We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than expected!”
Review of Villa Caribena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Caribena
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Even better than expected!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I traveled to the DR for a workshop and when it was finished, my colleagues/friends and I wanted to spend some extra time there. Las Galeras was recommended. I found infolasgaleras.com and booked the Villa Caribena with Yocasty Artiles, the manager of several properties in the area. The villa is absolutely perfect--2 bed, 2 bath, kitchen facilities and a cook/housekeeper if you want it. But what was most helpful was Yocasty-she bent over backwards to make us comfortable. My friend had to leave early due to a family emergency and she helped with the arrangements without question. She's a true gem! Even if you don't stay at the villa (but you should!), you can find Yocasty at her office, Caribbean Way. She can book excursions for you, give advice and her husband can sell you a property in paradise!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roa
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The villa was wonderful. We really enjoyed walking out the back door to look at the views of the ocean in the morning. The villa is located just a block and a half from downtown so you have easy access to restaurants and grocery shopping. It is also within close walking distance to la playita. We traveled with a four year old and enjoyed the short walking distance. The villa itself was a beautiful place to relax. And the place seemed very secure. Which didn't seem true of all the hotels in las galeras. Some friends of ours stayed in La Cueva and experinced a break in. The managers live next door and were very helpful in helping us book tours and restaurant reservations. The managers try to dissapear and stay out of the way of guests to give them a sense of privacy. But, they checked in with us daily to see if we needed anything which was very helpful. I highly reccomend aking the manager to have the local fisherman deliver fish directly to your villa. It's incredibly cheap and the fish is caught and delivered straight from the beach. I also reccomend asking the villa manager to make a reservation at El Cabito. It is probably one of the most beautiful restaurants I've ever visited but requires a reservation. The villa was wonderful. We would definitley come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and I recently spent a week at this villa. The hosts, who live next door, are warm and welcoming and very helpful in suggesting place to visit etc. The home and property are absolutely lovely and the view is wonderful. It has everything you need. It is a short walk from a couple of nice beaches, and from the town itself, which has a number of restaurants. With a vehicle it is possible to explore some of the countryside from this location (but expect the side roads to be a bit rough in places). I highly recommend this villa if you want to enjoy some tropical peace and quiet (excepting the sound of lapping waves!)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond,Va
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Stayed 5 glorious days at Villa Caribena with our daughters (16 and 20). Was spacious, clean with drinking water and all amenities. The view and large porch were wonderful and it was an easy walk to town and a short but rugged walk to the beautiful beach of la Playita. The bonus was the added security, house-keeping, gardener and neighbors who functioned as our hosts and tour guides. They helped us get oriented and made the arrangements for our horseback and boat rides as well as the taxi that took us back to Samana. Very helpful!! The town is small and simple but a great chance to experience another culture. Very little English is spoken so be prepared! It was a wonderful vacation for us with a few days in Santo Domingo at either end. We loved it!!

  • Liked — the location - porch with lawn and view of the water
  • Disliked — had to walk to sandy beach
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
0.1 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 4 in Las Galeras
187 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 3 in Santa Barbara de Samana
108 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 34 in Las Terrenas
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#4 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Samana
Sunset Samana
#9 of 20 in Las Galeras
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 20 in Las Galeras
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caribena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caribena

Property: Villa Caribena
Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Caribena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caribena Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing