We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breath Of Fresh Air”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Galeras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ecocampo La Sangria
Cabarete
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breath Of Fresh Air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Las Galeras and all I could find were typical Dominican hotels. We wanted something special so clicked the "other" button in Tripadvisor and the words "Eco lodge" stood out.

We arrived and Marie greeted us like long lost friends. The cabins are new, clean and cute - perhaps a little small.

There is little cell reception, so I really felt unplugged there.

Marie lent us her personal snorkeling equipment and we went to the beach 10 minutes away and had a great time snorkeling.

I highly recommend this Eco lodge if you want something rustic, rural and quiet. Don't expect luxury. It's a place o unplug and commune with nature.

Marie made our stay even more special. She is a sweetheart.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CabareteBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is a really nice place to rest and unplug from the huff-puff of everyday life. Quiet, well taken care of, beautiful beaches nearby, wonderful local food prepared by Yolanda and Maria Cristina, reasonably priced. They work hard to make us comfortable. Cannot get much better than that! We were really well treated by the staff and enjoyed our stay a lot! We will definitely return to Eco Campo! I am sure you will love it as well!

Lindo local para descansar e desligar-se da correria do dia-dia. Calmo, bem cuidado, lindas praias ao redor, comida local saborosa preparada pela Yolanda e Maria Cristina, e a um preco muito razoavel. Nao da' pra pedir mais que isso! Fomos muito bem tratados e apreciamos muito nossa estadia no Eco Campo! Definitivamente vamos voltar la'!!!!! Experimente, voce vai gostar!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro de Macorís, San Pedro De Macoris, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Un lugar bonito, acogedor, comida muy buena! excelente! buen trato, ambiente agradable y a buen precio

This is a place where you can enjoy nature to its fullest, with confortable weather, very beatiful nature and a calm place to relax. The staff was very attentive and concerned about your well-being.
The food is extremely good authentic dominican food, with all being organic and from their own plantations!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crisbel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

In fact, all the other reviews make perfectly clear why this is such a fine place to stay. You stay in wooden cabañas, with their own solar panels. Lighting is by LED bulbs. Basic but clean bath rooms.
Food by Yolanda is great. We had a sancocho with a delicious arroz con coco. As breakfast we had a real Dominican one: mangú with fried eggs ans sausage, along with a fruit salad with those delicious pineapples from the farm.
We spend the evening around a wood fire, watching the stars. A perfect place to disconnect. I regret a lot that we only stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edhimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

La Sangria ia a beautiful place to disconnect yourself from the outside world. Maria, the owner along with Yolanda, the cook make your stay very enjoyable with great food and company. You have to go with Maria to Playa Rincon and ask her to prepare for a Piña Colada.. the best I have ever tried and with organic pineapple...

La Sangraria is most definetly one of the hidden Lodges in the DR with the best service, worth to spend time there...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lprinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We had a friend visiting from the States and wanted to take him to a truly peaceful Dominican getaway, not a resort. We had been to Playa Rincon before, but stayed in Las Galeras and took the boat over. We wanted something closer to Playa Rincon so we could drive. We had the most perfect time at La Sangria. It was an incredible place for our children as well - even when we weren't at the beach, they had so much fun running around exploring the grounds, seeing the animals and getting dirty! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodiAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Cheers to a magical and eco-friendly weekend! I found Ecocampo La Sangria on Trip Advisor and was so impressed with all the reviews that my friends and I decided to give the place a shot. The food was very plentiful and fresh. We loved all the organic fruits and veggies. The staff made us feel right at home and gave us the true campo experience (a true sense of hospitality). We enjoyed seeing all the organically grown food, bathing with rain water and falling asleep to the sounds of nature. This spot is truely educational for kids and perfect for yoga, meditation or spiritual retreat. I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves nature and wants to support sustainable living/tourism. Thank you for the unforgettable experience!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sundog0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
20.2 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
5.1 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Dominican Tree House Village
Dominican Tree House Village
#1 of 9 in Santa Barbara de Samana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chalet Tropical Village
Chalet Tropical Village
#1 of 20 in Las Galeras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#2 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecocampo La Sangria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecocampo La Sangria

Property: Ecocampo La Sangria
Address: Camino Real | El Rinco, Las Galeras 809, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only for the adventurous and lovers of nature. Small intimate ecological project with 7 thatched wooden cabins, twin and doubles, individual rainwater showers, communal bathroom area, surrounded by an open garden area of coco, palm and fruit trees which allow our guests peace and intimacy. We cater for all, from individuals to groups who wish to take advantage of a unique intimate space which can be used to undertake rural activities or for personal development courses. The area consists of a central common area and kitchen, our own vegetable and fruit garden as well as a wide area with hammocks and secluded spaces, quiet and safe , to read, rest, meditate or simply enjoy the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ecocampo La Sangria Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing