We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Persal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Panorama Hotel(Finkenberg)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
STOCK resort(Finkenberg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kristall(Finkenberg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Neuwirt(Finkenberg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eberl(Finkenberg)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pfeiffer(Mayrhofen)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
21
13
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
13
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskiing weekcourse dinnerhalf boardski busski areameathintertuxvillageroadvalleyguestssaunamayrhofen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I was in this hotel with 3 friends of mine during a week end in December. We picked this hotel because price wise it was good and it also offered a small Spa. Room was fair, breakfast was a bit better that what you expect from a 3 star hotel. We dined both nights at the hotel and the food and service was quite good. The Spa offers a sauna, turkish bath and a relax area; nothing extraordinary but good enough. It doesn't look like a joungsters hotel but for us it made our goal.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank gaetanopavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Wonderful hotel, beautiful views, great location, extremely friendly welcome, delicious food. Now that is a recipe for a wonderful vacation stay, and that was what we found for our four night stay at the Hotel Persal in summer of 2012.

The Hotel Persal is perched on the hillside in the beautiful town of Finkenberg. Our room was very spacious, with a large balcony, and beautiful, uninterrupted views of the mountains and valley; you could see all the way down to Mayerhofen. The hotel hugs the main road, in a quiet, less populated upper side of the town. While the hotel is on the road, the rooms which look over the back side of the hotel (I think all or almost all of them view this direction) are extremely quiet, with great views (see the pictures). Sleeping with the windows open, we had no idea we were even near a road.

The hotel was made special by the warm welcome we received from our gracious English speaking host and the wonderful food prepared by her brother. Our host helped us with directions and hiking suggestions, including lending us a very detailed map that was extremely helpful. Even beyond that, she was extremely friendly and welcoming, which we very much appreciated.

The hotel has a beautiful back deck (with expansive views of the mountains) where dinner can be eaten, as well as a cozy, welcoming indoor restaurant. Breakfasts were very generous, much more than a simple continental breakfast. We ate dinner at the hotel every night, which featured an extensive a la carte menu, plus the option of a fixed price dinner (the half-board option). I still find it hard to believe that the half-board option consisted of a five course meal for only 10 Euros (per person) added onto the room rate! And the food was sophisticated, delicious, and generous. I think our hosts and server might have become slightly tired of my wife and I asking several times if the meal really cost only 10 Euros, because we just could not believe it! (After all we paid about that much for a sandwich in Munich.)

In addition to the generous comfortable room, great food, welcoming hosts, and beautiful surroundings; the hotel also has spa facilities (which looked very nice and inviting, although we did not use them as the weather was warm and it was beautiful to be outside). The location of the hotel is very convenient to two (at least) beautiful alpine valleys (one ending in a glacier where people were skiing in July) and the other a gorgeous mountain lake. We had plenty to do each day, with beautiful drives and hikes, and could have stayed longer. Many summer ski lifts in the area make it easy to quickly go high in the mountains for lovely walks, views, and alpine flowers.

We were extremely pleased with our visit to the Hotel Persal and recommend it highly.
Steve Snow
Atlanta Georgia

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Persal twice – once in winter for a skiing week, and then in summer for a few days of mountain hiking. On both occasions, we were fully satisfied with the room, service, food, atmosphere, simply everything. The hotel owners, Mrs. Ushi Fankhauser and her husband, are excellent hosts and take great care to make sure their guests are well pampered. They participate fully in everyday operations, talk and joke with their guests, and are always there for them which I personally value a lot. The food is delicious and the salad bar is gorgeous with such a variety we haven’t encountered anywhere else in Austria. Rooms are cosy, immaculately clean and thanks to their orientation to the scenic valley, they are absolutely quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the valley.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rostislav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our family spent wonderful skiing vacation in Mayrhofen/Finkenberg. We stayed in Hotel Persal, and were happy that made this choice. Hotel was even better than we expected. Rooms are nicely furnished, clean and big. Food was delicious and varied. Every morning the owner prepared a daily newsletter and it was at our breakfast table with events going on that day, weather reports etc. This was in German mainly but she did translate bits into English for us. Also hotel has great location: a few minutes walk to ski lifts, in the middle between Hintertux and Mayrhofen, with shuttle bus stop just in front of the hotel. Sauna is also always available after skiing. Everything in the hotel are clean and perfectly managed.
The only thing, which are not consistent with overall excellent experience, that during a dinner, you cannot get water but have to pay for a bottle 5 Euro!!! For Canadian it’s really strange, because in any place, any restaurant, any hotel, you have water or even tea with your dinner. It’s by default. I’d say, if hotel need to earn money on water, it makes sense to add it to half-board price than to serve dinner in such manner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexLop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We booked the Hotel Persal through Crystal Holidays now a weeks ski holiday over New Year. The price was great, good ski area and the description said there was a spa at the hotel, 4 course dinner and a ski bus stop outside the hotel. Great, I thought so we booked. We were both thrilled with the hotel and our choice.
The hospitality was second to none and we were told we were the first Crystal guests there. The owner speaks a good level of English and was really helpful with giving us info about things going on in the valley. The restaurant staff were so friendly and appreciated our school-learnt German and likewise enjoyed practising their English with us!
The food was fantastic. Much better that anticipated and consistently good throughout the week. There was hot options every morning on the buffet (scrambled egg, boiled eggs, bacon and frankfurter style sausages) and there was a variety of themed meal nights including a farmers buffet night and fondue night too on top of the gala dinner on New Years Eve. Amazing value for a Crystal 3 star property.
Every morning the owner produced a daily newsletter our breakfast table with events going on that day, weather reports etc. This was in German mainly but she did translate bits into English for us. It was these little extras that really shined through for us and made our stay.
Logistically, the Persal is ideal. The hotel is on the main road (but this went unnoticed as our room faced the scenic valley) and ski bus stops directly outside the hotel. The bus service is regular and stops at all the gondolas from Mayrhofen up to the Hintertux Glacier making getting the most out of your lift pass very easy indeed. The hotel has a ski room in the basement with an 'inhouse' ski tech to help you with your equipment if you need it. There's a newly equipped fitness room with weights, cross trainer and running machine and a sauna and streamroom.
As a village, there's not a lot going on in Finkenberg at all. There are 2 bars which are pretty cool. Mayrhofen is 5 minutes down the hill on the bus and it a huge town full of all the shops and bars, clubs, restaurants etc. As long as you know this before travelling, your fine. We wanted a nice hotel, close the bus route with the option of going out for a few glueweins and schnapps if we felt like it. Finkenberg and the Hotel Persal offered us all this and more. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bauer24Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews