We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of C L'Aventura de John

C L'Aventura de John
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Las Galeras
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar and Restaurant, pizza, fish, meat, ice cream etc. Popular with tourists, reasonable price, good food. On main street, between La Pescador and le Tainos (and a couple of other restaurants not listed on Trip Advisor)
GlobalRoamer2003
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Great pizza, great value. The owner and staff were very friendly, the service was quick.

For dining in this small ocean-side venue, you can't do any better!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalRoamer2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    59
    27
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
altrincham
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“french-italian cuisine in a friendly spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I had a dinner with my wife on February and we really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. The owner, the Italian chef and the staff are really nice and welcoming. We had the best daiquiri in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank francesco g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simple French/Italian cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Nice restaurant and it was one of the few places that served french fries with the food, not that we went for the fries, but the kids certainly enjoyed it.
The steak was nice, although quite plain cooked. The pizzas were thin and crispy and the creme caramel was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Me and my husband went there several time in our stay for lunch and dinner .
service is good & friendly (a bit slow ),
seats are not very comfortable .
Cuisine is french/ Italian The food is really good & fresh with daily specials -don't miss rotisserie chicken !
this restaurant is open most of the day (until 1am ) and weekdays , which is great with so little options in this town that closed most of the time .
we liked it very much and would recommend .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dafna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I went here twice for dinner because the pizza was so delicious. It reminded us of the wood fired pizza we had had in Italy. The chicken wings weren't anything memorable but a few of the other appies were also delicious. The service was attentive and great, considering that you are in the Dominican and things go a little slower than, say, in North America. The staff also spoke fluent French which made communicating easy for us since we don't speak Spanish. If we stayed another night in Las Galeras, we would have gone back for another delicious dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annabouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C L'Aventura de John also viewed

Las Galeras, Samana Province
 
Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 

Been to C L'Aventura de John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing