We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of contamination of parasites cutaneous larvae migrans of the resort beaches.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Be aware of contamination of parasites cutaneous larvae migrans of the resort beaches.”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed in the resort in nov 2013. During out stay we noticed cats walking on the property of the resort especially around beach area - Sunset cove beach. 2 out of 5 of us contracted parasitic infection by just walking on the beach. This problem was reported on this site before but it looks like the management of the resort doesnt care about safety of their guests. I sent an email to corporate office before posting on this forum but received no response.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bobddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,089
    1,600
    685
    375
    246
See reviews for
1,382
2,381
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have just returned today from our holiday and we had an amazing time. The hotel was always very clean and the grounds are wonderful.

The staff were all very friendly and we will certainly miss Clive (casino bar) and Kimberley (buffet resturant) they truly looked after us.

I would highly recommend the catamaran trip that leaves the hotel, the crew were very informative and we had an amazing time, wish we had done it in our first week as we would have done it again in our second!

Please check out the Jamaica show in the theatre it is amazing! The cast work really hard.

My only negative point is that the air con in the sports bar definatley needs to be on as it was way to hot in there and we would have liked to spend more time in there.

We hope to return some time soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiverpoolHotChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear LiverPoolHotChick:

I have read your feedback and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. We are indeed happy to know that you had a great time and that you enjoyed the facility.

We appreciate the time and effort you have taken to share your comments as this is one of the ways in which we improve out products and services.

Again, thank you for choosing Grand Palladium and we look forward for your return visit in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Well this was our wedding, It was our first time south and we chose the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton resort in Lucea Jamaica. It was wonderful. The pool was beautiful, the beaches were small compared to what I am used to but still very nice. One of the beaches *coral beach* had THE BEST snorkeling, and let me tell you I was a little nervous of the water, considering the size of the waves but at coral beach the waves were minimal. We saw crabs, fish of various sorts, sting rays (smaller in size). Everything was fairly clean, there was one incident with a little bit of mold growing on the couch but when it was mentionned to staff they had it cleaned. The food at the buffet was terrific, did not even really have to go to any of the sit down restaurants unless you really wanted to. Our wedding day turned out spectacular, everything was just right ! A bit shout out to OMESHIA she is wonderful and I hope she enjoyed our canadian gifts LOL! We took most of our family since it was our wedding and everyone enjoyed the trip tremendously. They had activities everyday, from beach volleyball, to competitions, to performances. I would definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: It depends on what you are looking for, but if it is a romantic getaway I would choose the ones that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Carolyn B:

We have read your reviews and we are delighted to know that you had a great time while you were here on your very special occasion. We are very happy that you found our staff to be warm and friendly and that the service and facility was to your expectations. Rest assured that your positive comments will be shared with our staff in particular Omeshia.

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your reviews and we really look forward to hosting you on your next vacation in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We just came back from GP LH and I would like to write a review while it all fresh in my memory.

We went with two boys age 7 and 11. Overall it was a good experience, and we all enjoyed it.

Service

Check-in/Check-out was fast, we bought an upgrade to ocean view suite, and it was worth it. (just $10 per night). What was different from all other places - no "walk by" drink service. if you want a drink - you need to go and get it yourself. (at least by main pool area) On the other side - no pushy "photo/massage" people.

Buffet service could be much better. It was common to see half of the tables empty (not ready) and 10 - 15 people standing in line. Drinks were served by the waiters and if you want a refill it could be good 10 minutes until anyone comes to your table. It is common for your area waiter to serve a table next to you, and quickly walk away without even looking toward your table.

Activities center by the pool was excellent. On time and very funny. My kids enjoyed darts, and bingo games.

Mini bar service can be improved a lot. for family of 4 we were getting 2 bottles of water a day, two beers and 4 small sodas. Twice we noticed that soda was past the date printed on the bottle. you cannot get a bottle of water anywhere else except buying it in gift shop. We repeatedly asked for more water in mini bar, but it never happened.

Sleep Quality

We had no problems with beds or pillows - but I guess it is a personal preference.

Cleanliness

Overall it is a pretty clean place, indoor and outdoor. One note to room cleaning people - it would not hurt to clean under the bed once in a while. When I get down to retrieve a ball my kids dropped behind the bed - I noticed one of the previous guest forgotten sandal under the bed.

Rooms

Rooms are very nice: plenty of storage space, large bathrooms. Never had problems with water pressure or hot water. (except once). A nice change from other places we stayed before.

Food

Since it was not the 1st visit to Jamaica - food was what to be expected. Beef/Pork usually overcooked and Fish/Chicken was excellent. Very good salads and side dishes.

You can always ask chefs to cook it the way you like it, and a small tip will increase their cooking skill too :)

Entertainment

All the shows were very nice, my kids did not want to leave which is a good indicator that they were not bored.

Souvenirs/shopping

There some local sellers set up their tables twice a week, you can bargain but to a certain degree. prices were same or sometime more expensive for the same items we saw at the airport when we were leaving. If you smoke - bring extra packs with you - gift shop price is us$13 per pack.

Misc.

Bring rubber shoes as there plenty of rocks in the water (except sunset cove beach)

Water is very warm and calm - no waves (at least during our stay)

WiFi: Free in the lobby paid everywhere else. best rate is $70 per 7 days. connection speed up to .5 MB down and .15MB up. Can be unavailable for 10-20 minutes at a time.

Cell: I bought LIME sim card for my unlocked iphone, and voice/data connection was descent.

Water toys: bring you own - they are super expensive in the gift shop.

Room Tip: Villa 32, 2nd or 3rd floor ocean view room. It in between sunset cove beach and reception/main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve__1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Steve_1047:

We have read your reviews and we are delighted to know that you and your family had a great time while you were here. We are very happy to know that the overall facility was to your personal liking. Rest assured that your positive comments will be shared with our staff.

We do regret and apologize for the challenges you encountered in particular with the mini bar and other areas of service. We want to reassure you that on your next vacation with us it will be nothing but complete satisfaction.

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your reviews and we really look forward to hosting you on your next vacation in the near future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

LIKES

The flight was a two part flight going from starting point to Miami and then connecting to Montego Bay if you aren’t lucky enough to go straight through. Then you pick up your private transportation to the resort which as mentioned is about 30 minutes to the resort. The Lobby was very spacious and amazing with a scent of lemon grass. I know it was lemon grass because I asked and believe me I’ll be looking for that diffuser or candle for my own home. Now, there are two lobby’s, one is the Jamaican side and the other is the Hamilton side. The receptionist will help you now matter what side you belong on. We were brought into the Jamaican side even though our Villa was on the Hamilton side. We asked for a room with a view of the Ocean and for $50 more we were able to get it. Not only did we get it, we got it an hour before check in time which was 3pm and we were there a little before two. Once checked in, the bellman gets your luggage, puts in on a golf cart and takes you to your Villa. Along the way, he’ll tell you what’s what…for instance which buildings house the restaurants, spas, stores, etc. He showed us how to get to the beach and pool areas as there is a smaller pool (the adult pool) for those who wish to tan in the buff. Once in our rooms, he’ll let you know that if you keep a key in the switch by the door, it keeps your electricity on. They are very conservative about that. The Villas are made up of either Jr. Suites, Suites or Bungalows. We had a Suite which was a living room area with balcony and a bedroom area with balcony. Both of which were very clean as well as the bathroom which had a lovely jacuzzi in it made for two. There was also a window in the bathroom which was great for natural lighting if you so choose. About 15 minutes of being in the room there was a knock on the door and that was the maid to check on us and let us know about the turn down service. About 10 minutes after that was another knock and that was a guy with champagne and a fruit platter as well as a chocolate platter. Who could say no to that. The rooms were up kept very well during our entire stay. The food was great and quite a selection for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner in the Negril Buffet and there are 7 à la carte restaurants to choose from. There’s also the Mobay Buffet which is a smaller version of the Negril Buffet. You go on your own accord without reservations. The staff was very organized and friendly, and very laid back. It’s an all-inclusive resort so that means all you can eat and drink and the drinks were not, I repeat, were not watered down. All in all the resort is clean, safe and very accommodating.

DISLIKES

With the good, there is always the not so good. I’ll start with the mini bar. It only comes with only two bottles of water per day. These are not gallon sized bottles but the regular 16 oz bottle. Do Jamaican’s not sweat???? When you are in 90 degree weather and have been in the sun and drinking all day, water is a necessity. And then when you ask for it, it takes an hour and a half for it to get to your room. We called the lobby 3 times for water and eventually the bell boy brought it. It’s must be made of gold for as long as it took for it to arrive.

The Sports Bar and Grill. Big problem. This is supposed to be open at least until 3 in the morning, but don’t go there thinking you are going to get what’s on the menu. They always seem to be out of this or that. They are no very well stocked on foods and then when you switch to ask for something else, they don’t have that either. It was huge disappointment.

The gift shop. If there’s two lobby’s shouldn’t there be two gift shops??? You would think so, but there’s only one. It was stocked very well but again there’s only one and it closes at 9:30. What’s wrong with being open at least until 11pm.



That’s really the only dislikes. Vacations are what you make of them and if I had to rate this on a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being the highest, I’d give it an 8.5. If it weren’t for the dislikes it would get a 10. The landscaping was very well up kept and the food was amazing. Would I go back..absolutely? The atmosphere was amazing and everyone was tipping. Tipping will get you anything. Like I said, a vacation is what you make of it. If you go looking for problems you’ll find them, but if you go looking for fun and relaxation, that will definitely outweigh the problems. Go and Enjoy.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a particular view....just ask. But water in the shops to keep your room bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Angella W:

Thank you for taking the time out to share your reviews with us. We are extremely happy to know that you had a great time and that regardless of the challenges you will consider a return visit.

We sincerely regret that you had challenges with the Sports and Mini Bar however we assure that these concerns will be brought to the attention of the manager in charge and we will ensure that there is no repeat of such a situation.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your comments. We do hope that you will visit with us soon so that you will enjoy the vacation you desire.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berry, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Incredible is all I can say. This place is not only breathtakingly beautiful, but everything about is was incredible. Hydrotherapy at the spa...wonderfully relaxing & gorgeous at night! Food at the specialty restaurants were fabulous; Buffets were good as buffets go...breakfast was very good. And we went to Miss Lou's coffee shop A LOT! Incredible coffee, little Sammie's & pasteries were delish. Not a fan of the sports bar but burger was OK for quick meal. Not impressed with nightly shows, but not to worry, just go up to the Infinity Bar and enjoy the live band and dancing! It was terrific. If you want to leave the resort, for any reason, even a tour...use the personal 'cab' service..go to left at top of steps in main lobby. They are superior, you can have private service &'go where you want, stay as long as you want and it is to as expensive as those group trips. We loved the individual little beaches & coves, vs one large crowded one. We loved all the places to walk, explore & enjoy. Enjoy...it's an amazing place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaBerry_Kentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear AnnaBerry:

It is indeed a pleasure reading your reviews on your recent vacation with us. We are extremely happy to know that your found the overall facility and service to be of your personal liking. We make every effort to ensure that our guests have the vacation they desire.

Your feedback is very important to us as this is one of the ways we grow and improve our products and services.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you on a return visit in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Awesome vacation from start to finish. This was my first trip to Jamaica, my husband's 3rd (first time at this resort) I can honestly say there is nothing about the resort I can say anything bad about. The hotel was one of the cleanest I have been to (restrooms cleaned hourly) All but one staff member truly embraced their jobs with joy and friendliness (Genevieve in the Steakhouse a la carte - if you are not happy with your life at GP you have the power to change that we could really tell you were only going through the motions during our time with you)

We tried all but one of the a la cartes (Mexican was closed) while all of them were great our favorite was the Jamaican cuisine. I had the best strip loin steak ever, cooked to perfection. Service was impeccable at all the a la cartes.

The staff at the hotel try their best at keeping guests entertained. There is always something going on somewhere, whether you are in the sports bar, infinity bar, or watching the nightly entertainment. The hotel seems to have a great program for the kids as well. Shout out to Michael and crew at the infinity bar - you made our evenings more enjoyable

We tried everything at the resort, between the water sports area, to infinity pool, all 3 beaches, the adult pool, had a great time wherever we were.

And yes the jerk chicken at the hut on sunset cove beach is to die for (get there early before the run out for the day)

All in all a great vacation to a beautiful island with very friendly people mon. We will definitely be returning someday

Room Tip: We were in building 36 which was pretty central to everthing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mckshaw1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Mckshaw1218:

We are delighted to receive your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Grand Palladium Resort & Spa.

Your comments regarding the service and the over facility was well appreciated and in particular all the staff who made your stay very special. Rest assured that we will share these comments with them as this encourages them to continue to offer the impeccable service and maintain the Palladium standard.

Again, we thank you for the time you have taken to write to us and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
13.5 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,483 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
13.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,338 reviews
44.6 mi away
Melia Braco Village
Melia Braco Village
#1 of 1 in Rio Bueno
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Address: Building 27, Lucea 8800, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is bathed by the calm turquoise waters of Jamaica's north coast, in a small bay on a privileged enclave on the coast. The design is a perfect harmony between modernand luxurious facilities of a first class hotel and the attractive natural environment of the area characterized by the turquoise sea and the relief of the landscape. The complexalso houses an ultramodern Spa, which is equipped with the most advanced facilities and offers guests a wide variety of therapies and services. Near the village of Lucea and approximately 30 minutes from Montego Bay and its airport. Within the complex is theGrand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa has a total of 540 guestrooms in 15 villas ofthree levels with 6 Suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa. The Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa has a total of 516 rooms distributed in 13 villas of three levels with 6 suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa and 48 two-story cabins with 4 cabins suites (adults only) each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Jamaica/Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing