway, we had a first class room overlooking the lake and mountains beyond - wonderfull.

Room Tip: If you have car and travelling around exploring Canada - check this hotel and town out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Our bicycle touring group, 15 in all, stayed at the Kaslo Hotel after a day on the road over from Nakusp, part of a Victoria Day Weekend tour of British Columbia's "Silver Triangle" route (a.k.a. "Silvery Slocan").

We hadn't planned to stay at the Kaslo Hotel ... in fact our club, in 2008, had stayed across town in a significantly cheaper motel. This year the other motel wouldn't take single night bookings on the long weekend, so we decided to pay the big bucks and try the Kaslo Hotel.

Was it worth it? Yes, for the funkiness, the view and the luxury. But understand it isn't cheap.

The front desk handled check-in for the group well. Significant because we didn't all arrive at the same time.

They let us use a storage area (in the basement) for our bicycles ... a little hard to get to but welcome especially when we woke up to a rainy day.

We booked the entire third floor "condos" of the hotel. On opening the doors we were blown away by their opulent splendour. These people really did it up first class. About half of our group slept on the hide-a-beds, and, for hide-a-beds they were pretty good.

Noise was not noticeable on the "street" side of the hotel on this festive weekend, but some of the group on the "lake" side mentioned noise from the bar / restaurant / patio below.

Access for a large group like ours was a little iffy: we stayed on the third floor, fortunately there is an elevator. This was a bit of a bottleneck when schlepping bags, supplies, etc in and out of our support van.

All the suites had very well equipped kitchens. (not "kitchenettes", real "kitchens"). All 15 of us spread out quite comfortably for breakfast in the largest one (#302).

Most of our group ate at the hotel's restaurant with its million dollar view: not ultra gourmet by any means but clean and quite good and reasonably priced for the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank energizer090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand haven, mi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The Kaslo Hotel is just an overall wonderful place to stay. My room overlooked the lake and the mountains. It was a corner room and the views were outstanding. The rooms are lovely, well-appointed, comfortable. The staff was great although noone was available for check-out at 7:00. Particularly a problem for my colleague who had a wake-up call that never happened at 6:00 am. We were there off season. Having a restaurant in the hotel was very convenient. Centrally located (very small town), this hotel is close to everything you need--other restaurants, grocery store, bank. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieofstandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, and I am truly one that knows what the old Kaslo Hotel was like...I grew up in Kaslo, and this hotel cannot compare with the old hotel... it is gorgeous. We had to go for a funeral, made late arrangements and got a 'street room' we loved it, it is such a neat place there is very little traffic, we found the first room a little cramped on the first night, explained this to the wonderful "Claudia" in the morning and she moved us into a large and lovely room, we had more than enough rooms for friends and family to visit.. The bar is absolutely well done and the wood burning fireplace is just the icing on the cake... I had the best schnitizel I have ever eaten there on the first night, second night I took the house special it was good but couldn't compare to the first night, would I change anything... NEVER.. it was all good... and we will be staying again..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a two night stay and loved it! We had a beautiful room which overlooked the lake and had a stunning view. The room was very large with two double beds, a lovely bathroom and was spotlessly clean. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in as they are pillow topped beds! The staff in the hotel were lovely and gave lots of tips and information on the local area and the food in the restaurant was excellent and good value for money. They do not provide breakfasts but the Treehouse just over the road serves delicious breakfasts from 6.30am. Kaslo is also a lovely little town with some nice shops. We would definitely recommend the Kaslo Hotel but ask if there is entertainment during your visit as some of the rooms are above the pub. When we booked they did advise us of this as there was a Karaoke Night on one of the nights. We were above the pub and could hear it but it wasn't a problem to us as it didn't go on too late and it was all part of the fun. Definitely a great choice to stay when visiting Kaslo!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorsyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaslo
20.0 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.0 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
156 reviews
21.5 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#2 of 2 in New Denver
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kaslo Manor Lodge
Kaslo Manor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Kaslo
5 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ainsworth Hot Springs Guest House
Ainsworth Hot Springs Guest Hous...
#2 of 4 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaslo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaslo Hotel

Property: Kaslo Hotel
Address: 430 Front Street, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaslo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New boutique heritage style hotel with thirteen luxury rooms, a one bedroom condo, 2 bedroom condo, and a 3 bedroom condo. All rooms have a lake and/or mountain view and private verandas. The hotel is located in the center of the charming village of Kaslo, on Kootenay Lake. The lakeview pub, with patio, serves lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaslo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaslo Hotel And Brew Pub

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing