We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to see the Kootenay Lake area!”
Review of Kaslo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaslo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Certificate of Excellence
Minden, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great spot to see the Kootenay Lake area!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this marvelous hotel. It has been totally renovated to a high standard by the owners John and Susan Eckland 4 years ago. They are great hosts! They treated us to a town tour in their London Taxi. What fun! Kaslo also has a good general aviation airport. It would be a good option if you are a pilot. They have a great Pub and restaurant in the hotel and serve a good menu for lunch and dinner. Make sure you book ahead as they are very busy during summer.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are wonderful. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    38
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
72
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Not bad stay..

We decided to overnight in Kaslo BC and stayed at the Kaslo hotel.

Wireless nicely renovated and clean.

It's above a bar/restaurant so we were told that it could be noisy. It wasn't bad but we stayed a Monday night. Street noise also wasn't bad. Kaslo isn't that big.

Would likely try to stay somewhere else next time but all in all not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mud0nthetires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This is a remodelled 1950s hotel. They have done an excellent job. The room we had overlooked the lake Very comfortable beds. Fridge in the room. Free Internet. Walking distance to beach shops and restaurants.
The pub has good pub food. The wine list was a major disappointment. Here we are near bc wine country and the wines did not reflect that.
The service was good in the hotel and average in the pub. We paid 170 plus taxes

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaslo H, Manager at Kaslo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback about the wine list! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The staff at the Kaslo Hotel were very supportive and polite as they helped us plan and carry out our wedding day. If I had any requests, they did their absolute best to accommodate all that they could up to, on the wedding and after. If anyone is looking for a very beautiful, easy accessible spot in Kaslo to host a wedding, with extremely friendly and helpful staff, I HIGHLY recommend the Kaslo Hotel.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed to choose a lakeside view :) The View is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

When visiting Kaslo this is the place to stay. The only reason I came to Kaslo was because it was on the route of our bike tour. We stayed at Kaslo Hotel for two nights. Our group was for 33 cyclists and we were very impressed with this place. The room I was in was oversized so we had plenty of room and the balcony was very nice. Our room faced the street side which was fine. This hotel was incredibly accommodating to our bike tour group. I loved this place and will be back someday. For a town of 950 I was surprised at how good the eating establishments were, how nice the shops were. The location is absolutely stunning and I love the slow pace of Kaslo.

Room Tip: I am not sure of the price difference but getting a room on the lakeside would be very special. I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnoliaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaslo H, Manager at Kaslo Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We enjoyed having you! Please come again and experience a lake-side room, the view is absolutely gorgeous to wake up to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice room with kingsize bed streetside. It was clean and the bathroom is very modern and clean as well. Every room has a balcony with a table and 2 chairs. Great. We stayed for dinner and had burger, fries and caesar salad. Everything tasted very good, only the caesar dressig tasted a little bit to strong because of the garlic. Great hotel and very good restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honigbiene007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We just spent 2 nights at the Kaslo Hotel. This hotel was rebuilt in 2009 and done with quality workmanship. It is right on the little main street in Kaslo so steps from everything, including the pub and restaurant which are on the main floor of the hotel. The back of the hotel and the pub look out over the lake and the pub has an outdoor patio. We had a corner room on the second floor with a huge deck area and a view of the lake. Make sure you get a lake view. This hotel is modern but has architectural details that, in places, make it look like it was build in another century. The rooms are charming, comfortable [pillow top mattress], and modern with granite and stone tile in the bathroom. A thoroughly modern room with touches of the past like a rocking chair, free WIFI in the room and free long distance even to the US. We really liked this hotel! It is not 'tired' or outdated and not old. It is very lovely. We had two meals in the pub. The food was good and the prices reasonable.

Room Tip: 201 has the biggest outdoor area and the most afternoon sun. The other lakeview rooms aren't on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henlely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaslo H, Manager at Kaslo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you so very much for your positive feedback on our Hotel, pub and restaurant! The owners took much time and consideration in the remodeling of The Kaslo Hotel. Great care was taken in the effort to make it very much like a historic hotel, right down to the the little details. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaslo
20.0 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.0 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaslo Manor Lodge
Kaslo Manor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Kaslo
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Ainsworth Hot Springs Guest House
Ainsworth Hot Springs Guest Hous...
#2 of 5 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
18 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wing Creek Resort
Wing Creek Resort
#2 of 3 in Kaslo
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaslo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaslo Hotel

Property: Kaslo Hotel
Address: 430 Front Street, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaslo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New boutique heritage style hotel with thirteen luxury rooms, a one bedroom condo, 2 bedroom condo, and a 3 bedroom condo. All rooms have a lake and/or mountain view and private verandas. The hotel is located in the center of the charming village of Kaslo, on Kootenay Lake. The lakeview pub, with patio, serves lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaslo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaslo Hotel And Brew Pub

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing