We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Small Town Hotel”
Review of Kaslo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaslo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is revamped heritage hotel. It's five stars taking it for what it is - an excellent overnight stop when touring small towns in BC. There was no closet or desk in our room. If you want an iron and ironing board you have to ask for it.

The room was clean and comfortable. The service friendly and excellent. No couch but a comfortable rocking chair, great decks - ask for the water side for a spectacular view.

The bar is great. Excellent choice of beers from local Micro breweries. The fish and chips is excellent.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaslo H, Manager at Kaslo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you so much for your comments! We are so happy that your group had such an excellent time here with us, that you are considering coming back again next year. Your group booked all 11 of our guest rooms, as well as all 3 of our condos on the top floor. Unfortunately you got booked into one of our smaller rooms, which does not have a closet or desk. Maybe next year you will be able to be booked into either a larger guest room, or one of our luxurious condos (which all have couches and full kitchens). Thanks again for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we are looking forward to hosting your group again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Kaslo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

Hotel is beautiful, however the air conditioner wasn't up to the task. The owners fiddled with it for awhile, and by midnight the warm air was blowing around at about 78 F.. Doesn't make for a great sleep.
Bed sagged to the centre.
The restaurant presented me with an inedible salad. When I informed the waiter he shrugged and walked away.
Other than that, my $200 one night visit was a lot of fun..... in a Monty Python sort of way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaslo H, Manager at Kaslo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback! Unfortunately we did have some problems with our "state of the art" geo-thermal air conditioning system this summer. We had our technicians in, and everything is in working order now. Once we reset the system, it does take some time for the rooms to cool down again. I am very sorry you spent an uncomfortable night here with us. We are looking at having screens put on our windows, so that you can have the cool air off the lake blow through without the worry of insects getting in to your room.

As for your poor food and service in the dining room, I am very sorry that this was your experience. We strive to make sure that everyone leaves happy and well fed. Never should a complaint be made without the server trying to "make it right" for you. We will reiterate to all of our staff our policy on these matters.

If you should decide to give us another try on your next trip through Kaslo, I think you would find that you would have a very different experience with us the next time. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Large,well appointed rooms, but a bit pricey. Lunch selections were varied and tasty but dinner was disappointing with smaller portions and less fresh vegetables. Keep in mind it is really only one of two places open in town where you can get food and a drink after 8:00p.m. It will be nice when the brew pub gets operational.

Room Tip: Ask for lakeside otherwise all you will see is other businesses and Harley's roaring by.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbawpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Had a great experience at the Kaslo Hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very comfy and I was blown away by the view...Service is great, food is delicious and Kaslo is definitely a beautiful and quaint mountain town.

Room Tip: Ask for the waterfront view!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilieKootenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

About 1.5 hours NE of Castlegar, BC is the town of Kaslo. Staying overnight for business I was astonished at this gem situated at the lake front. The hotel must have been recently redone and all is 1st class. Rooms are luxurious with large balconies. Pub has excellent food at reasonable prices. Hotel is immaculate and staff are eztremely friendly and helpful. Only regret was I was not able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vshaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

When thinking of accomodation above a pub, most people would not think of luxury. But luxury is exactly what is on offer here. The building is just three years old and was modled on an old colonial era style building. They have done an amazing job of the renovation which would be better described as a modern boutique hotel in which the pub is a central component. The rooms are huge. Ours faced the lake with a massive deck. The room had all of the modern conveniences that you would expect in a hotel room in a major city. The bathroom was huge, stylish and tastefully appointed. The manager and staff are all very friendly and professional. The pub serves decent food and has a good range of beers from the surrounding areas. We have done several road trips in BC. Sometimes the choice of quality hotels in smaller towns is limited. However, this was the best hotel we stayed in during our very long trip. If you are travelling through Kaslo, a stay here could easily be the best place you will stay during your whole trip. It easily competes with the best boutique hotels in cities such as San Fransisco, Toronto and Vancouver. You will not be dissapointed. Kaslo is very nice.

Stayed: February 2012
Thank steve_randomno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel has been redone .. and the rooms are absolutely gorgeous !! Spacious .. well appointed .. modern bathrooms. Room was on the 2nd floor and had an awesome view of the lake. The food in the bar is excellent ! What a great place to stay. Staff are extremely friendly. If you are anywhere near here, it's worth the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BfromKtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaslo
20.0 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
17.0 mi away
Wedgwood Retreat
Wedgwood Retreat
#1 of 3 in Crawford Bay
131 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wing Creek Resort
Wing Creek Resort
#2 of 3 in Kaslo
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
162 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Valhalla Inn
The Valhalla Inn
#2 of 2 in New Denver
48 reviews
21.6 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#2 of 4 in New Denver
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaslo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaslo Hotel

Address: 430 Front Street, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Price Range: £116 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaslo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New boutique heritage style hotel with thirteen luxury rooms, a one bedroom condo, 2 bedroom condo, and a 3 bedroom condo. All rooms have a lake and/or mountain view and private verandas. The hotel is located in the center of the charming village of Kaslo, on Kootenay Lake. The lakeview pub, with patio, serves lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaslo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaslo Hotel And Brew Pub

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing