We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grizzly Bear Ranch”
Review of Grizzly Bear Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaslo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grizzly Bear Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just spent a wonderful visit at Grizzly Bear Ranch. We loved the fact that it was an all natural setting. Unfortunately, that sometime means that you will not get to see the animals you want to see. But we were very lucky on our stay starting Oct 7, 2013. We had prolonged viewings of 2 different grizzlies and 4 sightings (I think) of a shorter duration. We also saw elk, white tailed deer, beaver, grouse, multiple eagles and a coyote fishing. The guides both Lilly and Max were great. Their knowledge and enthusiasm inspire you with their love of their work and the area. Hikes in the forest were also enjoyable. You can be kept busy during your whole stay or can take time off just to relax in your cabin. Our Volga cabin was right on the Lardeau river with a marvelous view and was very comfortable for 3 (or possibly would work for 4). Kristen is a fabulous cook.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

After much research online we decided to use Grizzly Bear Ranch in BC in a bid to see first hand Grizzly Bears in this beautiful part of the world. From the moment you arrive you know it's money well spent, the ranch is located right on the banks of a river and there are four very well presented cabins just a stones throw from the main house, each cabin has its own character, we stayed in the Volga cabin situated right on the river and were very happy with our choice.

Each day starts off early with a tap on the door by Kristen who leaves you some freshly made Coffee or Tea to ease you into the day. Then it's out into the wilderness with Julius and his team to find the bears (and any other animals that might be strolling around).
Every day is different here and that's what makes it so impressive, you don't just drive around looking for Bears, you walk the trails, you can go "Bushwacking" if you're really keen or go rafting down the river to give you every chance of seeing the bears in their natural habitat.

Our only disappointment was we had only one very good sighting of a Bear at dusk, the others sightings were more glimpses as they crossed banks or trails, but this is wildlife and as long as you remember that you won't be disappointed.

Julius is a vastly experienced and passionate guide who knows and understands the bears behaviour which enables the guests to enjoy the experience to the full.

Every meal is served in the main house around the dining table with the other guests which is great for dissecting the day so far, the food is cooked and presented by Kristen and is delicious to say the least, we looked forward to each meal!

We're currently on our honeymoon travelling the world and this was our "main event" in North America. it's not cheap but it's honestly worth every penny.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank NB796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Sometimes returning to a holiday destination can be disappointing but in this instance an unforgettable previous visit was surpassed. The Grizzly bear ranch is located in a stretch of largely untouched wilderness in the Selkirk Mountain range and as a consequence you have breathtaking views from the cabins and throughout your day, be that rafting along the river or trekking through the old grow Cedar forests . The well appointed cabins are located just metres from the pristine Lardeau river. On this visit we had a great viewing experience seeing 5 different grizzly bears, coyote, elk, white tail deer and numerous bald eagles swooping to claim fish from the river. Julius and Kristin and their fantastic team go out of their way to ensure your stay is all that you want it to be by custom tailoring the trekking rafting etc to your needs. Kristin's home cooked food is fabulous and just what you need after a day in the wilderness. One of the main reasons we chose to return was because the animals viewed are moving naturally within their habitat. The guide team will do their best to find bears for you but as these animals are not located 24/7 at the end of a viewing platform sightings are not guaranteed. You would be very unlucky not to see some bears but as you will find out their movements are affected by a plethora of things including weather, food availability and sadly on occasion man. Because of the latter the guide teams ethical approach to their task keep the animals stress levels and well being at the top of their agenda . On our last hour at the ranch I was really lucky to see a young black bear at the rear of our cabin. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: All the cabins have fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beekeeper16328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A place to loose yourself and find yourself... just a little bit....perhaps re-assess your values and contemplate your own lifestyle.
You arrive, naturally with anticipation, a desire to see bears, but maybe with little more than a Picasso type line sketch image in mind of what a bear is. A few days here, spent with Julius, Kristin and the team, and with a soul that's open and receptive, you leave holding the equivalent of a Da Vinci cartoon with thumbnail sketches and notations in the margins. Whether you encounter bear, beaver, eagle or moose, follow tracks, prod sticks into scat, watch salmon spawning in the rivers, gaze up and up at the forested slopes or just breathe deeply of the wonderful Rocky Mountain air, you absorb the essence of this amazing wilderness, this Grizzly Bear home, that will stay with you for a very long time.

Sue and Paul Colwill, Wales.

Room Tip: The eco lodge has an amazing view of the river, stunning scenery to open your curtains to at six in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueCol10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Grizzly Bear Ranch isn't the easiest part of Canada to reach but it's a beautiful journey even in the rain and worth every minute of the 2 days travelling. You arrive in a part of BC that not many people get to visit and because of this, it makes it all the more special. The cabins are set apart from each other on the banks of a fast flowing river, all with decks to sit at and watch the birds that frequent the ranch. We were warmly welcomed by Kristin, who is a fantastic host and superb cook. As other reviewers have said, you never go hungry here, mealtimes were a joy, as we all sat around the table sharing stories of our days out.
Our days would start with fresh coffee brought to the cabin by Kristin followed by a hearty breakfast and then either a hike, which we did on one of the days or a drive to spot the wildlife. We also did a walk through the old forest and a trip on Trout Lake by boat. We would then return to the ranch for dinner and then out again at dusk for a bit more bear spotting. Our guides Lily and Forrest were wonderful and made the stay even more special. They are so passionate about the wildlife and surroundings, you can't help but fall in love with the area and the way of life. We didn't see many bears but this didn't matter as the unspoilt scenery and the whole experience were a joy. I am trying to convince my husband to take me back next year in the Autumn, though I don't think he will need much persuasion! A truly memorable few days, thank you Kristin, Forrest & Lily.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank misscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

When you arrive in SE British Columbia, you behold natural wonders that you didn't know existed in this fast paced, troubled world. We started our vacation by spending a few days in Nelson, a charming, scenic town on Lake Kootenay. Great views, quaint coffee shops, great dining, and an ambience that invites relaxation and escape. Just north of Nelson lies the town of Kaslo, a stop on the historic steamboat route, a town that exudes New England style charm. The view from the historic Kaslo Hotel and Pub can't be beat. When we return to the Ranch next year we plan to spend a couple of nights at the hotel before heading north to GBR.

Our stay at GBR was too good for words-great hosts, great food and accommodations, and active sightseeing that will exhaust the most fit of travelers. As I stated above, we're heading back next year and plan to stay in that part of BC even longer.

This vacation is a 10 in EVERY respect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius S, Owner at Grizzly Bear Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for your very generous review. I was sorry to miss you guys this time but certainly hope to meet up next Fall during grizzly season. Best Wishes, Julius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Grizzly Bear Ranch was everything we hoped it would be and more. We arrived feeling a little mob handed with all four kids (aged 11 to 25) in tow but fortunately the 2 other guests, Belinda and Steve from Australia didn't seem too over whelmed and proved to be great company.

This is a trip that is not just about bears - although if mother nature, the expertise of the guides and a little bit of luck all go in your favour you will be rewarded with those.

It is so much more than that - the area is breathtakingly beautiful, the wildlife is around every corner whether its deer, brids of prey or the hummingbirds that whizz around outside Kristin's window and the guides (in our case Lily and Forest more of whom later) who are so passionate about the area they live in and the what it has to offer.

The cabins are eco friendly, hugely comfortable and great fun. Kristin and Bri who do the cooking will keep you incredibly well fed with huge talent between them (the banana bread and the chocolate pudding being particular favorites!). I already miss fresh coffee turning up at 7.30 every morning.

And so to the guides - highly qualified, hugely knowledgeable and who care deeply about the area and the wildlife it contains, plus a great sense of fun and humour. Nothing is too much trouble and no question too silly. But be warned - they will put the welfare of anything you are lucky enough to see and spend time watching first as they absolutely should.

Bears are pretty big if you are lucky enough to see them and we felt completely confident that we were in safe hands too.

For us Lily and Forest made the trip even more special than it would have been - in fact, when we go back we might even try and fix the dates so they are around again!

And go back we certainly will.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius S, Owner at Grizzly Bear Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Hi Guys, Thanks you for your wonderful review. Kristin praised you guys no end and loved having you stay. I'll pass on your compliments to Forest and Lily. Please do come back some time. Best Wishes, Julius & Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaslo hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
141 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wing Creek Resort
Wing Creek Resort
#2 of 3 in Kaslo
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaslo Manor Lodge
Kaslo Manor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Kaslo
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Bear Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Bear Ranch

Address: Highway 31, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kaslo
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizzly Bear Ranch is a small luxury lodge hidden away in a remote BC valley that offers specialist black bear and grizzly bear viewing holidays as well as summer wilderness adventures. The ranch opened in 2006 and is run by Julius, Kristin and an exceptional team of experienced and certified bear-viewing guides who will take you out on foot, in 4x4s and on river rafts into the surrounding wilderness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grizzly Bear Ranch Hotel Kaslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing