We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a retreat should be”
Review of Wing Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wing Creek Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Reviewed 17 August 2012

1st off I'll start by saying Kevin and Debbie have a beautiful property which they've obviously worked hard for. They were both very accomodating and friendly, offering us insight into attractions and things to do around Kaslo. I can't say enough about the grounds and cabins. They are meticulously maintained and modern with a feeling of rustic charm. The hike down to the lake is peaceful in itself and you can walk up and down the beach or go for a swim as you like, very private. We chose Wing Creek Resort for part of our honeymoon and it is exactly what we needed, time alone! Thanks again guys and good luck in the future, we look forward to staying again, Mike & Krista

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you so much for choosing Wing Creek Resort to spend part of your honeymoon -- and for taking the time to post a review! We love to share our resort with guests from all over the world and helping create the perfect vacation experience for each guest is our favourite part! Thank you for noticing all the work we do to create and maintain the cabins and grounds. It is a labour of love, but still super when guests notice!! =) The last few weeks have been hot and sunny so we are happy to see many of our guests take advantage of swimming in the lake and our private beach "nooks" . You definitely earned your time alone and we are so happy you found us! We wish you both all the best as you begin your life together as a married couple and we hope you come back to see us again! Congratulations and best wishes!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed in Wing Creek for a single night as part of a motorcycle trip. The Cabins are private and have everything you need. I loved just sitting on the front deck and reading a book. Kevin and Debra were very accommodating. Overall, a great experience.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank RyanCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your review from the perspective of a motorcyclist! We do attract many couples and individuals on a wide variety of bikes -- from Honda Goldwings and Harleys to BMWs and Suzukis and even a number of touring cyclists. The roads nearby are fantastic for bikes and include one that is rated #3 in North America for motorcyclists! We offer an eco-friendly adult sanctuary where most of our guests can be found on their decks or on our beach reading, practising yoga, or simply staring at the mountain and lake views at some point during their stays. Many arrive with long to-do lists and end up picking a couple of outdoor activities like hiking, kayaking or whitewater rafting and then spending the rest of their time RELAXING in our quiet, peaceful setting. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Wing Creek!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is out second trip to Wing Creek Resort; where owners Debra and Kevin treat you with warmth and respect. The Cedarcrest cabin,our favorite, offers all the amenities one needs while maintaining the minimalist approach. With private access to the lake, you'll enjoy a beautiful swim and an invigorating nature walk. We enjoyed couple's massage I the Falling Waters Spa (aptly named as you hear nothing but the cascading creek) and left feeling like we had been wrapped in serenity! We always sleep well in the cool, clean mountain air. Looking forward to breakfast service this morning and then exploring the town of KASLO. Many treasures to be found within. The area is rich in history and has many worthwhile stops to explore. Take the time.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaE153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your kind words here and in our guest book! It was our pleasure to host your return visit to Wing Creek Resort! Our Cedarcrest cottage is consistently the most popular choice for size, privacy, the DVD/home theatre system, and other little extras. Our hot and sunny weather in late July and all of August have made our private beach a very popular spot. Our guests enjoy the privacy, fire rings, and swimming in pristine Kootenay Lake, which is 100 km long and very rarely interrupted by a motorized boat. We're so glad you enjoyed your couples" massage and our continental breakfast option, which are both new since your last trip. We've been picking fresh raspberries every morning to decorate our fresh fruit platters. Thank you for immersing yourself in the Wing Creek experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at Wing Creek for 2 nights and it was fantatic. Kevin and Debbie will bend over backwards to make anyone's stay extremely pleasant. The cabins are neat & confortable with outstanding views of Kootney Lake. The fact that no kids were there was the icing on the cake, given it was my wife and my first trip away fromt he kids in 8 years. Coming from Australia a btter Kootney / BC experience could not be had.

Room Tip: All cabins would be winners as far as I'm concerned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for your enthusiastic feedback about your recent stay at Wing Creek Resort! It was a delight to host you here and we are so happy it was exactly the break you were looking for! We are glad you found us -- and less than 4 hours from Vernon, where your kids were visiting their Grandma while you got a grownup getaway! Our adults-only policy was created in response to guests just like you who were looking to get away to peace and quiet in the mountains. We're thrilled that we helped to give you a great impression of the Kootenays and British Columbia to take back home to Australia! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The place was magic. On the lake with a stream. Cabins were well appointed. The owners were great!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Thank you so much for your super review! We are very happy that the special magic of Wing Creek Resort worked on you too! It definitely affects some people very strongly and when it does we know we are likely to see them back here again! We definitely hope this is true for you! Fortunately you live much closer than many of our guests who come from overseas as part of a once-in-a-lifetime trip! Vancouver is just a hop and a skip by comparison! We are a nice soothing antidote to the noise and stresses of everday life in the city and we do hope we can be part of your travel plans again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at wingcreek for 4 nights. We are from NZ and have been travelling in Canada for 6 weeks, this resort is the cleanest, most tranquil, relaxing place we have stayed in. We are x moteliers and are very fussy. The owners Debbie and Kevin treated us like there own family and left us alone when we needed to be. They took us down the track to the awesome lake to a private beach for a BBQ. They helped us with advise as to where to go after our stay there and also during our stay. They recently have received 4 different awards to do with their resort, there web site, best get away, massage therapist etc...


Thank you so much Debbie and Kevin

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 172Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Thank you for your terrific review, Brian! We enjoyed your stay immensely and getting to know both of you was great fun! Thank you for taking the time to write a review here -- we totally appreciate your glowing praise, partly because you visited some AMAZING places in Canada, and partly because you are providing the insight of seasoned professionals in the hospitality industry!!! We wish we could entice you to move to our part of the world permanently, but I think your wonderful new digs on the coast should be a splendid location to "retire" briefly and hatch your next great plan. Please keep in touch! When our travels take us to NZ we would definitely like to see you on your home turf!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My Fiance and I stayed in one of the cottages at Wing Creek and were extremely impressed with not only the cottage but the stunning scenery as well. Our stay was peaceful and quiet and the cottage was well equipped with everthing we needed! Not to mention the cozy fireplace. As mentioned, the scenery was breathtaking..........we couldn't stop taking pictures! The grounds were lush and had many different shrubs and flowers and trees. It felt like we were staying in a treehouse (a beautiful tree house!) As much as we liked the cottage and scenery, we liked our hosts better!!! Kevin and Debra are some of the nicest, accommodating people we've ever met and so friendly!! It was a great pleasure to meet them. Thank you so much Kevin for your beautiful accordian playing. It brought back many fond memories for me.......I truly appreciated hearing you play. Thank you. We plan on visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria3070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wing Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wing Creek Resort

Address: 9114 Highway 31, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Price Range: £160 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wing Creek Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wing Creek Resort is a spectacularly beautiful, romantic mountainside resort and spa on pristine Kootenay Lake, BC. Our 20-acre award winning resort caters to couples looking to unplug and reconnect with Nature. It features 5 well-appointed luxury cabins/cottages, a private beach, forest, trails, orchard, gardens, gift shop, Retreat Centre (with wi-fi) and the Falling Water Spa. Each cabin has one bedroom with queen bed and down duvets, a slate bathroom, granite & hardwood kitchen, living room with vaulted ceiling and cozy wood burning fireplace plus a large deck with breathtaking views of pristine Kootenay Lake and the soaring Purcell mountains. Located just 5 minutes north of picturesque Kaslo, Wing Creek Resort offers easy access to world class hiking, kayaking, white water rafting, hot springs and many other outdoor activities. Or simply relax in unspoiled Nature. We are never crowded and specialize in private vacations for two - and honeymoons! Discover the REAL British Columbia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wing Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wing Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing