We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb peaceful location. Terrific value with excellent breakfast.”
Review of Lower House B&B

Lower House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adforton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Adforton B&B and Inns
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb peaceful location. Terrific value with excellent breakfast.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

2 night stay in this large roomy house surrounded by very private and peaceful gardens and knowing you are deep into Shropshire countryside. Lovely large bedroom and bathroom and attractive large lounge for B and B guests available. Anne and Bill the perfect hosts - there when needed and with quiet but very organsied approach.Anne prepared to do evening meals but pubs not far away. However, best to check them out for your own tastes.

Room Tip: Check with Anne/Bill availability of double or twin rooms. All rooms will be very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2013

What can we say other than a stunning, welcoming B & B property with excellent 4 individual rooms (plus 2 more in the annex).

We chose this place as the base for our twice yearly walking weekend get together with 3 other couples and were not disappointed in any way. Lemon drizzle cake and tea/coffee on arrival Friday and all made to feel totally at home in the spacious lounge. Breakfasts cooked to order and although all 8 of us had something different combination (salmon and scrambled egg was the wife's favourite) both mornings all 8 plates were served within a couple of minutes of each other - and piping hot. Ann appears to be in charge 'front of house' but sure the rest of the family was involved throughout 'behind the scenes'. Excellent walking from the house or many other walks from Bucknell (see Bucknell walkers website) Dined in on the Saturday night for a fixed price and the food was exellently cooked, hot and wonderfully presented. The home made marmalade bread and butter pudding was superb - so good I had 3 helpings!

Steeped in history (4 centuries back) and clean, tidy and immaculately maintained we would recommend to anyone, young or old. If you go it is more easily approached from the north side B road rather directly form the village of Adforton - a much shorter route in - beware the lane is very narrow!

Thanks Ann for making our weekend so memorable - we wish you every ongoing success in your beautiful B & B.

John Barbara from Lancashire (Yorkshire exiles) and the other 6 from Yorkshire - well done!!

Room Tip: All rooms were large and pleasant - we chose the one with its own stone inglenook fireplace - althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbarb57_jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

A tranquil, comfortable and homely house with excellent accommodation and hospitality. It has great access to the beautiful countryside of Herefordshire and Shropshire. To ease finding the house it is marked and named on the OS map. The location is convenient for those who wish to explore the Heart of Wales line, use the Hereford to Shrewsbury line or explore west into Wales to Aberyswyth and the Cambrian Coast. Strongly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hayfever640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Recently stayed at the Lower House. We were accommodated in the Stables, a separate building that is pet friendly and a few steps from the main house. Very pleasant accommodation, and a welcoming host who cooked a nice evening meal for us the first night and advised us on all places to visit. The weather was poor when we were there, which was a pity as the countryside looked lovely. We had an excellent evening meal in The Lion hotel in the nearby village of Leintwardine. I would recommend Lower House B+B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogyoungone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Lower House B+B is near Leintwardine in Herefordshire but still close to Ludlow in Shropshire. It was hard to find but when we eventually found it, it was worth the effort. Mrs Brandrick (?) is very friendly and welcoming and cooks a wonderful full English breakfast. The house is very English...lots of wooden beams, antique furniture and a massive fire-place in the breakfast room. Ask at Ludlow Tourist Information to book you in there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkyMark58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lower House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower House B&B

Property: Lower House B&B
Address: Adforton, Leintwardine SY7 0NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine > Adforton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Adforton
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing