We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sugam

Hotel Sugam
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tuticorin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Sugam
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Tuticorin
Chennai
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A budget hotel”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I have been staying in Sugam for the last so many years and in October 2012. The hotel badly needs renovation. for the price it offers, many people patronise it. The restaurant attached to the hotel serves basic food

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe rooms,in the new complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sigamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I had a night cap at this hotel. the facilities are the bare minimum as can be expected for the price you pay for... had a good sleep.. and went off..i would not rate it high.. but just average which served my purpose.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VVJ_1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We were in for a shock as we were to stay in this place after a pleasant stay in Madurai-cos we were accomodated here in for a family function-NOT OUR CHOICE- but will not ask anyone to venture here-Rooms dingy-linen probably not changed-.........

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dr_ambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tuticorin hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

i am a frequent traveler around tamilnadu but this my first trip to tuticorin so i search hotels in tuticorin and seeing the reviews it was 100% true in the case of sugam hotel, though i am trying to call the hotel for enquiry / the staff who picked up my call was not interest to talk with me and the way of giving information was like talking with a begger, he was quit hurry bury to end the conversation with me, i am so disappointed, please do check their activities and manner before you enter its so funny and crazy,

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank arasu_tha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We landed at this hotel, as we were relatively new to the place and hadn't devoted time to researching the stay options in this small town. From my experiences, i would like to make the following observations -
PLUS POINTS -
* Centrally located - in the heart of the city. Easily accessible. Good eateries around too.
* Convenient check in and check out timings - unlike hotels which have 12pm check in, this hotel has a 24hr check in policy. This is indeed traveler friendly.
* Easy on the wallet - Very affordable indeed. Even the AC rooms are priced within 1K and this is probably one of the main reasons this hotel still has some occupancy.

MINUS POINTS -
* Maintenance required - Poorly maintained rooms. The one we stayed in had torn bedsheets. Not a welcome sight. Room had a stuffy smell and AC was noisy. Peeling wall paper added to the eye soar.
* Improve service - Overall service needs a revamp. The staff at the reception need to be information friendly by sharing details of types and tariffs of rooms.
* Gastronomy - Food was very oily.While the menu is elaborate, the quality is not up to the mark.
* Makeover - The hotel needs a face lift. There are two wings. Newly added building and the old structure. There is no integration between these two in terms of aesthetics or presentability.

This is not a hi-fi hotel and hence does not boast of any amenities. Perfectly in sync with the needs of a low profile traveler. Accessibility is this hotels selling point. However, if attention is not paid to the upkeep of the rooms, the other new hotels in town will definitely over power this one in occupancy and service standards.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangaloreEscapade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

This may be the firsst hotel ever constructed in tuticorin so its not very well maintained, u need to choose the room first before u take the key, there r some new rooms also.

as for food what the previous review is rite eventhough bar is 10 meters apart u dont get that combo of bar and dining, thats tuty.

try the newer ones like mayflower and bell they r quite good and resonable, even chitra near gowri shankar or cruz fernandes statue has good ac rooms at 900 per day

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thivyan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

Booked as part of package. Stayed one night. As other reviewer has also said, there is no hot water and the staff are less than helpful. Dining choices limited in area so we went to hotel restaurant, options are either food without alcohol or alcohol without food even though restaurant and bar are less than 10 metres apart...

Room desperately needed to be refurbished, very old and tatty, felt dirty, giant ants in bathroom, windows had been blackened with paint. We did not dare try to explore a mysterious door covered by a curtain, electrical fittings seemed to date back to 1920/30s.

Majority of group suffered from stomach upsets the day after.

Unfortunately we cannot recommend.

  • Liked — nothing i'm afraid
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank banana00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuticorin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Raj
Hotel Raj
#4 of 12 in Tuticorin
37 reviews
3.3 mi away
Regency Tuticorin By GRT Hotels
20.9 mi away
Hotel Udhayam International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sugam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sugam

Property: Hotel Sugam
Address: 207 VE Road, Tuticorin, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Tuticorin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Tuticorin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing