We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ferienhotel Aussicht(Finkenberg)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Neuwirt(Finkenberg)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Finkenbergerhof(Finkenberg)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Persal(Finkenberg)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
STOCK resort(Finkenberg)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
APARTAMENT WIDKAL(Finkenberg)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
24
14
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
14
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily runski liftseasonaustriaskiingmayrhofen
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Traditional guesthouse style accommodation with excellent staff and service..super 4 days in the Alps.. 5 mins walk from main ski lift and 30 min drive to Hintertux.good food choice. Lovely walk through woods to Mayrhofen..willing certainly return. We were the only English guests so enjoyed practising my school German.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 345bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Good Hotel for skiing. Ski Bus stop outside the hotel door 5 mins to gondola.
Service and value brilliant. Could not fault it. 6 course dinners and good buffet breakfast.
Free collection and return to Mayrhofen railway station
Friendly and very helpful staff.
Typical Austrian décor and hospitality, great spa area.
Will certainly hope to return again soon in the skiing season.

Room Tip: Even the smallest double room was more than big enough for 2 people + all the ski kit.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidmudge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have stayed in many Austrian hotels during the summers over the last few years, and this ranks as one of the best for several reasons.

First of all it is located down a small side road, which makes the location nice and quiet with very little passing traffic.

Our room was good value and was of excellent quality and great views down the valley. It was very spacious, Tyrolean style. The bathroom was spacious and very modern. If felt I received what I was expecting and was not disappointed.

The hotel itself was almost of a perfect size - not too large to be impersonal, nor too small to lack facilities. The management were relaxed, friendly and helpful. It is a family run hotel - and like many Austrian hotels the service ethic was top rate and they seemed to care.

The dining room was attractive and the tables well spaced out. The food was of a good standard, not overly fussy but of very good, and sometimes excellent quality. There were several courses each evening, and the breakfasts provided everything you could want from various types of muesli, cold meats and cheeses, choice of eggs, large selections of breads, jam, variety of fruit juices. Service in this restaurant was very gracious and efficient. They also offer afternoon tea and cakes, which we could not manage.

The bar area was very pleasant and the drink prices were probably less expensive than I have found in other Austrian hotels.

The summer walking in this area is truly plentiful - a variety of beautiful valley walks, as well as high mountain trails for all standards. I had not exhausted all the possibilities after 8 days. I would rank this area for walking on a par with Galtur/Ischgl for walking and favour Tyrol for walking compared to areas like Kaprun in Salzburgerland.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mountainalpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We liked our stay at this hotel.
Good service, nice atmosphere and good rooms.

We did expect a bit more of the food after reading all the reviews here. The food is good, but we have definitely eaten better in Austria already.There are sometimes too many tastes combined on one plate which don't always mix well together.

Room Tip: We received a free upgrade and had a room in the little tower. Very nice and large room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veerle_C81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were visiting this skiing area second time and wanted to escape busy Mayrhofen ending up in Finkenberg and for us this was the perfect decision. We stayed at the Dornauhof because we felt it had everything to offer we did require, good food, perfect spa and even better rooms.

Staff is not unfriendly but exactly what can be expected in this region; main language is German and we did not find if there was ability to speak anything else. We were the only non-German/Austrian visitors and it did not cause any issue but it is recommendable to have some ability to speak German we felt.
More important they were responsive to our every need and that is what you want.

The rooms are having a typical Austrian decor and there is not much to be desired. Bathrooms clean and super comfortable bedding; sleeping never ended. We had a 2 person and a single room; the first was very spacious and the single room was not too small but a little less cozy I'd say.

When arriving there was a food buffet and that was not entirely to our taste, setting the stage for the other days, but fortunately our worst expectation did not come through at all; the food is very decent and prepared with local ingredients; very recommendable. The Farmer buffet halfway the week was again a bit of a challenge but of good quality all together and food is served in large amounts if so desired, hence no issues.
The wine selection was rather small but it offered very nice wines at very reasonable pricing including some pretty good Austrian wines.

The Sauna landscape was superior to many hotels we have seen in Austria and we did frequent it every day to please our tired muscles; Truly good and plenty to choose from.

The distance to the ski lifts was in between walking or using the ski bus which is a convenient private service. The lifts were not busy at all with the exception of only one day; quite a blessing compared to the busy lifts in Mayrhofen. The ski area is very accessible from Finkenberg and has lots to offer including an excellent fun park.

There really has not been a single negative in this stay which makes this hotel a very recommendable location. Again; the ability to speak a bit of German is helping to make the stay a slightly better I think but if you cannot, its not a problem and it will add to the experience of feeling being amongst locals instead of sitting in a international setting with all the downsides of that. I will return here for certain.

Room Tip: There are many room types and if you afford it spend a few Euro's more on the larger rooms; it's worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews