We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views within an underdeveloped area of the Domenican”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Paradise Samana
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful views within an underdeveloped area of the Domenican”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This resort may not be for everyone ; it really depends what kind of traveler you are. The food is average, the hotel amenities need some work (Internet rarely works, cellular service is poor, toilet didn't work well, television had issues), guest services were okay, however, the natural beauty of the area far outweighs the issues with this hotel. The beach and the weather was great! There are three pools but one seemed to be used exclusively by Lookea, a French tour operator.

Our trip operator, Sunwing, had a wonderful rep who pointed out the best ways to see this area either by foot, on excursion or via taxi on our own. There are two great off resort restaurants which we enjoyed - Le Tainos and El Cabito.

Room Tip: The villas facing the beach are the nicest; the oceanview/front dble occupancy rooms aren't wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ArielaLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,362
    1,304
    523
    233
    157
See reviews for
1,153
1,195
186
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Stayed at this resort December 5-19th, 2011 and was appalled that this is sold as a 4 star resort. This hotel is located in a very rural area of the DR. The local employees have very little training and understanding of customer service. Guile, arrogance and aggressiveness were the norm.

Poor food handling, many guests reported diarrhea with one guest evacuated for IV drip. Very disappointing. We ate all our meals in the village for the second week, which was expensive, although we felt much better within a day of doing so.

Poor food selection with a ten-item buffet plus salad for 1000 people. The same food every day, cooked very poorly, sometimes burnt black, always overcooked, never tasty and sometimes spoiled. Green lunch meat, rotting fish, canned sauces, decomposing salad, etc.

Poor sanitation with guests expected to use wastebaskets for used toilet paper. Poor housekeeping with no cleaning unless supervised. Poor sanitary conditions for laundry, etc. with poop-stained towels left in bathroom as "clean". Restaurant and bar dishes are washed by hand in tap water (which you cannot drink) which means they sometimes have food on them or they are greasy.

Misc. stuff: Asked front desk to change rooms because ours was too near restaurant and show stage. We were told that we have a room and the hotel doesn't change rooms for guests (even though the resort was 50% occupied). Maid banged on door in the morning until someone opened it and then reprimanded us for not using the DND sign. Boys at front desk are arrogant and aggressive; we were told that wearing the ID bracelet on our watches was not allowed and WE WERE TOLD TO CHECK OUT IMMEDIATELY but then they changed their minds when we said OK. lol

Sunwing.ca rep offered us another hotel in Puerto Plata for an additional $500 for travel or to leave the island would cost $700 pp.

I have stayed at other all-inclusive resorts in the DR and they were okay. This one has serious problems. I was just looking for a quiet 4 star resort so I could rest quietly for two weeks, not to have problems with a sub-standard resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank haaronl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonfield, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The friendly and helpful staff make your stay a good one. Alvine, Euris and the girls who waited on us were very special. The grassed area by the beach had sun and shade and a path so you could walk to Las Galeras or along the beach. The food was good: don't be afraid to try the whole fish at the Seafood Restaurant. It is a bit far from the airport, but, the scenery is great. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Check in is incredibly fast because you fill out the registration card on the bus. They should give everyone two keys right away, but, only give one key per room which can be a pain. We would go back!

Room Tip: Rooms further from the reception area are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napanee, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This was our 2nd time to the DR and the first time for our children. We travelled with a large group of friends and family. Myself, my husband and our 3 children stayed in a bunaglow. This was excellent! We usually don't have the option of all staying together. Our bunaglow was cleaned well everyday and our fridge was restocked. However I was sure to tip the maids well and leave gifts. The kids loved it, ages 7, 12 and 15. I am a vegetarian and found that compared to other resorts there was a lot of options. I did however get the runs, but mainly because my usual diet is almost all vegan and I did end up eating some pizza/cheese which I normally don't eat. I as well don't normally drink a lot of fruit juices/ sugary drinks which also contributed to the runs. We all loved the beautiful grounds, which were very well kept. The view from the beach was beautiful. We got an amazing deal for our trip so it was well worth our money! The new section that everyone seems to say is reserved for the french is the area where my mother in law and sister in law stayed, and they are not french!!! Their room was amazing, pillowtop beds, excellent decor up to date, great bathroom. Our friends loved the resort as well!

Room Tip: Bring washcloths, water bottles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This was the third trip for my fiance and myself. By far the best trip yet. When we arrived at the airport, the time to get through security was quick and painless. the drive from the airport to the resort was about an hour and a half, a little far but overall not too bad. upon arrival at the resort we were greeted with a fantastic drink, very refreshing, only problem is trying to get anybody else to make this drink nobody else knows what it is. After checking in our room was not ready till about another 2 hours later, so we went had some lunch and wandered around the resort, getting lost and asking three people for help which they did not speak any English, was not fun for that half hour. The resort is a fair size but not to big. The first room we had was on the ground floor with an ocean view, fantastic view, we changed rooms to an upper level, for one where the shower worked. took a couple days to put that through. One major downfall is the key for the room, you have to put in a slot to turn on the hydro, but if you leave you take the key with you thus shutting off the hydro and the air conditioning.The food was touch and go, you find some good things you find some bad stuff, and other days you find lots of great food. If you are a picky eater you may not like it here, but that is the same at any Caribbean resort you go to. the biggest problem i ran into was the non English speaking bar tenders and such, they don't seem to even try. On the weekends the resort is open to the locals, which are rude, ignorant, and made me want to punch them in their faces. "seriously". The beach was awesome, nice breeze, clean clear water, and a bar right next to it. The shows when they weren't just dancing were really good. On this trip we finally made it to the disco, first time ever it was a blast, very loud but what do you expect its a "club"(40X40 room with a railing and sunken dance floor awesome). Not much more you can expect from a resort that is still fairly new, the airport was just built there 6 years ago, so people are finally going there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank kdawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halton Hills, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The 11/2 hour bus ride was well worth it once we arrived, the resort if very well maintained and rooms are very clean. The beds are very comfortable best sleep i have ever had. Beach was great, i found the pictures with the grass at the beach different but actually enjoyed that, we found the best place to sit was by the aquarian hut. The shows are nice but the two best ones were the water show and the Michael Jackson show. Noris the Reservations Manager was very nice and got us a beautiful room with a large balcony which we enjoyed our morning and evening coffee's. We would go back in a flash because we love the slow pace and remote (no other hotels around).

Room Tip: we had room 7301 and 7303 and they were very happy with them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 830karen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The ride from the airport was an hour and a half on the skinniest road I've ever encountered.
The resort was pretty good. We had trouble with our safe, that took 3 days to fix. We were in the last building, 8104, and asked to move closer to everything because my husband has COPD, and were told that there were no rooms available. We travelled Nov 30-Dec. 4, and we had trouble getting a lounger at the beach everyday. People would save them, then not show up for hours. I'm a picky eater, but I always found something to eat. The snack bar at the beach was excellent for lunch everyday. This resort caters to the French. There was one pool, where daily activities and nightly entertainment was all french. Overall, we would return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SungoddessOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
0.8 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 5 in Las Galeras
180 reviews
25.7 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
438 reviews
20.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 60 in Samana Province
3,816 reviews
10.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
10.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#2 of 60 in Samana Province
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Samana

Property: Grand Paradise Samana
Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Paradise Samana 3*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Paradise Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Samana Hotel Las Galeras
Casa Marina Bay
Grand Paradise Samana Las Galeras
Grand Paradise Samana Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing