We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Tropical Village
Ranked #1 of 20 Las Galeras B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camlachie, Canada
1 review
“Relaxation and Adventure”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

If you are looking for relaxation and adventure this is a great place to visit. If you are looking for something different than an all inclusive Chalet Tropical and Las Galeras is the place you should visit! You do not need to pack much, but refillable water bottles,a backpack, good walking sandals,and flashlights for walking home at night all came in handy. Learn some spanish if you can too! We knew none! We visited for one week and were sorry to leave! No need to have it all planned out ahead of time, Sarah and Darling will help you with your adventures when you are there. We did not rent a car, instead we took Sarah's advice and explored on foot, by ATV, with a jungle guide (awesome young man), three person motorcycle taxi. Horses and boats are also available. To relax we enjoyed breakfast outside on our porch, our chalet, the beautiful Playita, and walks through town. For adventure we found a trail and hiked to Playa Colorado, probably the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. Another day Sarah arranged a moto taxi, three of us on one little motorcycle (you have to experience this) which drove us to Boca del Diablo (mouth of the devil). From here we hiked with our guide Malfie, awesome young man, through the jungle with frequent natural snacks found along the way...cocunut, almonds, papaya yum! We finally reached Playa Fronton, beach only reached by foot or boat. Good for snorkeling but watch out for the sea urchins prickly black creatures they hurt. Continued our hike to playa Madama, caves and beach, beautiful! We spent the whole day with Malfie who speaks no english and we only speak english and yet somehow we learned so much about the area, the resources and the people. Good to be out of your comfort zone and enjoying the present adventure and local people. Then walked back to Chalet Tropical, slept well that night, even the roosters didn't wake us! Another adventure was renting an ATV for 24 hours (Sarah did this for us) and finding our way to Playa Rincon, if you do this find the little lady selling the coconut bread on the beach near the fresh water river, yummy! And the best ever pinacolada in a pinapple served with a spoon and a straw, eat the whole thing! Next time we will stop along the way at the road side food markets. That evening we drove our ATV to El Cabito for dinner, definately a highlight for us. Get there with lots of daylight to enjoy whales, and all the views and then the sun set! Oh ya food and Mojitos are good too!
This vacation was a great get away, to see a way of life so different from our own, in warm tropical temperatures, with people who kinda feel like family! Thanks Sarah and Darling and all the rest of the staff and the people of Las Galeras!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    51
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
104
216
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Originally we booked only 3 nights at the Chalet, hoping to visit other parts of the country and region. We fell in love with Las Galeras, the Tropical Chalet, and wished we had booked our entire stay there. We actually cancelled other reservations and came back to Tropical Chalet.
To Begin Sarah the owner is the best! She made our trip comfortable and magical.. She arranged everything we wanted and more.. Horse Back riding, snorkeling, hiking, boat rides, and bachata!! She has the warmest personality, is very knowledgeable, and available to make your trip go smoothly.
The accommodations were beautiful, relaxing, and helped melt the stress of NYC away.

We have been gone from beautiful Las Galeras only 2 weeks and we are already planning our return trip.... We miss Sarah, Darling, Simba, La Playita beach, and the Hammocks at Tropical Chalet.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Guest House Chalet room # 7 which was lovely with a great bath, view, and roun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The perfect place where you can take a rest from the more tourist areas of the Dominican Republic. Together with excellent service, people and beautiful nature around it is really a paradise on the earth. In the surroundings you can take excursions such as boat trip to some of the most beautiful beaches, go whale watching or visit the waterfall, where you will get riding on horseback.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakub_Kriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is the perfect place to enjoy gorgeous beaches, amazing food, spacious accommodations and incredible personal friendly advice on how to make the most of the area from the owner Sarah. She is wonderful and I would strongly recommend enjoying the breakfasts they can provide it is so delicious and fresh, it's not to be missed!

My wife and I honeymooned here and we are counting the days until we can return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamRini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The entire space is awesome! I loved the hospitality, food and overall excellent service. The 'blue room' in the main house was breeze, cozy and clean.

I came here over two year ago and Sarah remembered me! I will definitely come back..it's worth the journey.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florinedemosthene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Like all of the other reviews on Tripadvisor, we're happy to report that Chalet Tropical is the real deal. I'll just take a moment to reiterate what others have stated; Sarah is a fantastic host, available to assist with excursions/bookings, or just explaining how to find the hidden beach you're looking for, etc... She and/or her staff were always available, yet very unassuming. We loved our accommodations, and the photos you see on this website do a great job of showing exactly what you can expect. Overall, we really could not have been happier with Chalet Tropical and give it our highest recommendation...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doorpeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahsholim, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed in the chalet tropical village for 10 days. My original plan was to stay there for 5 days only but i just could not leave this place. I stayed with my sister in chalet no. 1 which was absolutely incredible. There is everything you need in the chalet, a kitchen fully equipped for cooking for yourself, a big lounge area and a queen size bedroom and an amazing porch where you can have you breakfast and relax. But most of all, the chalet is all built from of original style of wood in hand made style. you can be surprise in each corner of the chalet and can discover many small details that makes you feel like it can be your home. so, after 5 days i decided to stay longer and i got the opportunity to stay in chalet 1+1, this time with Dagan, my boyfriend. After being totally in love with chalet no. 1, i got in love with chalet 1+1 as well. everything in the chalet is unique and you don't see the same in each of them. in this one there is a round shower made of bricks in the middle of the chalet! that makes the place a lot more interesting and unique. The small details in the decoration of each chalet made for me the whole difference in my stay there.

More than all, I was in love with the staff. I came there in my pregnancy and i really felt like at home with a family and not in a hotel. Sarah, the manager of the place is one of the sweetest and lovely persons i met in my trips and she really took care of my well being and helped me in everything i needed.
in the area: from the chalet there is a 5 min beautiful walk to the Playita, an amazing place to chill out. from the beach you can take a boat to playa Rincon, a paradise beach and Sarah arranged for us the boat. We also had a trip to playa Fronton, a great place for snorkeling, and we went there with a local guide that works with Sarah. it was an amazing walk in the jungle and an amazing stay on the beach. The guide was very helpfull and sweet and he climbed on the coconut tree to give a coconut to each one of us. On the way back it started raining and got almost dark and Sarah came to pick us just because she got worried about us!

It's definitely a special place! It made our vacation the Best!
Thank you!
Julia, Dagan, Flavia and "little fulvio"

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
0.3 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 4 in Las Galeras
187 reviews
24.7 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
451 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 3 in Santa Barbara de Samana
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
1.0 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#4 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,656 reviews
1.5 mi away
21 Palms B&B
21 Palms B&B
#2 of 20 in Las Galeras
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Tropical Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tropical Village

Property: Chalet Tropical Village
Address: Calle Chalet Tropical | Las Galeras, Samanà, Las Galeras 32000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalet Tropical Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chalet Tropical Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Tropical Village Hotel Las Galeras
Chalet Tropical Village Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing