We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”
Review of Villa Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Loved our stay”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Me and my husband went there for our wedding anniversary on feb 20th 2014 !
We were so glad that we chose this hotel for the occasion !
the staffs are great and very friendly ! Ready to help anytime !
the views are spectacular from the hotel and all the beaches and good resturants are just 10 min walking distance !
will surely visit again :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    53
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
104
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We chose Las Galeras to get away from the all-inclusive madness, and we're glad we did.
Villa Serena is wonderful colonial style building with around twenty rooms. The rooms are spacious, clean and all have balconies with sea views.
The tropical gardens are one of the highlights, with a small pool and direct access to the sea. There are ample sun beds, and plenty of privacy. From what we saw of Las Galeras the sea was better for swimming by the Villa Serena than anywhere else in the small town. There also appeared to be a cooling breeze by the hotel which made the temperature seem very bearable.
We ate in several restaurants in the town, which was a ten minute stroll from the hotel, but to be honest the best food we had all week was in the hotel itself. The Lobster we had one night was the best Lobster we have ever had anywhere in the world ever, ever, ever. Perhaps the only reason we ate out of the hotel was the atmosphere was a little bit too formal for our liking.
The staff were all wonderful, especially the lovely girls in the restaurant.
The rooms would appear to vary however. Some have chaise longue and hammocks on the balconies, some have queen size beds and our room had two small doubles, or two large singles!!
We asked to change rooms but the hotel was fully booked. Many of the German guests were on package holidays.
All in all, we feel we made the right choice in Las Galeras. The town itself was very quiet while we were staying there. Quite often we were the only people in the restaurant. But the town is very laid back, with some great beaches nearby.
We also feel that from what we saw of alternative accommodation, Villa Serena was also the best choice of hotel in Las Galeras.

Room Tip: The rooms with the best views were in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bittonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Villa Serena is a beautiful place to vacation. The staff is friendly, and it is as lovely and unspoiled as a I read in reviews! Our large family enjoyed the fantastic views, kayaking out to the island, sipping on fresh coconut milk, swimming in the pool and bicycling around- the ideal tropical vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We came from 3 nights in Las Terrenas and both agreed that it would take something special to impress us.

This was special. This was unique.

The number of times we looked at each other and said "Oh my God, this is so much too good to be true". Fantastic garden, fantastic view, lovely, helpful staff. Everything you can ask for when you're looking for peace and harmony without being bored.

This is not classic 5 Star Luxury, but it's 10 times more magic than any Luxury Hotel may offer you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Decided to have a long weekend here following a recommendation.
As soon as we arrived we were met by the most breathtaking view of the ocean and a tiny island. As a fellow reviewer said, it was like something from a movie!
Our bedroom was very clean, spacious and at every opportunity we were just gazing at the beautiful view.
The hotel was so peaceful and tranquil but the downside was that it took ages to be served a cocktail around the pool or simply to get a staff member's attention.
The only other criticism was the food offered by the hotel.
We never ate in the hotel for dinner as the menu did not look very inviting and there was not enough breakfast nor much variety.
If the food is sorted and the service improved - this place would be perfect!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I absolutely loved this place. I could wake up and open my porch door and see what looked like a scene from a movie...gorgeous ocean behind a great pool and pretty garden. I felt at home the whole wee walking around without shoes on from my room to breakfast, to the beach, to the pool, to the deck. The staff is great and helpful for figuring out acceptable rates or coordinating trustworthy guides since we knew little spanish.
the views look exactly like the pics on the site. most relaxing trip in years. cant wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dave e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Villa Serena is a magical place. Completely relaxing and rejuvenating. The view from the hotel is like a painting.. absolutely breathtaking and the grounds are kept up meticulously at all times.

The hotel is right on the beach and surrounded by other gorgeous beaches that you can either hike too or take a boat. There's also a pool right on the grounds if you feel like just staying by the hotel for the day or switching it up. The staff are friendly and warm and always going out of their way to make sure your comfortable and have everything you need. The rooms are spacious and welcoming and the food at the restaurant is top notch and reasonably priced.

This is a very special place. I can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Villa Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2015
Dear Greg,


We would like to thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us, and for highlighting our stuff service, spacious rooms and restaurant quality!

Thank you for the recommendations, we're hoping to welcome you soon again!


Best,
Marina Vesanovic-Dvornik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
24.9 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
24.0 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#3 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 20 in Las Galeras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Serena Hotel

Property: Villa Serena Hotel
Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Serena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Serena Hotel Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing