We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Kaslo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kaslo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Certificate of Excellence
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful property in a beautiful location! Peter, owner/manager, was incredibly hospitable and made our stay so special. The condo we stayed in was very comfortable and afforded us a wonderful view of the lake. A very special place, indeed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmschin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    34
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
67
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband took the kids on a road trip and broke down in Sandon, the nearby mining ghost town. Thanks to a friendly museum operator there, my husband was able to call me to drive up a spare part from Vancouver. My family got a ride to the Kaslo Hotel from a lovely German couple. The Kaslo Hotel staff were very accommodating and allowed my family to check in early, into a very beautiful room facing the village. I arrived at 10:30 that night and was graciously received. After eating hastily made peanut butter sandwiches in the car to make good time, I was delighted by the basket of complimentary fresh red delicious apples in the hallway. I also noted the basket of clean rags for cleaning your road bike or motorcycle which I thought was brilliant. The kids had a great time exploring the town and beaches, and dancing just outside the pub entrance to the great live band. The pub/dining area was lovely with a great patio overlooking the lake. It is a perfect location if you are coming to the Jazz festival. I think they did a fabulous job refurbishing this hotel and I can't wait to come back a stay again. It is the perfect location from which to explore all of the West Kootenay. I thank them for taking good care of my family.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the village, some face the lake. Second floor rooms like the one we had benefit from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millet
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 - very nice job refurbishing this place. Room we stayed in was Big....very clean and comfortable. Price was Ok.... for a big room ($160/night) Great view of the lake. Ate dinner in the lounge - Excellent food and very quick service - staff from start of booking in until leaving were very polite and helpful! Will be back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOWERKRAUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We Stopped for lunch at kaslo hotel and it is a extremely nice place well done food was great and service was great right on the water great view next time we are in the area we are certainly going to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drummix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very nice hotel in a small quiet town. The room was newly refurbished in with a warm feeling. A ampel terrace facing Kootenay & a beautiful mountains.
The restaurant didn´t serve breakfast. Treehouse (other side of the street) was the alternative, a excellent choice with a local, original touch.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with lake/mountain wiev.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulvulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We drove to Kaslo to check it out the weekend before the May long weekend (when it gets very busy there i hear). We got a room special which included a bottle of wine at the restaurant, so the price was quite good for the 2 nights. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room on the second floor. It was very large with 2 comfie queen beds and a beautiful bathroom with large soaking tub, shower and toiletries in dispensers in 3 locations! They are made by a local company. Granite countertops in the bathroom, plus on the extra sink area outside the bathroom. The room has an interesting and comfortable tooled leather rocking chair. There is a large deck area outside the room and a beautiful view of the lake and mountains. The only downside were the strings of wires running across the lovely view and it would be nice if they could put them underground here. One advantage of our room location was that it was above the restaurant which closes about 9 pm so its not noisy below. I wouldn't want to be above the pub on the other end!

The restaurant itself was not great in terms of food offerings or quality, but the ambience was pleasant with the lake view. My steak was tough, the veggies uninspired and so on. They do have a nice selection of craft beers however. There are other restaurants within a very short walking distance to choose from. The staff and the townsfolk in general were very friendly. All in all a very peaceful, relaxing and pleasant stay at a little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natureniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed overnight on our way into a Back country lodge.
This is not some dumpy old hotel!
Queen, front street room was large,clean, bed was comfortable.
Free wifi advertised in lobby and bar but we had it in our room as well. Pass key access for the rooms was simple to use. We ate in the bar. ( same menu as dining room) Our server was very pleasant and helpfull. Front office is open 8-5 go to bar to checkin after 5. We checked out prior to 8 am and had an email receipt by 9:30. We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HughWhitehorseYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaslo
20.0 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.4 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
221 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
The Valhalla Inn
The Valhalla Inn
#1 of 2 in New Denver
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaslo Manor Lodge
Kaslo Manor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Kaslo
5 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ainsworth Hot Springs Guest House
Ainsworth Hot Springs Guest Hous...
#2 of 4 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaslo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaslo Hotel

Property: Kaslo Hotel
Address: 430 Front Street, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaslo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New boutique heritage style hotel with eleven luxury rooms, a one bedroom condo, 2 bedroom condo, and a 3 bedroom condo. All rooms have a lake and/or mountain view and private verandas. The hotel is located in the center of the charming village of Kaslo, on Kootenay Lake. The lakeview restaurant and pub, with patio, serve lunch and dinner. It is soon to have a microbrewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kaslo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaslo Hotel And Brew Pub

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing