We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best trip yet”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Mer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Mer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Le Mer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lucea, Hanover Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
T1317
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best trip yet”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most amazing time staying at La Mer Villa. The owners are the kindest people I've ever met while traveling. They take such good care of this rustic ocean front property and help guests navigate traveling and shopping in Jamaica. They took us to the local restaurant and picked us up giving us a lift when they saw us walking. We loved walking the local towns, the people we encountered were friendly, it was nice to experience the culture. There are beautiful patch reefs to snorkel off the rocks of the property and three beaches with in a 5 minute walk. Another guest lent us an inflatable SUP, we had a blast paddleboarding. It was so hard to leave La Mer, we fell in love with the pets on the property especially Champ the German Shepard, he went for a swim with us and was such great company, helped us miss our dog less. La Mer is a lovely place to relax, we took a day trip to Negril for a little excitement but enjoyed our time at La Mer far more. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
thanks so much...pleasure having you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denbar201...
Cumberland, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We are country folks and Le Mer was just what we wanted away from cities.”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The site is breathtaking with surrounding landscape and topography. We chilled around the pool and my husband swam in the reef with Karen. Coleman walked to a nearby fishing village with my husband and I and negotiated fresh seafood for our Sunday dinner. Our group of 5 thoroughly enjoyed fresh mangos on the property. We used Vinton Ashman , who was recommended by the owners, for our excursions to various attractions on the island. He proved not only to be knowledgeable but was very professional driving on less than good highways. The dogs that are pets of Coleman and Karen kept us from getting homesick for our 4 yorkies at home. Rick's Cafe in Negril was the most populated attraction we visited and amazing beauty high on natural cliffs and caves.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Thank you Barbara and Denny, it was our pleasure having you and your group. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting Le Mer directly on the Ocean”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful and enchanting location between Montego Bay and Negril.

This location is for those that want to get away to a beautiful piece of paradise and also in driving distance to the main Jamaican popular tourist destination's.

Our bedroom was big and had a nice King size bed with beautiful views of the ocean.

We snorkeled just about every day and the weather was absolutely beautiful!

It was a very relaxing vacation.

We did not rent a vehicle as we were not used to driving on the left side of the road but there are plenty of local taxi's that will take you anywhere you wish. Make your plans in advance. Karen and Coleman will provide advice on local taxis or Karen will take you into the town of Lucea to buy groceries and local vegetable's, local cooked Jamaican Jerk
Chicken and those delicious Jamaican patties. For the bigger restaurants you will need to go into Negril or Montego Bay. We did find everything we needed to make us comfortable in the town of Lucea.

There is a bigger beach just about a 15 minute walk away. It is called Bulls Bay.

We were looking for a different vacation away from the mainstream tourist attractions and that is what we experienced. In that manner, we got to meet the local people and their culture. We found a local fishing village in Lances's cove and were able to get fresh caught lobster and fish. Just get out, meet the neighbors and the pleasant discoveries are awesome.

I loved on Saturdays and Sunday, the church music coming from around and it reminded you that this is real and we were privileged to experience the Jamaican culture.

The people we met were beautiful and kind. Those visiting this area are mostly return visitors who made a deep connection with this beautiful island and they are very down to earth.

If you need a not interrupted internet service, I recommend you purchase a sim card from the local dealer in Lucea.

Thank you Karen and Coleman for your hospitality and for our experience of the real Jamaica.

R & D

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enchanting Location!!!!! / So beautiful ! Your own paradise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Hey Denise, loved having you. Thanks again. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuddhaBel...
Squamish, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great alternative for more independent travellers”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Best for people not wanting all-inclusive resort experience, and those who love the ocean and to experience some local culture. Close to a small town by local taxi, not many conveniences but one restaurant a short walk away and other small vendors, but for the most part a good distance from busy town life. Close to highway for catching taxis to Lucea, Montego Bay, or Negril (and nearby town of Green Island).

We stayed at Le Mer two weeks and were fortunate to have one house by ourselves. Karen picked us up from the airport and dropped us off two weeks later. We made day trips into local towns and did a horseback ride at a local small resort.

The place is clean and sheets changed every three days. We did our own cooking and did our own dishes. What we didn't use we left there, leftover food, oil, spices.

The snorkelling is great, there are reefs right outside and there are plenty of fish to watch and other life. The pool is great to cool off at night or when the ocean is rough.

It was so relaxing we would do it again for sure! Great hosts, we enjoyed your company and advice on local details.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Hey Frank, thanks so much, it was our pleasure having you. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice C
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jamaican camping in Lucea”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of six family members and we were unable to have the 4th group come with us to rent the 4th bedroom which was unfortunate for them because we thoroughly enjoyed our time at this ocean front property! The pool was awesome too and kept cool which we all loved! There were not too many places to buy groceries in the town of Lucea but the owner was very gracious and drove us into town and brought us to the various shops that she was familiar with. It would have been advantageous if there was a small dock and ladder off the shoreline from the house instead of trying to manage the rocky path and jumping off the rock ledge and the owner putting in a step ladder when she could. The other concern we talked about was the "rationing" of toilet paper..would have been better if 2 rolls were left in each bathroom. The time was well shared and we totally loved the house and the fact it was on the ocean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: ocean front and quiet with easy access to private beaches
Liked least: the toilet paper rationing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Hey Candice, thanks for the review. It was our pleasure having you and group. Will do on the toilet paper. Happy New Year, best wishes to you, son, and friends. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjk2000
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing time”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Although it has taken me some time to write a review, late is better than never!
We stayed at this property for 8 days with our 3 children (ages 11 to 16) & we absolutely LOVED it. Karen & Coleman are the sweetest & kindest hosts you could ever hope for & the property felt like our home away from home. The grounds are beautiful, pool, property & accommodations are well taken care of & clean. The swimming in the bay was a dream come true with plenty to see while snorkeling every day (or just going for a nice swim). The dogs are the sweetest, making us feel even more at home while missing our own (they are truly wonderful, so do not let this stop you if you are hesitant).
This is one of our favorite properties we have stayed at. The kids still speak of it often & tell people that it's their favorite part of Jamaica.
This is a very special property with Karen & Coleman forever in our hearts.
Hope to return one day ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. No complaints at all.
Liked least: Nothing other than having to leave
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrilyn...
Waterford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Snorkelling Wonderland”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The location was fabulous. Never an issue of feeling unsafe. This ocean villa is fabulous if you're a snorkeler. Peace and quiet. Locals very friendly. Owners very friendly and there when you need them but not intrusive. Really enjoyed this spot.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
Hey Terry, thanks so much for the review, and your patience. As I said before, it was our pleasure. Best to you, family, and friends. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing