We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Review of Alegre Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Manzanilla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alegre Mar
Qualicum beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This little get-away is what you dream of as that special experience type vacation. It is located right in the heart of the small village of La Manz and situated on the beach which is 3 miles of flat sand. It is surrounded by a variety of restaurants, grocery stores and all the conveniences needed for a magical experience. One of the real treats is "Landlady Kate" who adds her special touch by keeping you informed of current activities in neighbouring towns and villages. All 3 of her suites interact if desired and the result is new friends worth sharing the good times. Things must be good as our visits over each of the past 6 years have ranged from stays of 2 to 6 weeks.
Cheryl and Al from Qualicum Beach BC

Room Tip: If you want a great time - stay here at least 2 weeks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We loved staying right on the beach in this lovely, roomy, clean, and beautifully decorated home on the beach. It was more than we usually spend, but we're glad we did. Kate could not have been more welcoming or accomodating. Her pure joy regarding her life in Mexico enlivened our stay.
The people who we met in the town...Mexicans, Canadians, Dutch, from the US...all were open to connections. The townspeople were patient with our butchered Spanish, even though many could speak English better than we could speak Spanish. The beach is narrow, but good for a long walk. Ocean swimming was wonderful, as was ocean kayaking in calm morning waters. Having a kitchen meant we could eat out once a day, and yet have wonderful fresh Mexican food, including blended fruit drinks thanks to Kate's blender.
It was a long bus ride from Puerto Vallarta, but half as expensive to fly there than to close-by Manzanillo. Enjoy! But save room for us to return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank begladwhenigetthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My wife and I spent three lovely days at Alegre Mar. Kate has such a beautiful home and the apartments are very nice and large with terraces right on the beach. There are only two or three apartments, so it doesn't feel like a hotel. Internet was fast and reliable and the signal was strong in our bedroom (the one bedroom apartment). Kate and her guests were very friendly and all the people we met in La Manzanilla were very warm and easy to get to know. We really loved the town and would love to go back soon. The fish and chips at Yolanda's down the street is awesome, by the way. A full kitchen, big bottled water dispenser and - most importantly - a nice drip coffee maker made out stay a joy. People come back here year after year and we can undertand why. Thanks Kate! - Chris and Marion

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nolatraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Took a quick trip to La Manzanilla with no where to stay. By chance we ran in to the owner of the Alegre Mar and asked if there was place. Beautiful place, nicely decorated, plenty of space, and very well located right in town and on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Connell, CA
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Alegre Mar was recommended to us by friends who live i Mexico and it was an excellent choice. The apartments are right on the beach, with a patio and grassy area, beach chairs and shade, and water toys. An excelllent value.
The owner/host was available but not intrusive, and a great help at helping us find anything we needed in this great beach town.
LaManzanilla is a small village, but a tourism center for Mexicans, Canadians and folks from the US. If you want to explore any distance, a rental car is nice. But if you just want a beach front apartment, with plenty of places to eat out and things to do in the area, this works. Or you can do nothing at all and enjoy it.
This is not a RockResort, incidentally. If you want hot and cold running servants, look elsewhere. But for a really nice beachfront place to vacation, this can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shlamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2007

We have just returned from a great vacation at the Pacific Coast of Mexico. Of all the beatiful places we have seen one stood out: the little village of La Manzanilla, app. 60 km north of Manzanillo.

This is a relatively undiscovered, secluded and very romantic little beach village at the gorgeous Tenacatita Bay. The place we stayed at is called "ALGRE MAR", a private pension with three apartements, owned by an American, Kate Fisher. We were very lucky to find the place - we had no reservations but instantly fell in love with the village. Walking down the beach, we decided to stop for a drink at little palapa restaurant. The owner of the restaurant was able to refer us to Kate and we got the gorgeous one-bedroon apartment right on the beach.

The place is VERY clean (which is not always the case with places in Mexico), has a fully equipped kitchen, a comfortable bed, a big living room and a terace that opens to the beach. You can see the most amazing sunsets right from your terace! You can get breakfast, lunch and dinner at any of the bars and restaurants at the beachfront or in the village.

La Manzanilla is luckily still a very quiet village with only a bunch of small restaurants and bars. For those of you who need late night action, discotheques etc., this is not the right choice for a vacation. But it is the perfect romantic getaway place and ideal for people who like to take long strolls on the beach, dive and snorkle, take trips with the sea kayak, and so on. We will surely return.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Superpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Manzanilla
136.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Tonala
Hotel Posada Tonala
#1 of 1 in La Manzanilla
8 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Guadalajara Express
3.3 mi away
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Sol
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mi Pueblito
Hotel Mi Pueblito
#3 of 4 in Tonala
12 reviews
136.4 mi away
Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea
Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea
#1 of 5 in La Manzanilla
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegre Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegre Mar

Property: Alegre Mar
Address: Tenacatita Bay, La Manzanilla, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > La Manzanilla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Manzanilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing