We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Todo Blanco is your wish come true” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Todo Blanco Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Galeras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Todo Blanco Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Las Galeras B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Genesee, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Todo Blanco is your wish come true”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Looking for the perfect spot to vacation? Look no further than the Hotel Todo Blanco. My husband and I have spent many vacations searching for the perfect winter getaway location and we have finally found it. It fulfilled all our demanding requirements.
First, it’s all about location, location, location. This hotel is nestled right on the beach in an almost too good to be true peaceful and beautiful setting. The hotel’s architecture is both quirky and splendid, and the grounds are artfully landscaped to embrace the natural plant growth and the terraced terrain. It is also unbelievably right around the corner from the small town of Las Galeras. There you can find all you need: groceries, restaurants (quite a varied selection to suit your tastes each day), small shops containing souvenirs, clothing, jewelry and paintings), and small bars for local alcoholic treats and native juices. Walking in the town is often accompanied with a background of Caribbean music and friendly greetings from the residents.
Second, it is not one of those looming conglomerations of overpopulated lodgings. It is a small hotel, with just 8 rooms, which adds to the feeling that this is your personal space. Each unit has its own roomy balcony, all facing the splendid ocean view. It is the perfect place to perch in between swims and town trips and take in the wonderful sights and sounds of the beach area. The rooms are kept scrupulously clean and are uncluttered, with colorful touches contrasting the white-walled rooms. The bathrooms are large and the multi-shower spouts are a wonderful luxury. There is a small refrigerator in each room to use which is a nice addition. In the hotel’s main lobby, there is a TV, large table to gather around, if desired, and a bottled water dispenser for hot and cold water. There is a restaurant connected to the hotel with staired walkways, which offers breakfast and regular meals as well, if you tire of the walk to town. The manager of this hotel is a wonderful person, full of knowledge and kindness in dispensing it. He has many resources to provide and generous with his time and attention. He heads a staff of delightful personnel who always have a ready smile, greeting, and solution to your problem. There is even laundry service available to you.
Last, the region’s offerings. On this Samana peninsula, there are many nearby areas to experience besides just lounging on the glorious beach of Las Galeras. Outside of town, there are points of interest like a variety of beaches (Rincon, Playita), dramatic beachside cliffs (Fronton), hilltop restaurants (el Cabito), and amazing crystal clear rivers (beside Playa Rincon.) There are also many excursions offered right from Las Galeras. Public transportation can allow you to travel down the road a bit to the town of Samana , where you can experience a more lively town which houses whale watching boat trips (peak season is January-March) or trips to outlying islands and parks. In another direction you can head to Las Terranas, also a bit busier location, with a few other beaches and a town loaded with restaurants and shops. You can venture off in any direction to catch glimpses of other locations, all easily reached from the Hotel Todo Blanco.
So now you see why this hotel, with its wonderful manager, perfect accommodations, beachfront location, and easy access to attractions, has become our perfect vacation spot. See you there!

Room Tip: Both upper and lower rooms have balconies, but we preferred the upper level on either end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    36
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

My family and I recently spent 2 nights at Todo Blanco while visiting the Samana / Las Galeras area. We currently live in Santo Domingo so have visited quite a few places around the DR and prefer the smaller beach and hotel locations as opposed to the all inclusives, despite their advantages. We had read good reviews for the few options in Las Galeras and thought that Todo Blanco would be a nice place to try. First impressions: great setting, nice builiding, great view of the beach front, quiet, staff helpful. Room: we had seen pictures and read reviews. Simple and clean but nothing more (granted in a place like Las Galeras one spends more time outdoors and at the beach). Bathrooms could use some upgrading though. Rooms in fact could use a little upgrading even if it means paying a bit more per night. It would not take much to add stuff on the walls, maybe get better bedding and add some colour to get the rooms to have more charecter and be more inviting overall. Clean as mentioned but boring looking. Nice to have a little fridge though. Best part of the room is the balcony and the view of the lush garden (not overly manicured but gives it a natural look) and the beach. We were surprised that there were some decent restaurant options in Las Galeras. Todo Blanco provides breakfast (costs extra). We eat there once. Nice but not memorable. Recently opened full serivce Italian restaurant is nice but pricey. So we eat in Las Galeras town (2 minute walk from the hotel) and enjoyed Chez Denise, La Marseilleise the Italian restaurant at the Lisutania hotel. Very small town which tends to attract quite a few Europeans and North Americans. Decent 30 minute drive from Samana town. Finally we enjoyed the local beaches, including the one in Las Galeras and Playita. Did not make it to Rincon. Next time. Overall we enjoyed Las Galeras and Todo Blanco. We would stay there again. Worth it overall.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ivoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Todo Blanco in Nov. 2011 for 4 days. It was such a peaceful and beautiful setting. The hotel is clean, the grounds are neatly manicured and the breakfast was outstanding. The manager says their restaurant will open the first of December and I plan on returning there for another stay and to eat at the restaurant. The hotel is managed by an Italian whom also speaks Spanish and English. He was very nice and very helpful as we needed a translater at one point. He also told us about various restaurants around town. Our room had 2 double beds, a single bed, a desk/mirror, chair, 2 nightstands, a mini-refrigerator, a ceiling fan and a nice bathroom with hot water. One evening we had no hot water but the manager is there to make certain that is taken care of. All rooms have balconies facing the beach and the view is awesome. There is a breezeway for just sitting/reading/relaxing and also with tables for breakfast which is an additional charge but worth it. There is airconditioning available with request and for additional charge. We found the opening the French doors to the balcony gave us plenty of breeze and each bed has mosquito netting so those who attract them can sleep in peace. There are a couple of friendly dog beasts to watch over the hotel and guests. They take a swim in the ocean each day so they don't have the typical doggy smell.

Breakfast was eggs, fresh fruit juice, coffee or tea, French or Italian bread, butter and marmelade, and fresh sliced pineapple and papaya. It was both delicious and filling. The staff were all pleasant and actually went out of their way to be of help to us, such as helping to put our phone card minutes onto our phone, & the manager translating for us.

The town is mostly French tourists, but also German, English, and Americans. There several really top notch restaurants in town, both French and Italian, including bakeries.

Can't wait to return here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cajun_Gal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My wife and I most enjoyed our weeks stay at Todo Blanco, the hospitality was most enjoyable, beutifull rooms with the sound of the waves on the beach quietly in the background (we left the french doors open at nite). The place looks like a southern US mansion with very nice dining room, but nestled in the palm trees, with a nice flowering garden. You feel you are in peace and quiet, a place to relax and enjoy, the flickering sun thru the palms and the beutiful white sand beach and lovely clear waters. Snorkeling or scuba is a delight here. Water is warm and inviting. Native fisherman trowing their nets or bringing back the days catch in thier wooden sailboats. Windsurfer and kayak available for use.
A very safe place, as there is night watchman on duty and guard dogs. We felt very safe on the beach and also in wandering about the small town of Las Galeras as the people of the town were very friendly and helpful.
The town phamacy gave very good service, getting medication within 4 hrs for us.
The hotel includes an excellent breakfast with fresh fruits and juces, your choice of cerials, breads, eggs, etc. Lots of different places to choose from to eat lunch or supper within a couple of blocks..
Miles of beach available to walk, and lots of day trip options by car or boat, on your own or fully hosted and guided.
Excellent staff and a wonderful visit, - definately going back next year.

Room Tip: Choice of 1st avoids the stairs. all rooms face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erickay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Very pleasant hotel with lovely grounds on the beach in Las Galeras (very short walk from town). Room was clean, bright, large and airy with large balcony overlooking the grounds and views down to the beach. Comfy bed with mosquito net (so you can leave open the windows and double balcony doors). Ceiling fans. AC costs extra. Room furnishings are very basic, but have pretty good lighting. Bathtub and bath floor tiles are a bit tired and stained, but the place seemed clean.

Very friendly staff and nice dogs that love to swim with the guests and chase sticks.

Breakfast is extra, but worth it - eggs, bread, butter, jams, coffee and hot milk, juice and a huge platter of fruit.

The management let me keep a bottle of wine in the cooler in the kitchen.

Good internet access from lobby and porch.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room on the corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rorinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
409 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

When we were shown our room, the view from the verendah took my breath away. This is a beautiful, tasteful and understated hotel right on the beach. Just walk through the garden and you are on a typical white sand, palm trees, turquoise sea, Dominican beach. The room is lovely, the balcony a perfect palce to sit with a rum and coke and a book! I just loved this place. Las Galeras is still a lovely little village. Obviously the restaurants and cafes cater to tourists and you will see plenty of white faces, but it caters more to the independant traveller. There is a new, fabulous restaurant called Los Tainos - about 5 minutes walk from Todo Blanco. I recommend getting a boat round to Playa Fronton - a wonderful beach where you can snorkel. You will only share it with a handful of other tourists. We also adored Playita beach - fairly empty on weekdays but a Dominican party beach at weekends with a wonderful atmosphere. An easy walk through countryside from Las Galeras - take the road opposite the bank. Las Galeras beach is a fabulous beach for walking on - there is an all- inclusive further round on the beach but you can't see it from Las Galeras and most of the tourists there seem to stay put on their sunbeds. It is easy to get a gua-gua between Las Galeras and Samana - the locals are very helpful. If you need a taxi instead when you get off the bus in Samana, bargain hard. Maurizio will arrange trips for you - we went to Los Haiteses to see the caves. It is an amazing place but there were loads of tourists there and it was very crowded. Try to go early if you go.
Maurizio is the charming Italian manager of Todo Blanco and will do anything to help you. It is a wonderful hotel - I only have one criticism and that is the breakfast which costs 6 euros. As I don't eat eggs all I really got for 6 euros was a rather small plate of fruit. Better to avoid breakfast here and head round to the delightful Boulangerie Marseilleuse and get fresh croissants! They also do a fabulous warm goats cheese salad for lunch. Get your own fruit at the supermarket. I highly recommend Todo Blanco - breakfast is served in a delightful setting - you'll get a little fruit, some eggs and a bit of french bread for your 6 euros. Apart from my breakfast gripe I have no criticisms at all - just perfect. Loved the 4 dogs too!! Leave the doors to the balcony open at night and listen to the sea as you sleep. Sigh...........

Room Tip: All rooms have a verandah overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

If you are visiting Las Galleras you should, without question, stay at Todo Blanco. We spent two nights there as part of a trip that included Las Tarenas and Santo Domingo. Todo Blanco was easily the most relaxing venue. The building and rooms are spacious and well kept. Our room was on the second floor with a view of the ocean that was obstructed only by the occasional palm tree. The large balcony doors and side windows allowed us to sleep with a gentle ocean breeze the entire night. The real highlight of the hotel, however, is the grounds and proximity to the beach. The building is set a couple hundred feet back from the beach. The intervening space is made up of beautifully manicured gardens. There are plenty of places to relax and enjoy the view, including a small bungalow with a pair of hammocks that sway in the trade winds. The hotel also organized a trip to Playa Rincon (perhaps the highlight of entire stay in the DR—if you go, don’t just stay where the boat drops you off. Walk all the way to the other end of the beach and spend the day between the freshwater stream and the ocean) and provided plenty of advice about the area.

The hotel manager, Maurizio, is fantastic. He made our entire stay comfortable and provided valuable advice without us even asking. When we mentioned that we were planning on taking the local bus to Samana in order to catch another bus to Santo Domingo, he told us that he had to go into the city later and offered to drive us there free of charge. As a result, we got several more hours on the beach and comfortable trip directly to the Samana bus station. I wouldn’t plan on free rides if I were you, but I would definitely expect fantastic service and an exceedingly relaxing few days.

Breakfast is not included, but for 6 Euros apiece we had a delicious spread of eggs, fresh baguettes (with Guyaba spread and pineapple marmelade), an enormous plate of fresh fruit, and unlimited coffee—all served on a shaded patio with a view of the ocean. It was more than we typically spend on breakfast during, but well worth it in this case.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRC2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Galeras hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Lusitania
Plaza Lusitania
#3 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel el Marinique
Hotel el Marinique
#4 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 20 in Las Galeras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#1 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa la Plantacion
Villa la Plantacion
#10 of 20 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Todo Blanco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Todo Blanco Hotel

Property: Todo Blanco Hotel
Address: Beachfront Boutique Hotel | Main Beach - Downtown, Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Las Galeras
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Boutique Hotel Todo Blanco in Las Galeras, Samana Peninsula in Dominican Republic. One of the Best Rated Hotels in Las Galeras. Great location downtown right on the beach. Come spend an unforgettable vacation with us ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Todo Blanco Hotel Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing