We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood at its Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Pescador

El Pescador
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Las Galeras
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Pescador offers a wide variety of foods inspired by Spanish, Basque and Creole cuisine. Its specialty is seafood paella, but the menu also features a delicious selection of fish and seafood such as crab, shrimp, conch, octopus and squid.Behind the colonial style building lies an open-air patio, where delicious pizzas prepared in a wood fired oven are sure to please children and adults alike.A cosy atmosphere and great prices set us apart from the competition.For a dining experience you are sure to remember, visit us at El Pescador.--------------------------------------El Pescador ofrece una amplia variedad gastronomica con influencias de la cocina espanola, vasca y criolla. Su especialidad es la paella de marisco. Pero tambien ofrece deliciosas variedades de pescados y mariscos como cangrejo, camarones, lambi, pulpos y calamares.Es una preciosa construccion con patio al aire libre en el mas puro estilo colonial, donde en su horno de lena se cocinan las mas exquisitas pizzas para delicia de ninos y mayores.Tiene un ambiente agradable con una muy buena relacion calidad/precio.Llevese el recuerdo de una muy buena experiencia en El Pescador.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Seafood at its Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

OMG...such a thrill to have a wonderful little restaurant such as this one in Las Galeras! Everything from the freshly made scrumptious octopus salad, to the mouthwatering Dorado fish to the homemade ice cream (i.e. banana, mango, coconut), defies an adequate description from this self-proclaimed food snob critic! And to top it off...all delivered with such excellent service and a friendly smile from the owner himself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deb-terr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    35
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“Our Regular Dining Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We eat here regularly. It is the only place we can find consistantly tasty and original dinner selections and service....oh my, the calamari is mouth watering good! We do not have kids but the comfortable dining areas are set up for both families and cocktailing. The dorado is exceptional. Excellent service with a smile. I like that the owner takes an active part in the operation and enjoy havibg a glass of good wine with him during his tableside inquiry of our opinion of his dishes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samanaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening with friends. Friendly service, nice ambiance, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Although El Pescador has an extensive menu which includes lots of fish (pescado) and seafood, all four of us were in the mood for pizza. Partly thanks to the wood burning pizza oven, the pizza was delicious, with a nice, thin, crispy crust, just like we all wanted. And they didn't skimp on the toppings, either. Because of the reasonable price, we weren't sure that two pizzas would be enough for four hungry folks, so we also ordered an octopus salad as an appetizer. It was fantastic. I for one plan to go back for nothing but that one day soon. FYI: Unless you're really hungry, one pizza is probably large enough for two people. But if you're in doubt, try the octopus salad. You won't be sorry. (Except for the poor octopus.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mojácar, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the best food & service in las galeras !!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

for comfort, price & flavor...the best !!!! nice to see such good food for the price will be back real soon ....great to see somewhere with a wood oven that work.s so well ..cant go wrong eating there.......

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranciscoCorrea06, Owner at El Pescador, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Google Translation
Gracias Gayne y compañia por tu comentario.

Me gusta conocer personas que aprecian la buena comida y los lugares agradables estais en vuestra casa y siempre sereis bien recibidos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great fish soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We thought this was a great spot. I loved the fish soup and my husband liked the fresh grouper with the house sauce. It was a nice atmosphere too!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weekendgypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Pescador also viewed

Las Galeras, Samana Province
 
Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 
Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 

Been to El Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing