We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday!”
Review of Hotel Eberl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eberl
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Finkenberg
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here for a week in February and was not disappointed! This was our first skiing holiday as a family and our sons first ski trip and we had a fantastic time. On arriving at the hotel we were checked in by the lovely lady on reception and had our bags taken to our room. The room was lovely overlooking the mountains, very warm in them though and could not turn the heating down. The food was wonderful..very creative and a really good choice of meals. You picked what main you wanted n the morning for that night. It was four courses each night so you will never go hungry! Finkenberg itself offered fantastic skiing and we were blessed with really good weather. Our son loved ski school and could not believe how fast he picked it up going there, we have been to many resorts over the years and this definetly up there as a favourite. This was a truly amazing holiday in a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location and we will definetly return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanneclaire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    16
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
11
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We booked with crystal hol for skiing the top floor rooms were adequate and possible due for a upgrade, but with the fantastic well being area including sauna pool more than made up for it.
The food was good and the staff friendly.
The ski lift was a 5 min walk uphill but you could catch a bus.
Also make sure you get your skis from Stocks hire shop across the road, a good service and saves you a long walk if you get from Crystal.
The hotel has free wifi but only on the ground floor.
Great holiday

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

i stayed at the Eberl at the beginning of February 2011 with four friends on a ski package with Crystal Holidays. The rooms are of a good size with a very acceptable quality of furnishings, spacious storage space, with very efficient servicing. It has an impressively designed Wellness Centre which includes a reasonable size swimming pool, sauna, steam room, cold spray booth, large footbath, and recovering/ relaxation room. Plenty of towels always available. Expect to witness a clothes-free use of this facility as many of the quests are German. If you are a typical prudish Brit there is a generous toleration of our tired Victorian attitude towards the human body so yes, you can hang on to your swimwear if you really must! The restaurant provides excellent quality food with a very varied and indeed creative menu. As is so often the practice on the continent however, there is only a limited understanding of vegetarianism, but its still possible to achieve a varied veggy diet with a little imagination. My only criticism is the hotel's approach to smoking, there being no public area designated as 'non-smoking' except the restaurant itself. Being a low-tolerance non-smoker, from a 'smoke free' country, it is very dificult to accept a poorly ventilated bar and snack area: the strong smell of cigarette smoke on ones clothes after only a short time in the public area is decidedly difficult to accept in what is otherwise a very comfortable and extremely well-managed family hotel. I would have no reservations about returning despite this problem, with the hope that Austria will have introduced appropriate anti-smoking legislation in the meantime. Just one caution: the gondola lift is about 500 yards up quite a steep hill from the hotel. It proved a useful 'warm-up' for my group each morning, but those of a less fit disposition will find it very challenging. There is a ski bus available if you are prepared to wait around.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ceffylgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Everything has been said really by the last reviewer. We found everything worked with typical Austrian precision. If I had one gripe it would be that the hotel is so popular (especially at weekends ) that self caterers staying in surrounding apartments etc. come in for dinner and the hotel lounges and stuberl are set up for this purpose, which means that residents don`t have anywhere to relax after dinner unless they stay at their dinner table. Indeed, extra tables are set up in the residents dining room for visiting diners when demand is high, which I found a little intrusive. My only other comment is the ski room is too small for the number of guests. Apart from that we had a good deal - two gentlemen sharing and I requested single beds and ended up with two single rooms with no supplement, which was great.
One warning if you`re on a skiing break - it is a bit of a climb to the gondola if you don`t want to wait for buses and there is NOWHERE to leave your ski boots at the base of the mountain, meaning you have to leave them up the mountain which is fine if you are skiing the same area but a pain if you want to visit the glasier at Hintertux. Good area but I would not recommend it for beginners.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donkey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Stayed at the Eberl as a couple from 17th - 24th January 2009. Booked skiing package through Crystal (much cheaper than going independantly) and paid the upgrade to the main hotel (annex is standard with Crystal).

Arrived at about 2200hrs, and were guided to our room by friendly staff - then taken to dinner, 4 course evening meal with salad buffet too. Great food.

We were pleasantly suprised by the hotel after reading several bad reviews on here - most of which were in our opinion unfounded. The room was comfortable and sizey - shower over (large) bath, separate toilet to bathroom - and private balcony. The bar area was not too smokey (whilst smoking is allowed), and the restaurant area is no smoking. Food was great - buffet breakfast with hot drinks, fruit juices, selection of cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts, breads, cereals and cakes - plus hot eggs, bacon etc. Evening meal was four courses of traditional austrian cuisine (starter, soup, choice of 3 mains - incl. veggie., and desert) - spot on every evening.

Location - opposite ski school and ski hire shop (although crystal booked our equipment from another ski hire place opposite the gondola). Five minute uphill (not too steep) walk to Finkenberg Gondola - or ski bus stop (to Finkenberg, Hintertux Glacier and Mayrhofen & beyond) just over the road. Spar shop about 10 min walk (uphill).

We were very impressed with the Spa, Turkish footbath, sauna, steem room and various showers in the wellnes centre (open from 1600-1930 daily and included in room rates) - very welcome after a hard day on the slopes. The hotel also has a heated ski storage room with heated boot racks, a computer with internet (I think you had to pay for this though), and a small fitness room with limited equipment.

Overall - a great hotel, tidy rooms more than suitable for the job, brilliant food and wonderful spa. Great hotel to stay in as long as you are prepared to sample the culture of the more than friendly Austrian people - who in our case were very capable of speaking enough english to get by comfortably and would go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

Following from other reviews - DRINK PRICES - yes, higher than in the UK (but it is the pound that has fallen - not the euro), similar prices to everywhere else in Finkenberg - pint of bier E3.20, coke E2.20 - staff would also give free tap water at dinner and the bar.

We would go back again tomorrow!!!

  • Liked — Restaurant - great food, beautiful views!!!
  • Disliked — Room location - we had a room facing a road - am sure staff would have moved us if we wanted.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank joebloggs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstairs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I was in a party of 11 and we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Most of us were in the annex rooms which were small and basic but comfortable and clean.

The staff were friendly and helpful and did speak some English: between that and our limited German we coped fine.

Breakfast buffet was great, and we had a choice of (four course) evening meal with (rough) English translation, with veggy options too, plus salad bar. We asked for and got free tap water on the tables every evening, and the waiter was friendly. Take a phrasebook and/or make some effort to speak German in a German-speaking country and you'll be fine!

Bar prices were a bit high but no worse than elsewhere in the area.

The spa is great, and swimwear is definitely allowed!!!

There is also a ski room with heated boot drier things.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Miserable staring people sat at table next to us at supper
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant24682468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We booked the holiday through Crystal, so our experience may differ to those who booked independently. We paid an extra £22 a night for an upgrade room, to be honest, I would like to know where this went as the room was very old-fashioned, and we had a shared balcony (which meant the curtains had to be closed most of the time). The hotel bar was smokey, and I was relieved that the restaurant area was non-smoking. The prices of the drinks were too much (2,20 Euros for a small bottle of water). We sat upstairs in the restaurant and were lucky to have a table to ourselves - some couples were forced to share with other people, which I think is terrible if you had planned on being on your own. The waiter spoke very little English, so he was of no help with the German menu every morning. The food was poor quality (think rolled up ham and squirty cheese for one memorable starter). We had decent meals on our first night and last night (maybe they were trying to leave us with good memories). He never brought us tap water and were forced to pay for bottled water (supposedly he couldn't understand what we were asking for). We were also refused coffees after our meal as he wanted to clear the table.
I would stay here if it was cheap, but this wasn't. I think it gets it's 4* status from the spa area which was fine (though very dated).

  • Liked — the steam room
  • Disliked — no English tv, poor food
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolatecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Finkenberg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Finkenberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ferienhotel Aussicht
Ferienhotel Aussicht
#4 of 10 in Finkenberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kristall
Hotel Kristall
#3 of 10 in Finkenberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stock Resort
Stock Resort
#1 of 10 in Finkenberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Finkenbergerhof
Hotel Finkenbergerhof
#5 of 10 in Finkenberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neuwirt
Hotel Neuwirt
#6 of 10 in Finkenberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Resort M&M
Mountain Resort M&M
#2 of 10 in Finkenberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eberl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eberl

Property: Hotel Eberl
Address: Dorf 131, Finkenberg 6292, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Finkenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Finkenberg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Finkenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eberl 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Eberl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eberl Hotel Finkenberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing