We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadiana in Kaslo”
Review of Wing Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wing Creek Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Picturesque mountains from the cottage deck in a rural and quiet setting. Well equipped cottage. Excellent hosts, Debra and Kevin. If you are looking for a remote and peaceful experience in the Kootenays, a 5 minute drive from lovely Kaslo, Wing Creek is it! We will most certainly return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you so much for testing us out to see if the Route 3 article was an accurate depiction of Wing Creek! Thank you even more for deciding it was and planning a return trip! We look very forward to hosting you again!! We continue to work to balance the feeling of privacy being nestled in the trees with the ability to see those panoramic views of the dramatic Purcell mountains and pristine Kootenay Lake! We love hosting buests from all over the world here and watch them relax and enjoy life surrounded by Nature. We know it is not possible in many parts of the world and certainly not in the midst of a busy city! Thank your for all the compliments and for recommending us to others! We are never crowded with a maximum of 14 adult guests on the resort at any given time. Being in a remote mountain wilderness "off the beaten track" means we are always looking to attract new guests as well as repeat guests who loved their previous visits. Thank you for helping on both counts!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our time at Wing Creek Resort will be remembered always. We had spent the previous few days in the area camping and hiking to beautiful places like Monica Meadows and Fry Creek. It was a great way to finish off our time in this magical area of British Columbia, rest our bones as we looked across Kootenay Lake from the comfort of our private porch. The view was spectacular of the mountains that we had previously explored and had me imagining how beautiful it would be in the winter with them covered in snow. Deb and Kevin were fantastic! Easy to talk to and very friendly. The facilities were top notch. Beautiful cabins with inspiring views. A property with orchards and forest trails to the beach front that had a BBQ for our use and tastefully placed fire pits which were very unobtrusive keeping inline with the simple beauty of the area and shoreline. I awoke to a deer munching on fallen apples in the rising sun. Nice image to start your day. The no pets aspect was great! Nothing worse tan settling down for a good nights sleep to find that your cabin stinks of cat or to find dog hair on the couch. The quiet was needed and very appreciated and the abscence of screaming children was duely noted. In summary, fantastic and well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience at Wing Creek Resort! You took full advantage of the wonderful surroundings including the amazing hikes close by. (Maybe we can entice you back to explore Loki or MacBeth next time!) Magical is exactly how we feel about this area! As you imagined, the mountains are breathtaking when covered with snow -- and the cabins are at their most charming when snow hangs in perfect curves off their roofs, with the little twinkle lights adding that final touch of magic. Thank you for appreciating the fact that we are creating a quiet and private adult sanctuary here -- we know it reduces the number of guests we attract but it is what creates the exact experience they want and need. We are also a safe refuge for people with allergies. We often awake to seeing deer very close to our cottage or see them on their routes throughout the resort. We always stop to take note as we spent many years in the city without them and we agree there is no better way to start your day! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were gifted a night at Wing Creek Resort due to the generosity of Deb and Kevin who donated two prizes in support of the Kaslo Jazz Summer Festival. Their endowment is representative of the lovely community spirit and friendly folks who welcomed us once again to Kaslo.
My dear friends owned the neighboring property and I first saw Shutty Bench over 30 years ago. It was a pleasure to pull into Wing Creek's grounds and see how well-loved and maintained the orchard, gardens and lawns were. As a gardener, I especially appreciated the plantings around the cabins and main buildings; I know how the wildlife loves to munch.
The meticulous attention to order and detail continued throughout the cabin structure and interior. The bed/bedding was incredibly comfy, the kitchen well-stocked with utensils and a variety of honor system snacks/wine for purchase, the bathroom was large and the natural wood and stonework was beautiful throughout.
Of course the crowning glory was the spectacular view of the lake and mountains and the feeling of having it all to ourselves. While engaging and accessible, Deb and Kevin have created a feeling of being at a private retreat. Lying on the deck at night we were almost dizzy from the starscape and the quietude was profound.
Being 5 winding miles from town we were glad that we had breakfast supplies and ice for drinks in our cooler. I would suggest stocking up for self-catering in Kaslo. Also, our yoga mats were lovely for stretching out on the porch since the deck chairs are rustic and our bones are older.
We enjoyed every moment of our short time at Wing Creek and wish our hosts the best success with being discovered as a rare and top-notch retreat. Their generosity and community support are bound to reap good Karma as well. Thank you Deb and Kevin.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank caribequeen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for all your kind and descriptive words! We are delighted to support the Kaslo Jazz Etc Summer Music Festival -- after all, it was one of the reasons we came to this area in the first place! The arts and music focus here is strong and growing and we LOVE that! We are honoured to be the guardians of this beautiful property -- we are just the third owners EVER! Kevin spends many many hours nurturing the orchard, gardens, lawns and trails and we wish we could spend even much more time on them! We have included stone and wood inside and outside our buildings wherever possible to ensure they feel like they belong here in this beautiful mountain/lake setting. We too are captivated by the wild beauty of this area, the wildlife, the millions of stars and the QUIET. Being immersed in Nature is an amazing privilege these days and we treasure it! At the peak of our high season with 14 guests on the resort, one of our guests (in the cottage beside the creek) asked us if they were the only guests on the resort! Perfect! That's exactly what we strive for! I'm glad you felt it too! Yoga is a perfect fit and we often see yoga being practised on decks, at the beach and in our retreat centre. We also offer yoga retreats from time to time. Yoga is a perfect fit here. Namaste, our new friends from afar! Thank you for understanding exactly what we are doing here! =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a cedarbrook cabin as part of or honeymoon road trip. Was highly rated, and it was clear why people loved this resort. The view, the privacy, and awesome hosts make this THE perfect place to relax and get away. Nicely outfitted cabins, a nice private beach (though the walk back is a little difficult after a few drinks..... Ha!), stillbeautiful flowers (and raspberries!), awesome value for money, but most of all, the view. Kevin and Deb do everything they can to make your stay perfect, even if that means just giving some privacy. Can't say enough good things about this place! Still early in the development of the resort, can't wait to see what the future holds for them! We will be back, and we will spread the word!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you SO much for this wonderful review!! We were delighted to host you and give you all the quiet and privacy you needed. Honeymooners tend to want to cocoon a bit after all the busy-ness of the wedding and we are happy to provide the perfect location for just that! We hosted another couple of dozen honeymoons here this year and we love to watch you truly RELAX! We also love to share the bounty of our land which changes with the seasons...flowers, cherries, raspberries, blackberries, plums, 3 varieties of pears and 10 varieties of apples! Thank you so much for all the compliments -- we love what we do and we love meeting all the wonderful guests who discover our little adult sanctuary nestled here in the mountains beside a truly gorgeous and pristine lake. We are actively engaged in expanding the resort community and this year added the Birchgrove timber home into our vacation rental offerings. It is perfect for 2 couples travelling together and available on a weekly basis. Just the beginning! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I just came back from a wonderful 3 nights stay in the Cedarcrest cottage.What a perfect place to simply relax and enjoy the peace of this area. We loved that the beach was so private. We always felt like the only ones at the resort and this is what was promised to us. This is the perfect place if you need so timeout. Thanks again Kev and Debra!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you so much for your heartfelt review of your getaway to Wing Creek Resort!! We knew from the moment you arrived it was a perfect fit for you both. It is always very special when our guests really FEEL the whole experience of Wing Creek Resort. Both the Birchgrove vacation home and the Cedarcrest cottage lend themselves to an extra-private vacation experience, although all the cottages are private and in general we do pretty much specialize in privacy and serenity for couples (and sometimes for individuals simply seeking a retreat into Nature). We loved the fact that you loved the beach as much as we do and that you felt like the only ones here. We try very hard to create that magical feeling for all our guests and we love it when we succeed! Although you are far away we hope you will keep Wing Creek Resort in your hearts and perhaps come back again one day! A la prochaine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

I and my wife spent our first anniversary trip at Wing Creek for a night. Because of the recent floods and road washouts, we had to take a longer trip to get there and we had arrived at 10pm. The hosts stayed late for us and kept updating me the road conditions. They welcomed us with full of smile and kind gestures. Next day they let us check out whenever we want because we didn't have a chance to experience the resort and the town of Kaslo. They were always willing to us and make sure we have the great time. The only thing that scared my wife was several spiders in the room and the bathroom, but it is understandable since the location is very close to the nature and the lake. The spa was also great and absolutely helped me to relax after long driving. It seems like they have tried to update some of the equipments and supplies in the room, but several of them were outdated and old (such as rust in the bath hole, old coffee machine). If they work on this I am pretty sure this is going to be the definite place to stay in Kaslo and surrounding area. Our stay was still very enjoyable with the unique fireplace and we felt we were the only ones in the forest.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Although we rarely get guests experiencing such a brief stay at Wing Creek Resort, we were delighted to help you celebrate your 1st wedding anniversary and provide a romantic destination midway between Kelowna and Calgary for your celebration.
We have definitely become THE place in our area for honeymoons, special anniversaries and special birthdays and we are delighted to help guests from all over the world create special memories. Because we are small we can work with each guest to create the perfect, personalized experience for them.
Being surrounded by Nature does mean that we sometimes do encounter wildlife. Usually bald eagles, osprey, a black bear or two and lots of deer (and yes the occasional spider). Recently our guests were treated to sights of the tiniest fawn we’ve ever seen at the resort, along with its mom. We were all mesmerized!
Our cottages are continually upgraded to balance maximizing guest comfort with keeping our rates very affordable and maintaining our environmental focus. We have created an adult sanctuary with a maximum of 7 couples on our 20 acres of forest, orchard and beach with breathtaking lake and mountain views.
Our thoughts are with you and all our many other southern Albertan guests as you recover and rebuild after the floods. We look forward to hosting your return visit and hope you will have a little more time to experience the resort next time! Thank you for choosing Wing Creek Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Everything you hope for but even better. Super clean, modern but rustic and luxurious. Debra, Kevin and everything about Kaslo are delightful. What is impossible to convey is the feeling - you are happy to be alive,soothed, relaxed, able to feel the expansiveness of awe inspiring views. There is so much to do but then again you can do nothing but relax-no kids, fresh air, trickling creek, mountains everywhere!. The only thing we didn't like about our stay was leaving. Will be back and refer to all our friends. Great for small wedding groups, retreats, romantic and adventure- young and old will love it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivanac1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review and for trying to capture the "feeling" at Wing Creek! Many of our guests feel it (as of course do we!) but it is always hard to convey in words. Thank you for not just trying but also for succeeding! We feel blessed to live here and to share this wonderful little corner of the world with guests from all over the world. Our guests tell us it is just the trick for recovering from life in the city -- whether it's London or New York, Toronto or Vancouver -- natural surroundings, forest, mountain, lake, trickling creek and otherwise a lot of space, silence and serenity.We look very forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wing Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wing Creek Resort

Address: 9114 Highway 31, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Price Range: £160 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wing Creek Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wing Creek Resort is a spectacularly beautiful, romantic mountainside resort and spa on pristine Kootenay Lake, BC. Our 20-acre award winning resort caters to couples looking to unplug and reconnect with Nature. It features 5 well-appointed luxury cabins/cottages, a private beach, forest, trails, orchard, gardens, gift shop, Retreat Centre (with wi-fi) and the Falling Water Spa. Each cabin has one bedroom with queen bed and down duvets, a slate bathroom, granite & hardwood kitchen, living room with vaulted ceiling and cozy wood burning fireplace plus a large deck with breathtaking views of pristine Kootenay Lake and the soaring Purcell mountains. Located just 5 minutes north of picturesque Kaslo, Wing Creek Resort offers easy access to world class hiking, kayaking, white water rafting, hot springs and many other outdoor activities. Or simply relax in unspoiled Nature. We are never crowded and specialize in private vacations for two - and honeymoons! Discover the REAL British Columbia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wing Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wing Creek Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing