We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Spectacular"”
Review of Kaslo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaslo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We flew to Spokane Wa. from Oakland Ca. and arrived two hours later. Rented a car and drove the three hours to Nelson BC. From there we drove another hour to Kaslo BC.
What a wonderful surprise to see this magnificant Hotel . It was such a surprise to see the new refurbish of the old Mariner Hotel. It was absolutely spectacular! Our friends were waiting outside to welcome us and took us inside where we met the receptionist Claudia which was so delightful.
Then we took the elevator to the third floor to our condo with the most marvelous view of Lake Kootenay and right down the hall from our friends condo. What a experiance it was .
It was so much more then you would ever expect in a small town like Kaslo.. First class all the way with all the comforts of a fine Hotel anywhere.
Got unpacked and went down to the Pub which has a bar that is beautiful and with first class service too.
Checked out the wonderful little town then headed back to the hotel for dinner. "Wow" is all I can say about that. We had a fantastic meal and our compliments to the Chef and his crew! The next day our friends drove us to see the Salmon Run . It was a amazing thing to see. We found there were so many excursions to do and see in the area and just didn't have time to do them all. We are looking forward to going back to the beautiful town of Kaslo next year as it was one of the nicest vacations we have ever taken.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynBrentwoodCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2009

A beautiful new small hotel with all the amenities, about four and one-half miles north of Spokane WA. Spacious rooms and suities with lake and mountain views The small picturesque and very frriendly town of Kaslo is located on bueatiful lake kootenay. A varietoy of outdoor activities are available and a smalll air strip is nearby. A most enjoyable four day stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chulckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This is the third hotel to stand on the same spot in the historic Kootney town of Kaslo. This one is virtually new and it shows. The rooms are large, many with a balcony onto Kootney Lake. The amenities (bath, wet bar, etc.) were great. The pub downstairs serves excellent food and is a micro brewery as well.

The hotel is a short jaunt into historic Kaslo with the moored SS Moyie (a former CPR lake steamer), quaint shops and the Langdom Hotel - which is now an art gallery and Japanese interment memorial.

This was the most expensive hotel out of 5 in the area. Very nice, but I am glad I only had to pay the room fee once.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

my mother and i stayed here for 3 nights at the end of july just before jazzfest and what a reno job these people have done. this is by far the nicest place to spend a couple of nights in kaslo. we had a corner room overlooking the kaslo bay and we felt like we were staying in a 5 star hotel. the beds were so comfortable, the bathroom was just lovely, a huge rounded tub, and also a nice little sink just outside the bathroom. the balcony was huge, very nice to sit out in the morning and gaze out over the lake and mountains while having a coffee. it was also spotless, no complaints there. we had shown up a little early and the front desk staff got us into our room no problem. had a very nice sized flat screen tv, which if you've never been to kaslo, you'll realize there are too many things to do and see, rather than watching tv. but was a nice touch.

they also have a pub and resturant downstairs, with part of the restaurant being a patio overlooking the lake. we had dinner there one night and the food was awesome. they seem to get quite a crowd there for dinner some nights, so the locals must think so too!

we can't wait for a return visit to this hotel, going to try to be there for jazzfest next year in our corner room.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed at the Kaslo Hotel for one night in early June and were very impressed by everything about this hotel which reopened in February after an extensive renovation.

Our very large room at the end of the second floor was beautifully appointed including a classic leather rocking chair, high ceilings, and windows on two sides. The room's huge balcony provided lake and mountain views as well as a view of Kaslo's quaint main street. Everything was spotless.

We ate in the hotel restaurant where the food and service were very good. The front desk staff were also very friendly and helpful.

The Kaslo Hotel isn't just a nice hotel for a small Canadian town. It's a nice hotel for any town anywhere. We're looking forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ternstail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

I stayed at this hotel while snowmobiling at Meadow Mountain at the north end of Kootenay Lake. The hotel is beautifully restored and has every modern convenience. Everything in the room was first class. I stayed in a lakefront room and the view is spectacular. There is a broad, covered porch outside the lakefront rooms and I drug my rocking chair out there for morning coffee. I ate in the restaurant twice and both experiences were well above average. The bar is pleasant and the bartender excellent and he remembered my name after one introduction.

I was with a group that was staying at a different location. After they joined me one evening for dinner and were shown the rooms, we will be making the Kaslo Hotel our new base of operations for future visits.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Wonderful style, modern convenience and a friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We stayed at the Kaslo Hotel 2 weeks after it opened. It is a new hotel built on the site of a former hotel that was once a Japanese Canadian internment center in WWII. We stayed in a street facing room. It was snowing so there was no reason to pay extra for the mountain view rooms. The mattress was excellent. The bathroom arranged just right for a traveler. The closet was small but the room large enough to stash a larger suitcase somewhere else. The management of the hotel went out of their way to make us comfortable - helping us get our bags in off icy streets. Because we were there in the dead of winter we can't say whether the street noise is a problem but the windows looked good and even the drapes were done beautifully with both black out shades and drapes. We would highly recommend this hotel. We ate in the hotel restaurant and it was good. We suspect it will be quite the center of town once the tour buses come and people attend the Kaslo Jazz festival. Any traveler will be happy with the Kaslo Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huldawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaslo
19.2 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
3.0 mi away
Wing Creek Resort
Wing Creek Resort
#2 of 3 in Kaslo
77 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#2 of 3 in New Denver
14 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Valhalla Inn
The Valhalla Inn
#2 of 2 in New Denver
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaslo Manor Lodge
Kaslo Manor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Kaslo
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaslo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaslo Hotel

Address: 430 Front Street, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Price Range: £113 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaslo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New boutique heritage style hotel with thirteen luxury rooms, a one bedroom condo, 2 bedroom condo, and a 3 bedroom condo. All rooms have a lake and/or mountain view and private verandas. The hotel is located in the center of the charming village of Kaslo, on Kootenay Lake. The lakeview pub, with patio, serves lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kaslo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaslo Hotel And Brew Pub

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing