We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place ever!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Villa Serena is a magical place. Completely relaxing and rejuvenating. The view from the hotel is like a painting.. absolutely breathtaking and the grounds are kept up meticulously at all times.

The hotel is right on the beach and surrounded by other gorgeous beaches that you can either hike too or take a boat. There's also a pool right on the grounds if you feel like just staying by the hotel for the day or switching it up. The staff are friendly and warm and always going out of their way to make sure your comfortable and have everything you need. The rooms are spacious and welcoming and the food at the restaurant is top notch and reasonably priced.

This is a very special place. I can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Villa Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2015
Dear Greg,


We would like to thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us, and for highlighting our stuff service, spacious rooms and restaurant quality!

Thank you for the recommendations, we're hoping to welcome you soon again!


Best,
Marina Vesanovic-Dvornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    51
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
102
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Villa Serena offers everything a traveler can dream of: luscious, beautifully landscaped and perfectly kept garden, a quaint little beach right in front of the property and a very nice swimming pool, very spacious and welcoming rooms, attentive and very professional personnel, relaxed and elegant colonial-inspired decor.
The view is great from every room, the food at the restaurant is excellent and the closest beach, La Playita, is a little paradise. The hotel manager, Rosalba, is absolutely exquisite and manages to effortlessly make everybody feel at home.
Unfortunately, we could only stay there two days - but now that we know how beautiful it is there we will make sure to spend at least a week the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Room 17, there is no question about it! Enormous corner room with king bed and two very spacious ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marina60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pachino, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed a Villa Serena for 2 nights , it has been a really and great colonial place to be!!
Lovely Swimming pool, top and natural breakfast, nice staff and great ocean wiew around with lots of flawours in the Villa!!!!!!!!
We did'nt expect such wonderfoul place, it was our honey moon Holiday, and we had a nice bottle of Champagne in our fantastic room!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NebbioloRiesling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Villa Serena is something out of a time-warp -- what I imagine top-flight Caribbean hotels were like in the Caribbean 30 years ago. This does not mean that the VS is at all run-down; the grounds are meticulously maintained, everything is pristine, and the overall experience is delightful. Most rooms have a view of the sea and are very spacious. There is a pool, and access to the sea (to call the few steps that lead to a patch of sand a beach would be stretching the truth), bicycles, kayaks, and pleasant grounds. The breakfasts include fresh fruit, juice, stale bread, and omelets/eggs. Dinner was quite pedestrian -- the kitchen definitely needs some livening up. The hotel is a five minute walk from downtown (such as it is!) Las Galeras and within walking distance to several beaches. The hotel is also very reasonably priced. Overall impression: if you want an ultra-modern resort with cable TV, AC in every room, gourmet restaurants, a large sandy beach on the premises, an air-conditioned lobby and tons of gift shops and organized activities, VS is not for you. If you want a pleasant, gracious stay in a Caribbean time warp for a bargain price, in a spot not yet flooded with tourists, this is the place for you! Final observation: the employees are uniformly polite and helpful; the owners/administration less so.

Room Tip: There is a $10 price differential between AC and non-AC rooms; despite the ocean breezes, it's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niloc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My BF and I stayed at Villa Serena for three days in May 2013 as part of a 10 Day trip in DR. We had originally planned to stay two but as soon as we arrived and looked out to the ocean, we knew that two nights would not be enough. When we arrived the front desk staff was welcoming in a quiet manner. May is low season and there was only one other guest at the hotel when we arrived so everything was very low key. The staff did seem to warm up and became a little friendlier each day. I think by American standards, they just seemed a little shy, especially the housekeepers and wait staff in the restaurant. I think some of them were not very confident in their English skills. We also tried our best in Spanish.

Our first night we had a delicious dinner at the restaurant. I remember my BF enjoying a Caribbean shrimp dish. The menu is fairly limited and a little pricey for DR, but American wines are cheap. We enjoyed omelets every day for breakfast and the delicious fresh juices

The grounds and gardens are absolutely breathtaking. Everyday the housekeepers would put fresh flowers in our room. Our room was on the second floor with a lovely queen size bed and a balcony with an amazing view of the grounds and the ocean. The room was very clean as well. We also enjoyed the pool everyday as the sun was setting. It was very refreshing after the beach.

To complain about the beach at Villa Serena is ridiculous because there are so many incredible beaches nearby. To make the most of a trip to Las Galeras, everyone needs to take a boat out to Playa Ricon, which is an amazing and pristine beach. It is a short boat trip which the front desk can arrange for you. We checked and the price was about the same if a boat captain picks you up at the hotel or you get a boat at the main beach in town. There are also great little restaurants run by locals who will cook you freshly caught fish for a great beach lunch. Take a boat, not an ATV so you can see the amazing cliffs and shoreline. We didn't visit Fronton on this trip (we will next time), but we heard that it is an even more spectacular and remote beach. Also Playita is a wonderful little beach which is just a short walk from Villa Serena.

Overall, we can't wait to go back and we would definitely stay at Villa Serena again. As it was low season many of the area restaurants were closed, but we did find some really memorable places. Make sure you check out El Cabito for cocktails and dinner at sunset. The views of the ocean and the cliffs are stunning. We also had an incredible lunch of freshly caught shrimp with a lovely fresh mushroom sauce at Yoni and Yes Papa! Yoni the chef is very talented. He made the best frites that I have ever had. Michele the proprietor is quite a character. We had a lively conversation in English, Spanish and French about Michele's former occupation as a stuntman. He will break out his scrapbook. The gelato at Plaza Lusitania is also a real treat. Get chocolate and coconut.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the second floor. The corner rooms with hammocks also looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smpowell26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed there 3 night out of 8 night in DR as part of our honeymoon trip that we planned for 4 months .
We booked our room in advance after reading the good reviews on tripadvisor looking at the hotel web site . having confirmed booking for AC room in a Honeymoon package we expected this place to be romantic relaxing getaway .
After a long drive for SD (more than 3hr) we arrived there tired, we welcomed really poorly, not even a smile or a greet .
The room we received was with two separate beds! no poster bed & spacious room as we have seen on the web site.
we went back to front desk and expressed our disappointment at the front desk , in return without apologizing or even trying compromise us, hotel manager reprimand us and said "who even book his honeymoon 5 months after the wedding ?" . We never received such rude & humiliating service in our life . we had to delay our honeymoon due to unfortunate reason , this is not for him to decide for us when to take our trip especially when the reservation was confirm weeks ahead .
If it wasn't dark already and such hard and long drive from anywhere. we would have left at very same moment ..
Eventually we were offered to stay in another room without AC, claiming the hotel is fully booked . Hotel cancellation policy does not allow money return since we already there .

Hotel ground is really beautiful can't argue with that, Pictures on website are little misleading in regards to Room, beach and the bridge/path out the the little house/structure in the ocean that is Not part of their property, it's next door private property .

Room: Clean, Outdated decoration, furniture and linen , No WiFi or TV.

Restaurant : really simple menu, not much choices ,OK food , a bit pricey - I would suggest to spent 7 minutes walk to Las gellers town and find much affordable choices .

Breakfast: Was Ok, nothing exciting . fresh fruit , eggs to your choice , dry old bread, coffee and fresh juice .
The pool: nothing special and cheap lounge chairs.
Beac: Not really accessible(only when the tide goes out) -so nothing to say here .

Staff /housekeeper (aside of hotel manager & front desk): Really nice & friendly .

At the 4 days stay most of time was rainy so we had not much to do there. Hotel was too remote from other attraction that are reachable by 4x4 only or arranging overpriced excursion Via Hotel was out of question Needless to say we did not want to spend any additional $ in this place.

Bottom line: I would not recommend, It was not even close to what expected as a romantic getaway . We belive that are much better places in this area closer to the broader & nicer
beach .

Room Tip: Reconfirm (Insist) that you are getting what you paid for prior to arrival !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dafna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My wife and I were at Villa Serena for three nights. Views to the sea and the gardens are really wonderful as pictures show in Trip Advisor, it really looks like honeymoon type of hotel. Staff is very nice. We were quite unlucky in our first night, since we stayed in a room not in the main building. The room was really old, and not very well kept, compared to what you seen in pictures. But as already planed, we moved to another room for the second night, and it was much better. Breakfast is all right, just a shame you don't get to taste the local food. We did not eat at the restaurant, but people we had met really enjoyed it, which is said to be among the best in Galeras. But finally, I must confess after reading all reviews and seeing all pictures here in Trip Advisor, I really had higher expectations concerning Villa Serena.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BHohmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
24.9 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
438 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
549 reviews
24.0 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel el Marinique
Hotel el Marinique
#4 of 5 in Las Galeras
38 reviews
8.2 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#2 of 5 in Las Galeras
3,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Serena Hotel

Property: Villa Serena Hotel
Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Serena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Serena Hotel Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing