We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in the highlands- HIGHLY recommended”

Glenmoriston Manse Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenmoriston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenmoriston Manse Guest House
Ranked #6 of 7 Glenmoriston B&B and Inns
St Andrews, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B in the highlands- HIGHLY recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

The Glenmoriston Manse is what every bed and breakfast should be. The service was excellent- our hosts, Michael and Caroline, were personable and warm. As I understand it, as of May 2009 they have been the hosts for about a year and have kept up the high quality reflected in the other reviews (by the way, in response to another review, one would always do well to call and confirm one's B&B booking with a live person).

The rooms were beautiful, clean and well maintained with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was a plentiful spread of delicious options. The B&B is close to Loch Ness (just a short 6 miles) but is surrounded by nothing but natural highland beauty. Also, be sure to see the nearby waterfalls in Glenmoriston.

We will definitely return to this wonderful B&B!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

BEWARE. We booked a room through 'late rooms' 6 weeks in advance but were left extremely disappointed, inconvenienced and out of pocket when we were informed the room was doubled booked. Apparently there were another 15 people whose room was double booked. Both late rooms and glenmoriston manse denied any responsibilty for this major mistake which turned our holiday into a nightmare. Surely the number one rule of owning a hotel is to ensure the rooms aren't double booked. We were left without accommodation and glenmoriston manse did nothing to help. Thanks for nothing.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolineethomas, owner at Glenmoriston Manse Guest House, responded to this review, 13 May 2009
Sadly we have been badly let down by the booking company we were doing business with. With no confirmations of bookings being sent to us we were totally unaware of this guest's request and were therefore unable to accommodate him. He was the only guest to be affected in this way, which is no consolation either to him or us, and apart from our sincere apology there was little more we could do to remedy the situation, which was not of our making. Steps have been taken to ensure this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

Glenmoriston Manse provided the ideal stop for us between the Isle of Skye and Inverness, making for a good base from which to explore the beautiful countryside around Loch Ness and Glen Affric.

The house is a fine Victorian building with many beautiful period features. The double ensuite room was generously proportioned, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. A good night's rest was followed by a fine breakfast. All at a very competitive price.

Our hosts, Mike and Caroline made us feel extremely welcome and provided us with useful information about the local area. We would definitely consider a longer stay next time. Great place.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shardolean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2007

We arrived after dark (09:00ish), and rather than feeling as if we were interrupting their rest at the end of the day, we were made to feel like family that they had been anxiously awaiting to see.
Having never stayed in a B&B, I was quite leery of intruding into someone's home. This feeling isn't likely to leave me in the future, except the next time I stay at Glenmoriston Manse.
The house is lovely, as are the hosts, Mark & Angela. Not only warm and gracious, they were eager to share their insight and love for the beautiful countryside surrounding the Manse. We can't wait to return.

  • Liked — The hsts, the setting, the house
  • Disliked — That I didn't stay longer
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotnHotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2007

Situated, perfectly, between Inverness, the Isle of Skye, and Fort William, and only about six miles west of Loch Ness, we feel we found a very nice little B&B.
It is clean, quiet, and comfortable. As some of the other review have noted, hosts Angela and Mark, did a great job making us feel welcome. They assisted, cheerfully, with all our requests.
Mark is the chef, and he does a great job! We left, each morning, happy and full.
Should we go that way, again, we will make it a point to stay with Angela and Mark.

  • Liked — Central location. Great hosts.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ritzcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

We had a really pleasant time at Angela and Mark`s place. They even picked us up from the bus stop since we were walking and had no car. The house looks great from the outside and inside. Breakfast was well made and they have a great variety of books and board games. We even played Dread pirate with them :-) Definitely an asset to the region. Hope to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

I booked this for a few days away for my wife's birthday and we weren't disappointed. It's well located to go west to the Isle of Skye or east to the Cairngorns or of course just stay local and explore around Loch Ness.

We stayed in the Isle of Skye room which was very spacious and comfortable. Although the bathroom was not ensuite it was private, very well appointed and and very spacious again.

The refurb of the house has been stylish and thoughtful and breakfast was top notch.

Highly recommended.

PS, the best restaurant we found locally was Abstract at the Glenmoriston Town House Hotel in Inverness. It was exceptional. It's a 45 minute drive but that's 'local' in the Highlands!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jaffam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenmoriston
14.4 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
7.6 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Glenmoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Craik Na Dav B & B
Craik Na Dav B & B
#1 of 8 in Invermoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Faebuie Cottages
Faebuie Cottages
#1 of 2 in Glenmoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
6.0 mi away
Binnilidh Mhor
Binnilidh Mhor
#2 of 7 in Glenmoriston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Manse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Manse Guest House

Property: Glenmoriston Manse Guest House
Address: Cul Na Carn, Glenmoriston IV63 7YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Glenmoriston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Glenmoriston
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1880, this beautifully restored guest house rests in the heart of the Scottish Highlands, offering the perfect base for touring the area. Found on the main route from Loch Ness to the Isle of Skye, you can take a day trip to the loch, explore the Highlands' famous whisky trails or search for your ancestors. The Manse offers beautiful rooms with stunning views, comfortable beds, hot showers and a great Scottish breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Manse Guest House Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing