We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Backpackers hostel at a Caribbean price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Hacienda Hostel Ranch
huarez
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is a Backpackers hostel at a Caribbean price!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I admit, after traveling all day, we were disappointed at the accommodations when we arrived. This is bare bones basic and having backpacked in South America we know basic! Our fan was missing its cover, but still worked. There are no screens in the windows nor mosquito netting in the rooms. A big let down in this environment. One of the beds legs broke when we first sat down. Location was the best feature. We could walk to multiple beaches from the hostel and would recommend taking the hike up to the mirador. There is a shared kitchen, however, remember to bring ur own salt, pepper, n cooking oil. There are many cats and dogs on site. wifi did not work for me. There is no hot water. We did not see nor were told of any fruit available. Karin did help us w/renting a motorbike. For $35 a night we would've hoped for just a little more effort put into the place and better communication with guests.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    15
    4
    0
    9
See reviews for
13
17
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

For anyone that is into the packlacking lifestyle and adventure, THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU. After backpacking with my brother and his girlfriend for a couple weeks I can honestly say the best part of the trip was had at Karin's beautiful home situated in the hills a short walk from the most amazing beaches you will see in this country (I'm from Santiago). Karin treated us as if we were family and gave us a ton if mangos! Karin's house is located minutes away from some of the most beautiful hiking trails (go to playa rincon by foot!) and beaches! All I can say is this is a must go place for backpackers in the DR.

Room Tip: Might want a bug net depending in the season for the Mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Maybe it used to be legit, but now it is a hovel. It is a solid 30 minute walk from town with NO transportation options...including a very steep hill. There is NO garden (as advertised) or food options,NO drinking water, broken fans, and NO screens (or mosquito nets) on the windows. The kitchen (to make your own food) is outside and barely functional. There were cockroaches and tarantulas everywhere. Karin has genuine concern for her animals but fails miserably at offering hospitality to humans. IT'S NOT WORTH THE HASSLE OF GETTING THERE!!! There are several other hotels and resorts closer to Las Galeras that are worth the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebex1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novara, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I've been at "La Rancheta" for a night, but i would surely come back. The bungalows are basic, there isn't hot water, but it is a very common condition in DR, unless you want to close yourself in a resort and lose completely every contact with the outside world. It's a fitting accomodation for eco-turists.

The prices are excellent, the location in great and cozy, and the owner, the belgian Ronald is funny and really helpful. He loves the place where he lives and knows it very well, he even drew for us a map showing the long path to reach Playa Fronton, achievement we accomplished without a dominican guide.

For the weary european travelers sick of drinking horrible dominican beers, Ronald keeps a selection of excellent belgian beers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerioGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I spent a few days at La Ranchetta guesthouse after reading some amazing reviews about the area in the Globe and Mail newspaper (canadian). Our pre-booked ride from the airport was 45 min late, and then we spent 30min. waiting at a garage so the vehicle could be repaired before getting here.
After the first nights sleep we were scrambling to find an earlier flight home. The place is absolutely a hole. Yes, I understand I was lucky enough to be born into an amazing country, but I have many different experiences such as week long backpacking expeditions and canoeing the rivers of northern ontario and quebec. I also own a hobby farm. I know what 'roughing it' means. This place is beyond that. It is actually filthy. There were roaches in the house, in the drinking glasses, on the walls. The ant situation was so bad we were getting bitten when ever we had food out. Not only is there no hot water, there were 2 evenings/nights that the owner had turned the water off completely. We had a lot of rain on our trip and to come back home damp to only a damp sheet on the bed was awful. No other bedding was available. The roof leaked as well. The amount of cats on the property is fine, but they were using the gardens around our house as their litter box and the smell with the dampness was wretched. It was even nauseating. Our house only had screens stapled to window frames and the mosquito nets on the beds were full of holes = lots of bites overnight. The roosters were plentiful, crowing at 4am in every direction possible, and with no glass in the windows its damn near impossible to catcha decent sleep. Not to mention all the neighbours were very loud until about the time the roosters woke up.
Las Galeras is a beautiful area, but all the trips and walks to other beaches can be accomplished if you stay at the all-inclusive Grande Paradise Resort only 5min from La Ranchetta - at least you will be guaranteed a better nights sleep, hot water, food, and blankets.
I would not recommend this place to anyone travelling to the area as its an absolute horror. Thank god our airline had seats left on an earlier flight and we were able to cut our 'vacation' in half and beeline home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank germangrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Just outside of Las Galeras, easily reachable by foot during the day, and by motoconcho at night, La Hacienda is a little treat: few rooms over an open-air patio with a small but equipped kitchen, bananas and mangos to pick freely in the garden and fresh eggs from the few hens in the garden. It is a small retreat paradise if you look for some quiete in the bustling life of DR. And none knows the tours that you can do around Las Galeras like the owner/host, Karin. Great price for what you get! Loved it! Thank you, Karin!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

cute place and Mai goes out of his way to be helpful, with great advice as to where to go and explore. La Rancheta with its great breakfast is right next door.
The roaming roosters next door were charming but early risers! I think this was a one time event however.

Room Tip: there are either one or two villas available and both are quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelope1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Galeras hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#4 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bungalows of Las Galeras
Bungalows of Las Galeras
#3 of 20 in Las Galeras
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa La Caleta
Villa La Caleta
#11 of 20 in Las Galeras
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 20 in Las Galeras
405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 4 in Las Galeras
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa la Plantacion
Villa la Plantacion
#10 of 20 in Las Galeras
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hacienda Hostel Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hacienda Hostel Ranch

Property: La Hacienda Hostel Ranch
Address: Calle al Faro, Las Galeras 32000, Dominican Republic (Formerly La Rancheta & La Hacienda Hostel)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Hacienda Hostel Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hacienda Hostel Ranch Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing