We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little remote but well worth the walk”
Review of La Rancheta

La Rancheta
Ranked #15 of 33 Restaurants in Las Galeras
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Hurricane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little remote but well worth the walk”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

La Rancheta is a hotel and restaurant, located about a mile down a road right off of the main street of Las Galeras, about a block up from the beach. The restaurant serves a variety of Dominican, Caribbean and European dishes, very good, quality food served in a truly Dominican atmosphere at moderate prices. Very much worth the extra effort to go the extra mile.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“love ron and gracia”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

its soo nice there good Food. Dont expect a clean place :-) but very atmospheric and very helpful People.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Franzluisxaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horseback Riding to Playa Madama”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Karin took us on an exciting ride through the jungle to Playa Madama. The horses were easy to ride and the ride was very informational. Once we got to the beach Karin took us through an old cave and explained some of the history of the beach. We also got to hike up to the top of a cliff and look over the beautiful ocean. Gorgeous view! Once we were done exploring we were able drink coconut water straight from the coconut--I loved this part! Karin was a great host and I would highly recommend her for horseback riding!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreaHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place. good people.”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

nice place up the hills a bit. road to it is good. directions should get you there easy. a bit more away from the town, so a nice place to relax or base yourself.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank patknolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ron's Kitchen”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We enjoyed a big meal together with all the folks who happened to be staying at La Hacienda together that week - Ron served us like we were one family, the freshest fish with interesting appetizers and nice drinks. A great place for personal service.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cjhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rancheta also viewed

Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 

Been to La Rancheta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing