We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway Spot”
Review of Hotel el Marinique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel el Marinique
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Las Galeras
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Getaway Spot”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is close enough to the town that one can walk to everything, a rather short distance, actually. Also, the hotel removed enough so the typical, very loud music prevailing all over DR cannot be heard.

Added bonus: its location cuts down to zero the number of walking services peddlers. So, "convenient privacy" is the operating term here.

We arrived at the beginning of July, which is the Low Season. We had the tiny hotel to ourselves, with the exception of two couples that arrived 2 days later, but stayed only one night.

Because of it being the Low Season, the restaurant at the hotel offered just breakfast. This is understandable because the town, as I learned from the locals had no tourists either. Besides, there are plenty of other restaurants in town.

BTW, the breakfast was included in the price. Although, it was basic. None the less, the bread was freshly made in-house, so was the delicious papaya marmalade. Also, all the coffee (very good quality, I must add) one could drink, pretty much.

The rooms:
We looked at the prices, looked at a few reviews, followed the recco's posted, and opted for the loft apartment. It is only a few more dollars a night, and definitely well worth it.

The apartments are spacious, 2-story lofts, with full kitchens, including range, fridge, sink, utensils and dishes, at ground level, and the bedroom, a loft, on the floor above.

There is no A/C, TV, or phone. The WiFi reaches the apartments, which are a bit far from the hub, and results in a slow internet connection at times. However, it was sufficient to allow web-based e-mail, texting, phonecalls, Skype, etc.

There are ceiling fans on the top lofts. However, given the hotel's close proximity to the Ocean shore, coupled the prevailing Trade Winds, the ceiling fan wasn't really needed except when the gentle breeze stopped blowing. We slept with all windows and balcony doors open, and didn't have any problem with mosquitoes, or other bugs. Take bug repellent, though. It is simply a good precaution.

The room's bathroom is small, but adequate. No bathtub. Then again, there is the whole Atlantic Ocean steps away. Water pressure was adequate. Plenty of hot and cold water.

Electrical power supply, and much to our surprise, was excellent, with no interruptions when needed during our stay.

The view from the balcony on the loft is fantastic. One can see the Ocean just a few yards away, and in between tall palm trees. Idyllic!

Parking is adequate and free, inside the property's perimeter wall/fence, and safe and convenient to the cabanas and apartments.

The service: The lady caring for the hotel was very pleasant, friendly and accommodating to our requests. There is also a quiet gentleman that performs late night security (6pm-6am), which added to our peace of mind.

The beach is a few yards away, and across the lot on the other side of the road. The beach in front of the hotel is a bit too rocky. However, just walk a few yards to your right and you have a couple of miles of clean, soft, white sand.

This hotel was a bit of a serendipitous find, since only occasionally pops up in google maps, and it was in the second listing row of tripadvisor. The price is reasonable. The location is excellent. Overall, and after doing much online research, we feel that this is probably the best little hotel in the area for value, location and peaceful ambiance. We shall return!

Fuel Tip (nothing to do with the hotel) - At the time of our visit there were no gas stations at all in the area. The nearest gas station is in the town of Samana, 45 KM (28 Mi) away. Fill your gas tank in Samana before heading to Las Galeras. One may buy a few beer-sized bottles (many are actually gasoline-refilled beer bottles) of gasoline from side-of-the-road stands (at a hefty double premium) in a pinch.

Room Tip: Pick the apartment loft. It is well worth the tiny price difference, and the view is truly magnifice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our first visit to the Dominican Republic was in March, 2014. We had our itinerary and reservations made for a nearly three-week stay. About half-way through our trip we visited Las Galeras for two days, after which we did not want to leave such a beautiful, off-the-beaten path, gloriously peaceful place. We decided to see if we could find a new place to stay, without prior reservations. We came across the beautiful and charming Hotel el Marinique, right in front of the beach. We hoped they might have an opening, but did not think we could afford it if they did. Not only did they have an apartment available, but to our surprise it was very reasonably priced. After our first night, we knew we could not leave. We canceled all our reservations for the remainder of our planned trip, and spent the rest of our time in the DR at the Marinique in Las Galeras. It is the first hotel built in Las Galeras right on the beach, and has the grandest beach-and-bay view you could wish for. Our apartment was spacious, clean, bright, and featured a second-floor sleeping loft with a private balcony, facing the breath-taking view of the palm-filled beach. The hotel grounds are a verdant and luxurious Caribbean garden. Wonderful, extremely tasty and hygienically-prepared meals of just about anything you could ask for were available under the roof of the hotel's open-air dining area, looking out over the same romantic view of the beach and bay. The "spirit" of this delightful, soul-satisfying place comes from its wonderful location on the Bay of the fishing village of Las Galeras, and from the owner-manager-hostess of the hotel, Nicole. She was personable, friendly, kind, and totally professional. She made us feel she was sincerely interested in us as guests and friends, rather than just customers, and never ceased to be attendant to our every need. From the very first welcome we received, to the marvelous food and service at the restaurant, to the consciencious housekeeping, our stay at the Hotel el Marinique was a complete and utter delight. The Marinique was absolutely the best decision of our entire trip. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The hotel consists of four individual bungalows or cabanas, and two apartments that include a kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We landed in D.R. for the first time in January 2014, stayed in Las Terenas for a couple days and left to find an oasis at Nicole's El Marinique Hotel in Las Galeras. What a wonderful place to have spent my birthday! I have never written a review before, but I rely on them when I travel and I sincerely feel that this place deserves another helpful review We stayed for 10 days and fell in love. If you are looking to stay away from all-inclusives and the "main drag" this is a great spot, really there is nothing which compares , if you are looking for a view to La Playa Grande. Nicole planted her entire garden 27 years ago when she first arrived... it's simply breathtaking. I which we could have stayed longer. The apt. is kept very clean and safe by an amazing staff, the bed is very comfortable, the kitchen is basic but sufficient if you are having lunch and simple dishes, bring insect repellent for night tim e( they seem to like my blood those little vampires) Don't use all the hot water at once, mix in cold water to make it last. This is the third world after all and the hot water is generated by solar panels. Wi-fi is not in the apt per-say, it's near the main house where Nicole lives, but it is reliable and you are on holiday after all so get off your devices I say, lol

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarinHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stumbled upon this small piece of paradise on a recent trip traveling through the Samana peninsula. We could not have been happier. We stayed for 4 nights in the apartment and in hind sight we wished we could have stayed longer. The grounds are so naturally beautiful and the views to the ocean are breathtaking. The small town of Las Galeras had just the right mix of amenities one needs to feel like you have gotten away, but can still grab a great meal, cocktail or pick up some snacks in one of the mercados in town. I shy away from sometimes using trip advisor because I really do not want to hear complaints on some of the most mundane issues ( pillows, towels and other small things) but if you are an independent traveler and love the graciousness of staying in a small hotel with the hospitality of on site ownership, this was the real deal. Can not wait to return and stay longer.

Room Tip: We loved the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinneapolisGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife and I spent a week in one of the apartments and ate breakfast/dinner meals at the restaurant. We were the only guests -- as it was early in the season -- and we had the entire place to ourselves. It was peaceful, quiet, and relaxing.

Nicole goes out of her way to make your stay comfortable and accommodating. She offered choices for every meal and whether the fresh fish, crab cakes, or the beef bourguignon -- every meal was a delight. Watching the full moon rise as we sip a glass of wine, made for a very romantic setting and atmosphere. And then you get to wake up to your breakfast choice of omelets, pancakes or french toast from local bread!!

Need to get rid of that stress and relax on your vacation? Then just ask Mary (who also works in the restaurant at night) for a massage, like we did EVERY DAY! $ US 25 for an hour of heaven!! Follow that with a walk on the beach (less than 2 minutes away) and a stop at the beach bar for happy hour and getting the picture of just how nice this place is.

Add in a beautiful view of the ocean and the trade winds and you have found paradise at El Marinique.

Yes, Las Galeras is off the beaten path, but it is an easy bus or taxi ride and worth the time/trip. If you want to be surrounded by a 1000 tourists, pushy crowds and loud noise -- this place isn't for you.

Room Tip: Take one of the apartments, the upstairs bedroom is roomy with a nice balcony and directly faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kailuajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I am late in writing this review, but I often think back to the time I spent here for my birthday trip 11-11-11, and all I want to do is run back as quickly as possible. Las Galeras is a beautiful town, and the people are all very friendly and gracious. Our stay at El Marinique couldn't have been better. Nicole was very friendly with us and gave us great advice on booking trips to many of the local and nearby sights. Michel is quite a charming and funny man who made our days brighter with his company. As a group of 4 single women, there was not one moment we did not feel safe or un cared for. The amenities are not outstanding, but the view is beyond belief so that's all that mattered. Don't expect a big breakfast, but the home made jam is amazing, so after having it with some toast, grab an El Presidente and head to the beach!!! It is only footsteps from your door! Without hesitation, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be off the beaten path and NOT staying in a commercialized, Americanized all-inclusive. Thank you to everyone there who made my birthday so special.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1happycitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I found El Marinique on-line and communicated with Nicole making a 3 night reservation. And, once I got there, I decided to stay a whole week. The grounds and location are beautiful, Nicole and Ruth (her assistant) are so welcoming and helpful, the location great, and the cottages and apartments suited all of my needs. You wake up each morning and walk out for your breakfast and sit in front of a view view of Las Galeras Bay. I enjoyed the breakfast each morning and also highly recommend the pancakes. I stayed a couple nights in a cottage and then “moved up” to the apartment after that. The cottage was nice but I really enjoyed the view from the second level of the apartment that overlooked the beautiful Bay of Galeras along with the hot showers, fridge, and kitchenette. Also, the rooms are well ventilated with high ceilings, ceiling fans, and lots of windows. So, I would definitely take that option on my next visit.

The hotel is right off the beach so that you can catch a boat going out to Playa Rincon, Madame, or Fronton within minutes. Also, you can run or walk for a couple miles along the beach on a beautiful soft-surfaced path. Just ask Nicole for advice as she knows the area well and was one of the original hotels welcoming guests to Las Galeras. At night you can walk out your door and be at all the frequently visited restaurants in LG in a few minutes. Also, Nicole and Ruth cooked me some tasty sandwiches for lunch when I was taking a break or between trips. I am already missing LG and look forward my next return trip to El Marinique when I visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mile429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
0.1 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 4 in Las Galeras
187 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 3 in Santa Barbara de Samana
108 reviews
24.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 34 in Las Terrenas
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#4 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 20 in Las Galeras
405 reviews
1.2 mi away
21 Palms B&B
21 Palms B&B
#2 of 20 in Las Galeras
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Marinique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Marinique

Property: Hotel el Marinique
Address: Calle Malecon #10, Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel el Marinique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Marinique Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing