We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and Fun Austrian Hospitality”
Review of Hotel Eberl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Eberl
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Finkenberg
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was our first stay at the Hotel Eberl and with two teenage sons we were in the Zillertal valley for a skiing holiday. The hotel is wonderfully traditional and has been in the Eberl family for many years. More than one generation of the family are very visible in running the hotel and their staff very courteous and helpful – Franz makes the best cocktails if retiring to the bar after dinner. There has been a significant amount of investment in the hotel infrastructure in recent years and the traditional facade belies the fact that a luxurious spa and newer accommodation have been tastefully added to the hotel. We were staying in an older but spacious room at the front which was next to a busy road. A good balcony and views though. The rooms and hotel were immaculately clean and the food very wholesome. Finkenberg is a quieter village but very well connected by regular bus services to all parts of the valley. We were there for New Year and the impromptu firework displays at midnight throughout the village were spectacular. We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend the hotel for those wanting something reliable, comfortable and traditional in a beautiful part of the valley.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful night's sleep, best not to be next to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

Booked a couple of days before arrival by e-mail. Our room, unfortunately, was located in front of a stable. A pity we weren't informed up front. On arrival we had to find our room ourselves. Staff didn't provide any additional information/explanation. We didn't experience the typical Austrian hospitality like we were used to. Only one of the waitresses was very kind.

Breakfast was fairly well. We expected a bit more variety in bread though. Half board dinner was ok.

Welness part was very well. And the swimming pool was the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchFamily4751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here for a week in February and was not disappointed! This was our first skiing holiday as a family and our sons first ski trip and we had a fantastic time. On arriving at the hotel we were checked in by the lovely lady on reception and had our bags taken to our room. The room was lovely overlooking the mountains, very warm in them though and could not turn the heating down. The food was wonderful..very creative and a really good choice of meals. You picked what main you wanted n the morning for that night. It was four courses each night so you will never go hungry! Finkenberg itself offered fantastic skiing and we were blessed with really good weather. Our son loved ski school and could not believe how fast he picked it up going there, we have been to many resorts over the years and this definetly up there as a favourite. This was a truly amazing holiday in a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location and we will definetly return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanneclaire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We booked with crystal hol for skiing the top floor rooms were adequate and possible due for a upgrade, but with the fantastic well being area including sauna pool more than made up for it.
The food was good and the staff friendly.
The ski lift was a 5 min walk uphill but you could catch a bus.
Also make sure you get your skis from Stocks hire shop across the road, a good service and saves you a long walk if you get from Crystal.
The hotel has free wifi but only on the ground floor.
Great holiday

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

i stayed at the Eberl at the beginning of February 2011 with four friends on a ski package with Crystal Holidays. The rooms are of a good size with a very acceptable quality of furnishings, spacious storage space, with very efficient servicing. It has an impressively designed Wellness Centre which includes a reasonable size swimming pool, sauna, steam room, cold spray booth, large footbath, and recovering/ relaxation room. Plenty of towels always available. Expect to witness a clothes-free use of this facility as many of the quests are German. If you are a typical prudish Brit there is a generous toleration of our tired Victorian attitude towards the human body so yes, you can hang on to your swimwear if you really must! The restaurant provides excellent quality food with a very varied and indeed creative menu. As is so often the practice on the continent however, there is only a limited understanding of vegetarianism, but its still possible to achieve a varied veggy diet with a little imagination. My only criticism is the hotel's approach to smoking, there being no public area designated as 'non-smoking' except the restaurant itself. Being a low-tolerance non-smoker, from a 'smoke free' country, it is very dificult to accept a poorly ventilated bar and snack area: the strong smell of cigarette smoke on ones clothes after only a short time in the public area is decidedly difficult to accept in what is otherwise a very comfortable and extremely well-managed family hotel. I would have no reservations about returning despite this problem, with the hope that Austria will have introduced appropriate anti-smoking legislation in the meantime. Just one caution: the gondola lift is about 500 yards up quite a steep hill from the hotel. It proved a useful 'warm-up' for my group each morning, but those of a less fit disposition will find it very challenging. There is a ski bus available if you are prepared to wait around.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ceffylgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Everything has been said really by the last reviewer. We found everything worked with typical Austrian precision. If I had one gripe it would be that the hotel is so popular (especially at weekends ) that self caterers staying in surrounding apartments etc. come in for dinner and the hotel lounges and stuberl are set up for this purpose, which means that residents don`t have anywhere to relax after dinner unless they stay at their dinner table. Indeed, extra tables are set up in the residents dining room for visiting diners when demand is high, which I found a little intrusive. My only other comment is the ski room is too small for the number of guests. Apart from that we had a good deal - two gentlemen sharing and I requested single beds and ended up with two single rooms with no supplement, which was great.
One warning if you`re on a skiing break - it is a bit of a climb to the gondola if you don`t want to wait for buses and there is NOWHERE to leave your ski boots at the base of the mountain, meaning you have to leave them up the mountain which is fine if you are skiing the same area but a pain if you want to visit the glasier at Hintertux. Good area but I would not recommend it for beginners.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donkey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Stayed at the Eberl as a couple from 17th - 24th January 2009. Booked skiing package through Crystal (much cheaper than going independantly) and paid the upgrade to the main hotel (annex is standard with Crystal).

Arrived at about 2200hrs, and were guided to our room by friendly staff - then taken to dinner, 4 course evening meal with salad buffet too. Great food.

We were pleasantly suprised by the hotel after reading several bad reviews on here - most of which were in our opinion unfounded. The room was comfortable and sizey - shower over (large) bath, separate toilet to bathroom - and private balcony. The bar area was not too smokey (whilst smoking is allowed), and the restaurant area is no smoking. Food was great - buffet breakfast with hot drinks, fruit juices, selection of cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts, breads, cereals and cakes - plus hot eggs, bacon etc. Evening meal was four courses of traditional austrian cuisine (starter, soup, choice of 3 mains - incl. veggie., and desert) - spot on every evening.

Location - opposite ski school and ski hire shop (although crystal booked our equipment from another ski hire place opposite the gondola). Five minute uphill (not too steep) walk to Finkenberg Gondola - or ski bus stop (to Finkenberg, Hintertux Glacier and Mayrhofen & beyond) just over the road. Spar shop about 10 min walk (uphill).

We were very impressed with the Spa, Turkish footbath, sauna, steem room and various showers in the wellnes centre (open from 1600-1930 daily and included in room rates) - very welcome after a hard day on the slopes. The hotel also has a heated ski storage room with heated boot racks, a computer with internet (I think you had to pay for this though), and a small fitness room with limited equipment.

Overall - a great hotel, tidy rooms more than suitable for the job, brilliant food and wonderful spa. Great hotel to stay in as long as you are prepared to sample the culture of the more than friendly Austrian people - who in our case were very capable of speaking enough english to get by comfortably and would go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

Following from other reviews - DRINK PRICES - yes, higher than in the UK (but it is the pound that has fallen - not the euro), similar prices to everywhere else in Finkenberg - pint of bier E3.20, coke E2.20 - staff would also give free tap water at dinner and the bar.

We would go back again tomorrow!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank joebloggs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finkenberg
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neuwirt
Hotel Neuwirt
#7 of 10 in Finkenberg
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Finkenbergerhof
Hotel Finkenbergerhof
#6 of 10 in Finkenberg
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kristall
Hotel Kristall
#3 of 10 in Finkenberg
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
STOCK resort
STOCK resort
#1 of 10 in Finkenberg
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferienhotel Aussicht
Ferienhotel Aussicht
#4 of 10 in Finkenberg
31 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sporthotel Manni
Sporthotel Manni
#16 of 38 in Mayrhofen
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eberl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eberl

Address: Dorf 131, Finkenberg 6292, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Finkenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Finkenberg
#5 Spa Hotel in Finkenberg
Price Range: £72 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eberl 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eberl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eberl Hotel Finkenberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing