We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This property really is Grand. It's a beautiful place to stay and relax. There are some issues with air conditioning but after speaking to people that stayed at other resorts, this seems to be a Jamaica wide issue. My wife and I traveled july20-july28 and it was pretty warm but we learned that taking plenty of warm showers helps you feel cool when you get out. The accommodations were beautiful and the property itself is really awesome.
We stayed on the "Jamaica" side of the property and wish I knew to stay on the "lady hamilton" side as this is the side of the property that offers 3 different beaches and all the free (for all inclusive customers) activities like snorkling, kayaking, paddle boating, paddle boarding.
Aside from the big pool in the middle of both properties by the lobby, which is supposed to be the biggest pool in Jamaica, both sides offer smaller, but still very nice pools. The lady hamilton side is more of an adult area, as they offer a topless optional sunbathing. So if you have kids that might not be for you.
There are lots of restaurants and bars that were pretty good and serve different types of food, but you need to make sure you carry your information card given to you upon check in because it's kinda difficult to remember what times restaurants are closed and open. We never experienced bad service, food, or drinks, despite having read several reviews about it.
Our stay was great and I if you're not much for soaking up the local scene, I definitely recommend this resort. If you want more local attractions I'd recommend staying somewhere in either Montego Bay or Nigril.

Room Tip: try to stick by the main pool because this property is very big and walking a lot it's the great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pete_E_of_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Pete_E_of_SA,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent vacation here with us. We appreciate your positive comments and we are pleased to read about the wonderful time and experiences that you have had.

As a 5 Star Resort we pride ourselves in the level of service which we provide to our guests. It is important that our guests have a grand vacation and it is great to know that you enjoyed all that we have to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future for another vacation nothing short of Grand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,114 - 3,120 of 7,027 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

When we arrived, there was a line for check - in and some people were waiting on rooms. However, I had emailed ahead and made specific room request and our rooms were already off to the side and ready to go. The resort is beautiful and the rooms for very nice and spacious.

We had a party of 10 and 4 out of 5 rooms had that damp smell. But it's the islands. We did have an issue that the bathroom sink was dirty when we arrived, but they came to clean it immediately. We did have a few ants in our bathroom, but nothing too annoying. The lights, air or fridge won't stay on without a key card in the wall; so we got an extra one and left it in there.

The food was good; however, the waitstaff are DEFINITELY on "Island Time". This was the experience on and off the resort; they move very leisurely. So please don't be in a rush; leave your city mentality in the US.

The activities and night life were fun and average to good. We had fun, but we are a fun group.

Room Tip: Choose buildings 11, 12, 14, 24, 25 to be close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiceyji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just got back from a 7 day stay at Grand Palladium. My husband and our son were there to celebrate his 18th birthday on July 22. Check in was a complete disaster waiting in long lines with one person at the front desk! Our room a ground floor junior suite, was far away from the lobby and a long walk . The complimentary transportation is difficult to find. If you have walking issues request to be close to the lobby or pool. Our room smelled of mold and room cleanliness really needed improving as did the a/c, very humid in the room, toilet paper holder half hanging in the wall eventually broke and laying on the floor. Towels are hard to come by. We requested a room change to Lady Hamilton 2nd floor This room smelled more moldy than the first room and was very humid and had uncomfortable beds and it was difficult to sleep. I agree with other reviews service was horrible. It seemed like an effort to get a "good morning" or a smile out of the staff. The gift shop was the worse they act like they are doing you a favor to be open. A couple of bright spots - The best restaurants were Bubbas steak house Carlton our waiter was very nice but get there when they open at 5:30pm or forget it. The Italian restaurant was nice but its outside. When we went to the front desk to exchange our sons wristband for a adult one on his birthday the girl at the desk looked bored out of her mind and could not even wish our son happy birthday. Why does the staff have to be rude and ignorant when there is a 60% unemployment rate in Jamaica and they have jobs? The best spot was the beach at Sunset Cove very pretty and clean, the food at the Poseidon restaurant good and the jerk shack was good. The pool at Grand Palladium was nice until Saturday when they decided to have their pool party at the swim up bar .Led by a Jamaican DJ he directed all the young people at the bar to do some nasty stuff I thought I was on spring break in Daytona. It was really embarrassing to be around and not family appropriate at all. The drinks there are just mediocre and the food in the buffets the same. There is nothing much to do at night unless you want to wait for a kiddie stage show at 9:30pm. Mostly people were sitting in the lobby on facebook including us. There is limited a/c anywhere and it was very hot sticky and uncomfortable. I would never go back and if this is what Grand Palladiums are like forget it. You get what you pay for I guess, still no excuse for BAD customer service.

Room Tip: Stay near lobby on Lady Hamilton side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucky4132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear FortsFan:

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us outlining the pros and cons of your vacation experience here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. While we strive for a perfect vacation we sincerely regret any mishap and rest assured that your concerns were not taken lightly.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write to us and share your reviews as this will help us to improve our product and services.

We look forward to your return visit so that we can make it another grand vacation experience.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We got married in October and went here for our honeymoon in January...hotel was beautiful but no elevator to our upper floor room. Faster to walk to lobby for dinner and activities then to get shuttle..shuttle did not come half the times we called so ask for building close to the lobby. Do not come here for nice beach..rocks by the lobby and small "family beach" with not much sun.. Bring water shoes!BESTshows I have ever seen in all the islands except the kids show...left for this. For excursions see the desk below the lady palladium steps..cheaper! Did Dunn's river (just OK) and catamaran which was great! All restaurants we great...loved the Jamaican and Italian. Jerk hut was really good but bees all around and I got stung twice. Drinks were strong..ask for purple rain and Bob Marley!! Staff was very friendly...learn their names and they appreciate it. Pool was beautiful but cold..even had exercise bikes in the water! Would come here again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barb z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear barb z:

We have reviewed your comments and was very delighted to hear about the wonderful time you had while you were here on your honeymoon vacation.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the overall facilities and we will share your comments with our team. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write to us and share your reviews as this will help us to improve our product and services.

We were extremely happy to have served you and we look forward to your return visit on your honeymoon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at Grand Palladium July 19 - 26, 2014. There was a total of 8 of us and we had 3 junior suite rooms. Upon arrival check-in was pretty smooth. When we arrived at our room at 3 p.m., in the day the bell guy noticed we didn't have towels in our room, he said he would take care of it for us. Three calls to front lobby and a personal visit to front lobby and still no towels. We got towels the following day from the maid. No one at front desk offered to assist or seemed liked they cared. Also they only give you one bottle of water a day in your room per person and they tell you not to drink water from the facuet. So much for all inclusive. If you want more water we were told to go to gift shop. Great customer service. They also run out of beach towels everyday. The food is just okay. Mexican restaurant is the worst. The Asian restaurant is really good. The beaches are not very big and the one by the pool is rocky. The big pool is not clean at all, cups sitting everywhere. Overall not great customer service and they don't care if you are not happy. We have been to other all inclusive resorts and it doesn't compare. Spend your money somewhere else and you will be much happier. If they even attempted to accommodate you with the little things or offered to be of assistance would be nice but no such luck.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Tana E:

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. We appreciate the time you have taken to highlight the pros and cons of your vacation experience. However, while we strive for a perfect vacation we sincerely regret any mishap and rest assured that your concerns are not taken lightly. We do apologize for the level of service which you received from our team. We do employ customer service training sessions for our staff and we will see to it that it is enforced more in those areas outlined in your review. We also regret that the dining experience at our restaurants was not to your liking. We do try our best to cater to the needs of our guests by offering a wide variety of menu options, it is unfortunate that none was pleasing to you. Again we must apologize for the unfavorable happenings throughout your stay and will see to it that corrective action is taken to rectify each.

We welcome you to return in the near future to experience the changes that will be made. Thank you for your attention. Please do not hesitate to contact us, if there is anything at all we can do from this end.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here the week of 7/21/2014 and I must admit that I was really apprehensive after reading all the reviews. I even thought about canceling since I did purchase trip insurance. I went anyway and found the trip to be better than what I anticipated.

The best thing about the resort in my opinion is the staff. Everyone was so helpful and nice which really surprised me because the attitude of the staff had many complaints in reviews. The only time I called the front desk was to fix the safe as it kept beeping. Somebody came in less than 5 minutes. The TV in the living room wasn't working and I made a note to call after breakfast but came back after breakfast and it was fixed without me having to call. I never had problems with towels or the restocking of the fridge. Only complaint was one server in the Negril buffet offered to purchase coffee for us but never showed up or called.

The biggest problem of this resort is the overall condition. Our 1 bedroom suite was nice but the floor tiles showed a lot of wear and tear all over. I never walked around the suite without wearing flip flops. Also, the room smelled musty (worse than any Caribbean resort I've been to). The room a/c could have been better but it was cool enough in the living room (bedroom was hot though) and both the living room and bedroom got colder at night that you would need a blanket. I didn't find the bed to be terribly uncomfortable but the mattress on the pull out was definitely hard.

The floor tiles in the common areas also showed a lot of wear and tear. The worst though is the sports bar. Extremely disgusting floor. I didn't even eat here even though it is the only place that has food 24/7 because I was so disgusted.

The main pool is nice but be careful because there are sharp edges on the floor (chipped tiles?) and my son suffered a cut on his foot because of it.

The food is just OK at best. Never went to the steak house as it was always packed. Ate at the Asian, Italian, Mexican place and they were OK. Enjoyed the Jerk Hut but expect bug bites when you venture in that area.

Had a good time but would like to see the resort spruced up a bit. It has potential but needs work. It is only 8 years old I think. It would be scary to think what this place would look like 5 years down the road. Almost forgot, Jamaican coffee is awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Noel S,

Thank you for sharing with us your review. We appreciate the time which you have taken to bring to our attention the pros and cons of your vacation experience here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We do apologize for the mishaps experienced and we will take corrective action to rectify each. It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family of six stayed at this resort July 7-13, 2014. Our first impression was that the resort was very pleasing to the eye. The lobby area was clean and the views were awesome. However, check-in was a nightmare. Our luggage was stacked helter-skelter at the front of the resort in a very unsecure manner. There was no one greeting us with a cold drink as promised. Check-in took over 1.5 hours and our rooms were still not correct. Our reservation was for two rooms in the same building close to the center of the resort due to having our children in a separate room and two of them having asthma. Our initial rooms were 5 buildings apart and I was told by a rude person at the counter that "that's all he had." One of our rooms--the one farthest away, had no working air conditioning. We were finally able to move the children one building away on the third day of our stay.
The pool--very large and pretty. Martin and Omar at the pool bar were phenomenal, but the pool itself was very dirty and littered at times.
The Beach--not a great beach for building sand castles and playing with small children, but sunset cove was beautiful and secluded. The all-inclusive watersports were disappointing as there were limited vessels and no staff supervising the operation.
The restaurants--the specialty restaurants were disappointing. They all have basically the exact same menu with an ethnic flair. For example: the fish entree at the asian restaurant is seasoned with curry. The exact same fish is available in the mexican restaurant with chipolte type seasonings. The wait staff in these restaurants was very nice, though--but it was a SLOW process.
The buffets: Negril buffet was good--the others were so-so. Had an excellent waiter at Negril buffet that anticipated your every need. However, had a few female servers that never even brought our drinks and seemed insulted when we asked a second time. During one particular incident we had returned from dophin cove. We were carrying our beach towels and we headed straight to the lunch buffet. A very rude man refused to seat us and said we were "wet" and could not sit in the chairs. We attempted to explain to him and show him that we in fact were not wet at all, but he just walked away. Interestingly though, the family behind us had actually come from the pool and they were wet--they were seated with no problem.
The kids club--a joke. Sent my daughter there and went to pick her up four hours later. They had done nothing on the schedule and had watched videos for four hours. She said that two workers had gotten into a loud argument and shouted at each other in front of the kids. She was offered only one glass of water during her stay there and no food/snacks. Needless to say, we did not send her back to the club.
Sharon our housekeeper was very nice and kept our room very tidy and took care of all of our requests.
The nightlife for young adults/older teens is lacking and my sons were bored at times.
I would like to give a shout out to the entertainment staff--we were all impressed that they seem to work around the clock and maintain their high level of energy and enthusiasm the entire time.
They were fun to watch!
Overall, a little disappointed in the vacation experience. We knew we were not staying at a luxury resort and fully expected to have less frills, but the fact that things were advertised and then not delivered was the discouraging part. I hope that for future vacationers that they begin to deliver what is promised in all of their advertisements.

Room Tip: Buildings 11 and 12 are convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kacye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
22.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
52.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,928 reviews
13.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,532 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range: £168 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing