We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great gateway!!!”
Review of Wing Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wing Creek Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great gateway!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I just came back from a wonderful 3 nights stay in the Cedarcrest cottage.What a perfect place to simply relax and enjoy the peace of this area. We loved that the beach was so private. We always felt like the only ones at the resort and this is what was promised to us. This is the perfect place if you need so timeout. Thanks again Kev and Debra!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you so much for your heartfelt review of your getaway to Wing Creek Resort!! We knew from the moment you arrived it was a perfect fit for you both. It is always very special when our guests really FEEL the whole experience of Wing Creek Resort. Both the Birchgrove vacation home and the Cedarcrest cottage lend themselves to an extra-private vacation experience, although all the cottages are private and in general we do pretty much specialize in privacy and serenity for couples (and sometimes for individuals simply seeking a retreat into Nature). We loved the fact that you loved the beach as much as we do and that you felt like the only ones here. We try very hard to create that magical feeling for all our guests and we love it when we succeed! Although you are far away we hope you will keep Wing Creek Resort in your hearts and perhaps come back again one day! A la prochaine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

I and my wife spent our first anniversary trip at Wing Creek for a night. Because of the recent floods and road washouts, we had to take a longer trip to get there and we had arrived at 10pm. The hosts stayed late for us and kept updating me the road conditions. They welcomed us with full of smile and kind gestures. Next day they let us check out whenever we want because we didn't have a chance to experience the resort and the town of Kaslo. They were always willing to us and make sure we have the great time. The only thing that scared my wife was several spiders in the room and the bathroom, but it is understandable since the location is very close to the nature and the lake. The spa was also great and absolutely helped me to relax after long driving. It seems like they have tried to update some of the equipments and supplies in the room, but several of them were outdated and old (such as rust in the bath hole, old coffee machine). If they work on this I am pretty sure this is going to be the definite place to stay in Kaslo and surrounding area. Our stay was still very enjoyable with the unique fireplace and we felt we were the only ones in the forest.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Although we rarely get guests experiencing such a brief stay at Wing Creek Resort, we were delighted to help you celebrate your 1st wedding anniversary and provide a romantic destination midway between Kelowna and Calgary for your celebration.
We have definitely become THE place in our area for honeymoons, special anniversaries and special birthdays and we are delighted to help guests from all over the world create special memories. Because we are small we can work with each guest to create the perfect, personalized experience for them.
Being surrounded by Nature does mean that we sometimes do encounter wildlife. Usually bald eagles, osprey, a black bear or two and lots of deer (and yes the occasional spider). Recently our guests were treated to sights of the tiniest fawn we’ve ever seen at the resort, along with its mom. We were all mesmerized!
Our cottages are continually upgraded to balance maximizing guest comfort with keeping our rates very affordable and maintaining our environmental focus. We have created an adult sanctuary with a maximum of 7 couples on our 20 acres of forest, orchard and beach with breathtaking lake and mountain views.
Our thoughts are with you and all our many other southern Albertan guests as you recover and rebuild after the floods. We look forward to hosting your return visit and hope you will have a little more time to experience the resort next time! Thank you for choosing Wing Creek Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Everything you hope for but even better. Super clean, modern but rustic and luxurious. Debra, Kevin and everything about Kaslo are delightful. What is impossible to convey is the feeling - you are happy to be alive,soothed, relaxed, able to feel the expansiveness of awe inspiring views. There is so much to do but then again you can do nothing but relax-no kids, fresh air, trickling creek, mountains everywhere!. The only thing we didn't like about our stay was leaving. Will be back and refer to all our friends. Great for small wedding groups, retreats, romantic and adventure- young and old will love it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivanac1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review and for trying to capture the "feeling" at Wing Creek! Many of our guests feel it (as of course do we!) but it is always hard to convey in words. Thank you for not just trying but also for succeeding! We feel blessed to live here and to share this wonderful little corner of the world with guests from all over the world. Our guests tell us it is just the trick for recovering from life in the city -- whether it's London or New York, Toronto or Vancouver -- natural surroundings, forest, mountain, lake, trickling creek and otherwise a lot of space, silence and serenity.We look very forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parksville
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

WE stayed here for three nights this summer. Great stay. Great cottages. So peaceful and quiet. Loved everything. Will definitely stay again if we get the chance. It is a long hike back from the beach so be prepared for that.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadabanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic review and total enjoyment of our Kootenay Lake resort! We love to be able to provide exactly what our guests are looking for, including our private cottages and an escape from everyday life into quiet, peaceful Nature. We feel blessed to be able to share this experience with our many guests from all over the world. Many of our guests enjoy all-day or multi-day hikes in the mountains surrounding us and we are happy to provide suggestions and advice whether they prefer the trail to our private beach, the flat Kaslo River Trail or the multitude of intermediate and advanced hikes and climbs nearby. We are now starting to offer Retreats that allow our guests to immerse themselves in Nature as well as in a specific activity, such as Art, Writing, or Yoga. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again at Wing Creek Resort, any time you can get away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is the most difficult review I have written for Trip Advisor. We loved so many things about our stay, but we also found so many little, simple things lacking which tipped the scales toward us choosing to not return in the future.
We arrived late afternoon after picking up steaks and beer in Kaslo. The cabin was very clean, beautifully styled, and rather spacious. However, no one had bothered to turn on the refrigerator, so there was no way to cool our steaks or beer. The kind hostess gladly shared her ice with us, but in a $209 dollar per night cabin couldn't someone have turned on the refrigerator, or maybe even filled our ice bucket since there is no ice machine? We turned on the electric heat for the night, and the noise in the bedroom was too loud to sleep, cracking and creaking all night long. We left that room unheated for the remainder of our stay, opting to heat the bathroom instead. We loved the private nature of our cabin, but the comfort of the living room furniture was sorely lacking. We ended up folding blankets under our feet on the little wooden coffee table for comfort. A couple of Lazy Boys would have been so much better. The romantic lights that came on at night were a pleasant surprise, but the lack of a screen door meant we had to view the scenery from inside or face the hungry insects in the woods. We stayed an extra night since rain was predicted and we were on motorcycles, and we ventured down the "trail" to the lake. But our "walk" to the lake turned out to be a hike through dead trees, switchbacks, and dirt. After being out all day on our last day, we returned to find no room service. Not a problem since we hadn't thrown our towels on the floor or anything, but the garbage had piled up, there was no coffee or tea, and there was no one at the office. Two trips walking to the office found it empty, with only a sign that they would be back at 4 PM. It was now after 6 pm. So, for over $200 per night, no coffee, no clean towels, and uncomfortable furniture left us wanting a little something more. We totally agree with other travelers that the hosts are friendly, the area is beautiful, and the cabin was clean, if not well stocked in terms of coffee, tea, or even toilet paper. This was not a pampered experience, but it was a very private one. We love the concept of no pets, no smoking, and mostly, no kids. Thanks for the memories.

Room Tip: If you are riding a motorcycle, do NOT choose the Cedarcrest cottage. The road and the parking are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wildthing_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our beautiful resort. We work very hard to make sure we provide enough information in advance to attract the guests who truly appreciate what we offer and our pristine natural setting. Our off-season rates are discounted on purpose to reflect the lower staffing levels at this quiet time of year. Many of the “negatives” you describe are valued as positives by our thousands of happy guests from all over the world. These include our extreme focus on guest privacy, our locally handcrafted fine furniture instead of mass-produced urban furniture, and natural forest trails instead of paved paths. We do not try to emulate urban hotels like your preferred Hampton Inns or large chain resorts in places like San Francisco, preferring instead to focus on a unique personalized BC mountain experience for couples and individuals. We hope you enjoy your next trip to Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We spent 4 wonderful days here at Wing Creek and really loved our stay. When we arrived, there was snow at the tip of the mountains and by the time we had left, it had melted!.The cottages/cabins are superbly fitted out and whilst being quite compact, offer every facilty for simple self-catering. They are immaculately clean and wonderfully comfortable. Debra and Kevin were wonderfully friendly, welcoming and helpful, even to inviting us out into "their wood " to see a bear!
We had superb varied experiences of hiking up to the Idaho Peak, the very relaxing and interesting river walk in lovely Kaslo, combined with just "chilling " in the cottage and enjoying the fun of cooking a Bratwurst (from the excellent local butcher) on the private beach's camp fire and also using the resort's BBQ to cook our evening meal. It is a wonderful walk down to the lake through the woodland path, smelling of cedars to the private beach on the lake.
Kaslo became our favourite Canadian town, so very friendly and scenic right by the Kootenay Lake and with a wonderful bakery, sending smells of fantastic cinnamon buns right up the street!
We highly recommend this resort and follow it on with the superbly scenic drive all along Lake Kootenay to Fernie, exquisite unspoilt Canadian scenery!

Room Tip: All cottages are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkUKRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments and suggestions! Our guests do often tell us how much they enjoy the wonderful scenery at Idaho Peak and the nice relaxing pace of the fairly flat Kaslo River Trail. There is no shortage of amazing hiking in this area! We were so happy you had the opportunity to indulge in the traditional beach fire and wiener roast during your stay! Thank you so very much for dubbing Kaslo your new favourite Canadian town!!! We agree, it is a very special place with much to offer visitors in the way of shopping, restaurants, and galleries, all in the quaint Victorian architecture of its silver-boom heyday! Thank you so much for enjoying our resort, our cottages, our wildlife -- and us! We thoroughly enjoyed sharing everything with you and do hope you can return one day! We hope the rest of your journey was equally fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossland, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

From the moment you first arrive, you are surrounded by beauty and peace, and you know that it is going to be a very special experience.
The grounds are beautiful, and the views over the lake and mountains are unbeatable.
The hosts, Debbie and Kevin, are lovely people, warm, friendly and interesting to talk to, but not intrusive.
The cabins are just perfect, well maintained, very clean, and well appointed yet rustic. The decks are ideal for sitting on to relax and enjoy the view.
We took advantage of the breakfast, and it is delicious and well worth it.
We highly recommend this place, and will definitely be back. We have recommended it to our friends, and while we want to keep it to ourselves, it is too good not to share! It has become our accommodation of choice while in this area....if you are considering Kaslo Hotel, stay here instead, it is waaaay better!

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger cabin this time, which we preferred, and stayed in a smaller one during our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edesem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review, based on your two recent stays with us! It is so gratifying to know that all our special little touches are so well received. We love sharing our resort with our guests! We know they come for the beauty and privacy of having a maximum of 10 guests on our 20 acre resort so we try to never infringe on that privacy -- no matter how much we enjoy the company of our guests! This year we introduced our breakfast option and it has been a big hit, especially the granola yogurt parfaits and selection of home-baked muffins. Thanks to feedback like yours, we will continue to offer this option to our guests. We often hear that our guests want to keep Wing Creek as their special secret "find" so we appreciate you sharing your experience with others! We look very forward to your next visit -- maybe for SufferFest next Fall -- if not before?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaslo
3.0 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
23.0 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
15.4 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Valhalla Inn
The Valhalla Inn
#1 of 2 in New Denver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kaslo Manor Lodge
Kaslo Manor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Kaslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wing Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wing Creek Resort

Property: Wing Creek Resort
Address: 9114 Highway 31, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wing Creek Resort is a spectacularly beautiful, romantic mountainside waterfront cabin resort and spa on pristine Kootenay Lake, BC. Our 20-acre award winning resort caters primarily to couples looking to unplug and reconnect with Nature and features 5 thoughtfully designed, well appointed luxury cabins/cottages, a beautiful private beach, mountain streams, forest, trails, orchard, gardens, gift shop, Retreat Centre (with high speed Internet) and the Falling Water Spa. We also offer a delicious optional continental breakfast and provide a convenient refreshment centre in each cabin. Each private timber frame cabin has one bedroom with comfy queen bed and down duvets, a slate bathroom, granite & hardwood kitchen, living room with vaulted ceiling and cozy wood burning fireplace and a large deck with breathtaking views of pristine Kootenay Lake and the soaring Purcell mountains. Located just 5 minutes north of the picturesque and historic village of Kaslo, Wing Creek Resort offers easy access to world class hiking, SUP and kayaking, white water rafting, ziplining, mountain biking, golfing, fishing, hot springs and many other outdoor activities. Or choose to simply relax in unspoiled peaceful Nature. We are never crowded and specialize in quiet, private vacations for two -- and honeymoons! Discover the REAL British Columbia at Wing Creek Resort, your BC mountain lake paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wing Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing