We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, wonderful and wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Graineag Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Glenmoriston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nieuwkoop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, wonderful and wonderful”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The place is just wonderful. Just go there and see for yourself. Everything you want from a Bed & Breakfast & Barbara. She is a lovely host, friendly, kind, sweet and talkative with a heart of gold. She makes you feel welcome in her wonderful home and garden.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtienneStekelenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
116
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Graineag B&B is the best B&B I have ever stayed in and way better than most hotels. The hosts Barbara and Ian are lovely and made us feel welcome straight away. The room was huge as was the en-suite, well appoint and fresh. The area is quiet, with lovely surroundings.

The attention to detail is across the board from the wee dram on arrival to breakfast to get the day started. Barbara and Ian's knowledge of the area was very useful and we went on some great adventures of the back of it.

Just trying to find an excuse to go back now.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but we went for the deluxe, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druss1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This beautiful B&B is more than we could ever have dreamed of. Tucked away down a lovely drive that passes sheep, cows and lots of wild life. The multi-level garden with brooke running through is like nothing i have ever seen, the pictures don't do it justice. The room was huge, the bed was comfy and the toiletries were that of a 5* hotel. We did not expect to find this kind of standard listed under "B&B". Breakfast filling, milk fresh, and spotlessly clean. I cannot recommend highly enough. The couple that ran the place very welcoming and we will be returning. Short drive to Skye, Loch Ness, Inverness plenty to do with exactly the right amount of peace and quiet. Bliss. Thank you.

Room Tip: The room we had was overlooking the brooke which was a very soothing sound to fall asleep to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

If I could I would've given 6 for each mark. Iwas I was immediately made to feel at home by Barbara.
The setting is so idyllic, the rooms so large and even came with a mini fridge.
Then in the morning came the amazing breakfast. Really setting you up for a hard day's exploring.
Overall the Graineag one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim_robinso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just spent a fabulous weekend at Graineag B&B and wish it had been longer. It is an excellent base to use to visit the Highlands and we were blessed with fantastic weather (thanks to our hosts, Ian & Barbara, for arranging that!).
We were travelling as 2 couples and had the 2 rooms upstairs, which were of a 5* standard. They were both large, beautifully decorated and you could tell that every care had been taken to make our stay perfect, from the wine glasses to the comfy chairs to the large airy bathrooms.
Ian and Barbara made us feel very welcome and gave us great advice to make our stay perfect - even tips on when to see the pine marten, which visits them in the morning! The Highland cattle across the road and Sammy just added to the whole experience (we would happily have borrowed Sammy for the rest of our holiday - what a beautifully natured dog).
Can't wait until we return, which we will!

Room Tip: Both of ours, upstairs were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful, clean and spacious rooms with a small fridge. Clean and spacious bathrooms with tub. Amazing, helpful and lovely hosts. Great breakfast with view. Surely a place you should stay if you have a car. Its around 6 miles away from Fort Augustus. Please follow the instructions of the owner post booking, they email it to reach the place without any hassle
Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabnam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Gorgeous spot - enchanting garden and extremely comfortable accommodation. Nothing lacking; fluffy towels and robes, luxury toiletries, fresh milk in the silent fridge! Our room was first class and the en-suite worthy of any 5 star hotel. Barbara was most welcoming. We hope to return to this lovely area for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontusuallycomplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenmoriston hotels
0.0 mi away
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Glenmoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.0 mi away
Binnilidh Mhor
Binnilidh Mhor
#2 of 6 in Glenmoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Faebuie Cottages
Faebuie Cottages
#1 of 2 in Glenmoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moriston House
Moriston House
#5 of 6 in Glenmoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graineag Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graineag Bed and Breakfast

Property: Graineag Bed and Breakfast
Address: Redburn, Glenmoriston IV63 7YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Glenmoriston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenmoriston
Hotel Class:3 star — Graineag Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graineag is a delightful detached Highland house set in a peaceful location, with a Scottish burn (stream) tumbling through the garden and an abundance of wildlife. The Graineag is set among hills and woods with an easy walk to the River Moriston. (Fishing permits available locally). The Graineag is ideal for those who love wildlife and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Graineag Bed And Breakfast Glenmoriston, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing