We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Hacienda Hostel Ranch
Nearby Hotels
Hotel el Marinique(Las Galeras)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$437
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas(Santa Barbara de Samana)
US$79
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nuevo Amanecer(Santa Barbara de Samana)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Serena Hotel(Las Galeras)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cotubanama Samana(Santa Barbara de Samana)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
41
15
4
0
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
15
4
0
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridegave great adviceoutdoor kitchenwonderful beachspent nightsevery morninghorsesnatureflemishhostsboatcoconutwhalesexcursionsfrench
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed 8 nights with Karin and loved every moment of it. Karin is very welcoming and has a great love for animals. She gave us a lot of advice with regards the nature and local attractions. Karins offers a horse trek only accessible by foot / boat which is not to be missed. The garden is full homegrown organic food, amazing views, environmentally conscious and has a quirky Gaudi style stone tower to stay in. Las Galeras is a short walk away half of the walk is over looking the bay and the rest is along the beach. There are several walks at her doorstep as well as isolated beaches. This is the perfect place to unwind and have a laugh. A few nights we went out as a group to some of the local restaurants and for a couple of drinks, we had a lot of fun. I really hope to revisit Karin, Pauline and the tranquility of La Hacienda.

Room Tip: Prices are very reasonable.This place is perfect for families, couples and solo travellers. In the future I would definitely book the Gaudi tower to share with my boyfriend, it has a quirky clever design!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at La Hacienda for four nights. Our thoughts about the place in retrospect, is that Karin is a very nice host. She was very helpful with reservations at local restaurant and tours. We had a beautiful day of horsebackriding to Playa Madama, that Karin arranged. Karin knows a lot about the nature, the area and the animals, which she cares a lot about. It seems to be a story about all the animals at her home.
It's a 25-30 min walk from La Hacienda to the centre of Las Galeras, but the beach is closer. If you prefer, you can take a Moto from town to La Hacienda for 100 Pesos. It is possible to take a regular taxi as well, but the price is higher.

All together, La Hacienda is a nice place to stay if you like peace and quiet and are comfortable with animals.

Greetings from the Norwegian backpackers!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Siljiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

we stayed 2 nights and ist was horrible. Karin is not friendly at all. She only cares for her pets and horses. You dont get drinking water. The matresses are rotten. It is too far to walk to the village. The garden is ugly and there are the hores in the garden. There is no transportation. We really felt bad.

There is no relation to El Ranchito beside the Website. Ron is a ver friendly and helpful person and cooks good. The houses are not in best shape - but it is near to the beach and we felt reall good to stay there, eat there and enjoy the wonderful garden.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franzluisxaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I admit, after traveling all day, we were disappointed at the accommodations when we arrived. This is bare bones basic and having backpacked in South America we know basic! Our fan was missing its cover, but still worked. There are no screens in the windows nor mosquito netting in the rooms. A big let down in this environment. One of the beds legs broke when we first sat down. Location was the best feature. We could walk to multiple beaches from the hostel and would recommend taking the hike up to the mirador. There is a shared kitchen, however, remember to bring ur own salt, pepper, n cooking oil. There are many cats and dogs on site. wifi did not work for me. There is no hot water. We did not see nor were told of any fruit available. Karin did help us w/renting a motorbike. For $35 a night we would've hoped for just a little more effort put into the place and better communication with guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

For anyone that is into the packlacking lifestyle and adventure, THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU. After backpacking with my brother and his girlfriend for a couple weeks I can honestly say the best part of the trip was had at Karin's beautiful home situated in the hills a short walk from the most amazing beaches you will see in this country (I'm from Santiago). Karin treated us as if we were family and gave us a ton if mangos! Karin's house is located minutes away from some of the most beautiful hiking trails (go to playa rincon by foot!) and beaches! All I can say is this is a must go place for backpackers in the DR.

Room Tip: Might want a bug net depending in the season for the Mosquitos.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews