We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for expats”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Victorio's - CLOSED

Victorio's
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just for expats”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Went here for a quick, light dinner one evening, just a sandwich and a pizza. Both were OK, with good imported meats, but not so exciting. The plastic chairs and tables on a simple deck along the main street in Las Galeras don't make for a very relaxing atmosphere.

Many items on the menu were unavailable (including basic Dominican drink options); the waiter (a tall thin Italian guy, right out of Central Casting) seemed surprised and a bit annoyed that we would want to order those things. Best to stick to Italian here in matters of food, drink, and even language, as he didn't have a very firm grasp of either Spanish or English.

I must say that most of the other patrons (every single one a chain-smoking European, mostly Italians, mostly expats, many drunk) seemed to be having a good time, so they must be keeping the regulars happy. I would not recommend it for anyone else.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dougherucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good panini”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We got our lunch at Da Vittorio, 6 persons, we all had panini, cheese panini and tuna, good and big paninis which we can recommend and the service was friendly as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place to hang out!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Our favorite place to eat! We were a large group of 8 including three children. The cook and waiters were very accommodating, making changes in the menu for us. The waiters were super fun and funny, full of stories. They made us great drinks as well. They really wanted us to have a good time and did just about anything to please us.
-Tanya

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service, average pizza”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Unfortunately New York has set my standard for pizza very high. But the service was kind and the owners definitely seemed to be true Italians.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rio5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular pizza at a very humble place on the main drag.”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The owner and her little family are great fun. She is a thin, pretty Italian who is a joy to watch at work--the hardest-working pizza cook you have ever seen. The waiter is an aging Italian hippie with lots of stories to tell. Thin crust, great sauces and toppings--afterwards, good (not great gelati). Lots of the local expatriates hang our here, speaking Italian or Dutch or French.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heraclitean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victorio's also viewed

Las Galeras, Samana Province
 
Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing