We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Palladium Nov 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Certificate of Excellence
Orono, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grand Palladium Nov 2013”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We love going and overall had a wonderful time. I was not thrilled with the beach it was impossible to swim the rocks were too sharp and hard to walk on beach as they were small and crowded too, often had litter that wasn't picked up from days before. The pool amazing when kids didn't poop in it. The staff overall were fantastic although I noticed the drivers of the carts did not ask people if they wanted rides to the Lobby/pools etc they often passed people with children and seniors who could have used a ride. The entertainment staff was great until Friday night when they started asking people for money which was rude and out of place I felt, we tip even though it is all inclusive, the maids, the wait staff drivers but the entertainment staff??? This left a bad impression. The rooms were clean and the spa was one of the best I have been too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Kathleen B:

We have read your reviews and we are delighted to know that you had a great time while you were vacationing with us at Grand Palladium.

We sincerely regret that our Cart Drivers did not assist where necessary, however provision is being made with additional carts to provide this service in the near future. It is also disappointing to learn of the situation with the entertainment staff asking for money as this is totally unacceptable.

However, we are happy to know that you did enjoy your vacation with us and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,482
    2,066
    1,010
    564
    483
See reviews for
2,064
2,663
61
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,819)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My family and I were returning for another Thanksgiving vacation, but brought along some new friends. As always it was a fantastic trip. The entertainment staff is what really makes this hotel stand out from all the others. They are always smiling, make you feel welcome instantly, and are so talented! It was great to see some of our favorites still there: Honey, Happy, Buttercup etc. and found some great additions to the team as well. I was really impressed to see the changes to the evening shows- everything from dancing, to fire breathing, singing, and aerial ribbon dancing. Another great new feature was Jamaica day when local vendors come on property, a steel drum band plays after the show, the evening performance follows the history of Jamaican music and culture, and even the restaurant staff gets into the theme. Can't wait to go back! We loved it from our very first trip there and it keeps getting better and better!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniBell_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear DaniBell_1:

It was indeed a pleasure reading your reviews and we are extremely delighted to know that you had a wonderful time with us.

Your positive feedback regarding our entertainment team will be shared with them and i am sure they too will feel satisfied that they were able to make your vacation a fulfilling one.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments and we look forward to hosting you on your next vacation in a fine Palladium style.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Well this was my fourth time here, unexpectedly first 3 days were for a business conference but turned out to be good as despite not being a popular business setting property the arrangements were well done. As usual the property is one of the biggest in Jamaica and offers multiple activities and entertainment. Staff was very accommodating as we requested for a ocean front room which was done with care. Good to comeback always !! Spa is fabulous as well

Room Tip: property villas 13,14,15,16,17 are towards ocean view side, if with kids prefer near the lobby to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pariluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Pariluna:

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your reviews with us. We are very happy to know that even though your visit was short and was more of business, you did enjoy the facility and staff service.

We hope that next time around you will be vacationing with us so that you will be given a better opportunity to relax and enjoy the full Palladium service.

Again, we thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to hosting you on your next vacation.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

GREAT VACATION We vacationed with two other couples on 11/2/13 for a week and it was the first time for all of us in Jamaica. We were welcomed with Rum Punch drinks and checked in with no problems, other than is was raining so we decided to have another cocktail and see if the rain let up. We were taken to our building (#13 great location), showed into our rooms and all of our luggage was carried in for us.

Rooms- The rooms were clean and well set up, yes the pillows were hard like other people have said, but the beds were comfortable and after leaving a note to add more water to our refrigerator it was well stocked every day. You have to remember that a dollar goes a long way toward great service. We left a dollar every day for the maid and also one in the fridge. The showers were great plenty of hot water and pressure.

Food - The food was good and plentiful. You have to try out the Jamaican Creole Restaurant I think that ended up being my favorite and we ate there twice. Service was excellent at all of the restaurants. Buffets were good, but we only ate there for breakfast and usually ate at the one that was over the main pool. Again, yes there were birds flying around, but you are outside and it seems that people do not know enough not to feed the birds so yes they did bother some people, but if this is not for you then eat at the inside buffet. Jerk Hut was GREAT!!! A must try!!!!!

Went to all the pools and bars of which there are a lot they were all clean and fun. Must try out the adult spa pool. We spent just about every afternoon there after we had spent all morning and early afternoon in the sun. Wow, wish I was back there now!!! Drinks to try, of course Rum Punch, Dirty Banana, Bahama Momma and don't forget to try at least one shot. Each bartender seemed to have their favorite drink and shot.

Service - Can't say enough good about the people that we had waiting on us. Everyone was so friendly and more than happy to do anything for you. For those people we have complained about the workers being unfriendly or rude, I would say that perhaps you get what you give. We did have two waitress in the infinity bar that were not all that pleasant, but we just got up and moved and did not leave a tip. Certainly would not make me say that the people were rude.

If you are thinking about taking a day trip off the resort I would say check in with Ever Ready who is one of the cab drivers that are available at the Resort and are located right at the main entrance. We all went to Rick's Cafe and made other stops along the way had a great time for a very low price and did a lot of laughing. Would highly recommend this.

A lot of people complain about the walking, we really didn't think that it was that big of a deal. You can walk from one end of the Resort to the other, where Sun Set Beach is in maybe 15 mins. if that. With all the food and alcohol consumption the walking was GREAT!!!


We would go to Jamaica again and we would stay at this Resort. Had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Building #13 was great. Right across from one of the pools and a bar also very short walk to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliveChocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Greetings! Thank you for taking the time out to leave your review. We are always grateful to receive feedback about our service as we work hard to assure our guests have memorable vacation experiences.We are most grateful for your comments regarding the restaurants, food, pool and staff.
Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to hearing from you, if there is anything at all we can do feel free to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We met Rushel (smiley) as she posed at the pastry display when she was covered in chocolate. She was pleasant and charming the next morning when we saw her and called her Ms Chocolate, We took pic and after that she was our friend for the rest of our trip. She is so pleasant and caring to the guest that I now plan to take our entire family there next thanksgiving. People like Rushel makes us want to return to the Palladium.

We met other crew member who went out of their way to be pleasant I will just mention a few---Puggy great exercise class and just overall pleasant and helpful. Foxxy what a wonderful person personable and forever smiling. They make our trip along with the others unforgettable. Ya man.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Kitty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear 100Kitty51,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the competent service received from our staff. We will be sure to pass your kind words to those which you have mentioned in your review.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was my first real vacation & I traveled with a few friends to celebrate my divorce. I staied a week & I must say it was GREAT. I was a littled worried based on the other reviews I read before traveling. The resort was BEAUTIFUL, the rooms were great, and the majority of the staff was friendly. Like with anything there are pros & cons, there were one or two staff that wasn't as friendly as others but I did not allow that to effect my trip. The night shows were funny (you had to laugh to sit through it) but they did their best to try to entertain the guests.

Side note: if you do any excurions try the Mayfield tour its a water fall & it was rugged but it was fun and the tour guides were the best. Word of advise do not change your currency, they prefer US dollar and chaniging at the airport is a rip off.

Take extra money for tips. The minimum wage there is $50 per week and the residents really depend on the tips to maintain.

Negatives -
~Beds are hard
~Breakfast is the same every day & food was barely hot... since I LOVE food this bothered me a bit but overall everything was great.

Room Tip: You have access to both sides of the resort (Jamaica & Lady Hamilton), they are the same resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4everhisnum1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Accommodations Director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear 4everhisnum1fan,

First at all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Grand Palladium Resort and Spa, and for having chosen Grand Palladium as a destination for your “Finally Free 2013” vacation. In the name of Mr. Jose Morgan Hotel Manager, we would like to express how delighted we are to read that your stay was “GREAT” and that our resort was “BEAUTIFUL”.

Our main goal is turning vacations into a memorable holiday. As it relates to the “cons” that is with our beds being hard, I am sorry that you felt this way as our beds are all fully padded. I am also sorry to know that you did not enjoy our delicious meals/breakfast prepared by some of the best Chefs in the Caribbean.

Finally, we would be glad to welcome you back again; please do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.

Kindest regards,

Ingrid Slater
Assistant Accommodations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A weekend appeared far too long to stay here. Expectations were high based on their information, but don't be fooled, the hotel is ran down and their service leaves much to be desired.:
1. There's no clear welcome or precise information upon arrival
2. Front desk staff did not appear competent in answering simple questions. They were not friendly or accommodating.
3. There was a rat race to check in at three! In addition to this, there were not enough taxis to take to your rooms- rat race again!
4. After being frustrated to get to your room, room was musty and many amenities missing, no shampoo, wash cloths, towels, floor towels. There was not a prompt response to get items. Had to wait for an extended period for some whilst others came the following days.
5. Bathroom and floors were also not very clean
6. Food: Indian restaurant's food was dull. Wait time was also way too long. Again staff were not accommodating. The wait was not worth it as the food was not good! Buffet was okay but the wait for seating was again way too long. Waitresses at the buffet were better than those at the al la carte restaurant's but appeared overworked.
7. Hotel was overall unclean, the floors and Windows at the villas were in need of good soap and water
8. Admittedly, the pools were however clean and the beaches were fun. There was however limited water a activities, only one paddle boat a few kayaks, one catamaran! The staff at the water sports were good, I guess it was because there were hired by another company.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wasnotworthit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Accommodations Assistant Director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Warm greetings,

On behalf of the Grand Palladium Resorts and Spa, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. At the same time, you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.

Please be assured that comments like yours are helpful to us in evaluating our service, with a view to addressing issues. We would be grateful to host you again, to show you our usual warm hospitality and service standard, as the experience you had is not typical of our guests.

Best regards,
Ingrid Slater
Accommodations Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
22.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,440 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,988 reviews
25.6 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing