We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place on the Most Beautiful Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Place on the Most Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Last year (xmas - New Years) our family of 10 came down to La Manzanilla to visit a friend. After a long search through Boutique Hotels of Mexico, we discovered Chanti Mare which opened the week we were to arrive.

What a gem. A wonderful family has opened their home as a small boutique hotel right on the most beautiful beach - a long crescent shaped white sand beach. The rooms were modern and with A/C and everything worked. Right outside is the pool and thatched palapa open air restaurant and bar, with the most amazing inventive food.

Chef Greg, originally from Canada, is helping the family establish the restaurant from his home base in Guadalajara. We had margaritas and fresh guacamole every afternoon, and then the most incredible dinners - fresh grilled lobster, fish, mexican dishes, curries - amazing.

The family has a vision and cares about their guests in a way that is so unusual in this day and age.

A perfect place to stay, especially for extended family vacations or a group of friends, when you can basically have the entire place to yourself.

Only wishing we had returned this Winter!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaGuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Perhaps it is cheating to write a review, because I live in La Manzanilla, but I can't go a week without a long walk down the beach to Chantli Mare for a day in the "care" of Roberto and Ibett and their wonderful staff, all of whom treat you like a friend. The food and service are excellent, and the ocean view is out of this world. (Some day I will actually sleep there, but I have seen the lovely rooms.) I couldn't recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Boutique Hotel is awesome and the owners cannot do enough for you!It is so clean,rooms are beautifully decorated and the rooms have an amazing view of the ocean.The chef Greg serves up meals you will find no where in Mexico.The presentation over the top.Iam still trying to come back to life after spending 5 days there.We didn't leave without booking for next year and longer.This Hotel is so worth the money and you will not stop talking about your experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was our third time at this beautiful spot. This time only for a quick refreshment (ice cold beer) at the end of our walk along the beautiful beach from La Manzanilla. We had a great chit chat with the very friendly owners and plan on going back soon for music and a first class sunset dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinnear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is well worth looking for! A small boutique hotel on one of the most spectacular beaches in Mexico. A great destination for a few days away from the world, or for a meal and a walk on the beach. Beautifully done, hosted by the very friendly family who converted their family cottage into this beautiful retreat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank don042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca de Iganas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Today we had a world class 5 star lunch at an obscure little restaurant on the Mexican pacific coast in Boca de Iguanas...part of the Inn by the Sea...Chantl Mare. Chef Greg is a reason to run, walk, swim or fly to this restaurant. As major foodies who have been searching for superior cuisine up and down the Costa Alegre this is the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Every course was spectacular...a work of art and so tasty we can't wait to go back

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Becci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner here Feb 2013. An evening with great food(5 star), conversations with the owners and chef and Spanish guitar instrumentals.Didn't stay overnight but a tour of the rooms showed as 5 star as well. Located on a beautiful stretch of beach. Hope to repeat the experience in 2014!

Room Tip: Book early, there are but 6 rooms. A very cosy resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozette and Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Manzanilla
16.9 mi away
Costa Careyes
Costa Careyes
#2 of 2 in Careyes
78 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
11.1 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#8 of 11 in Barra de Navidad
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Las Arenas
Las Arenas
#1 of 4 in Melaque
41 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 11 in Barra de Navidad
76 reviews
11.4 mi away
Grand Isla Navidad Resort
Grand Isla Navidad Resort
#1 of 3 in Isla Navidad
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea

Property: Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea
Address: Camino a Boca de Iguanas Km 2.2, La Manzanilla 48898, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > La Manzanilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Manzanilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing