We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveller reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveller reviews.

“A week in Paradise:: Grand Paradise Samana (see pictures)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Paradise Samana
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week in Paradise:: Grand Paradise Samana (see pictures)”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We just returned from a lovely vacation to Grand Paradise Samana. The family vacation was one of our favorites, great sports for the kids, the grounds were wonderful, the beach beautiful, the sunsets magnificent, I took many many pictures. It's always important to know someone who has your back, and that person for us was Noris. You have a key employee there, please let her know we think so. She arranged for the taxi to and from the airport, made sure we had a perfect room based on our specifications, answered all of our questions, called the airport, and much much more.

There was a young woman at the front desk, forgot her name, who gave me much great information on the horseback ride to the waterfall. "Joseph" was a lot of fun at archery, our family even attended the evening music revue he was in just so we could add our support. Thank you Grand Paradise Samana.

Room Tip: we enjoyed beach front rooms, very quiet and nice view from patio in back, also private dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,372
    1,328
    526
    234
    160
See reviews for
1,161
1,209
193
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

If you are a person that just wants to do lot of shopping and lying on the beach on your vacation.. do not go to Samana. This extraordinary peacefull place is great for people who want to see something else then the resort, for example whales from January till March, beautiful nature parks with caves decorated by original indians, local villages, waterfalls, untouched nature ..yet still you can spoil yourself with all inclusive package in this hotel and as well rest in the beautiful beach. Even I am not the type of "hotel person" and never really enjoyed the animation programs on vacation.. here you see the same animation team each evening performing something else.. and you just somehow start to like the people and get used to them. The managers of the hotel are very nice people doing a great job and being very friendly and helpfull! It was really nice holiday, hard to leave and hard to not go back even there are so many places I would love to travel to.. I do not quite understand why, but I definitely have to visit charming Samana again :o) Veronika from Prague, Czech Republic

Room Tip: building no. 1 - near the beach, near the reception, sea view - palm trees in the way, but still you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My wife and I went to GPS on feb 2 for 10 days with 2 other couples. After reading the reviews we went there with low expectations, but were pleasantly surprised. After checking in, we were put in the 2000 block where our ac and safe did not work. Maintenance came and got it running but stoped working in the middle of the night. Next day we decided to up grade to a villa. It was well worth it.
The resort itself is dated but the beach with grass is very nice. The ocean water was very warm. If we weren't on the beach we were at the quiet pool that had it's own bar. The drinks were strong and they kept them coming. The food at the buffet was good, had something for anybody. But it does get a little repetitive after 7 days. lol. The a la cartes were average.
This resort is a little gem, but could be real beauty with a good face lift on parts of the resort, like the rest of the rooms except 5000-8000 blocks. They really need to get better paths and lighting at night. For the ladies out there that like to get dressed up and wear heels like my wife, don t bring the heels. ITS NOT HEEL FRIENDLY LOL. The paths are really bad for them.
A special thanks has to go out Ginari Balbuena she was very good at the front desk and allways remembered our names. The rest of the staff was also very good.
All in all if you get a good deal on this resort don t hesitate to go. We had a great time.

P.S Dont take your heels ladies LOL

Room Tip: Stay in the villas or 5000-8000 block
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachloversCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My mom and I stayed for 10 days end of March to the beginning of April 2012 so this review is a little late. The beach is beautiful and the area is absolutely stunning, clear blue water, palm trees, and I even saw a sea turtle while snorkeling in front of the resort. It is a bay with a coral reef protecting it so the water is calm and it is safe to swim out far without any undertow. Unfortunately the lack of fish in the bay is quite apparent due to over fishing. The local young boys go to the reef areas and spear all the tiny fish which I got to witness during one of my many snorkeling adventures. It was disheartening.
If you are a vegetarian you will be more than happy with the food. There was so much to eat and always different kinds of beans at dinner, lots of potatoes, and vegetables. The crepes at breakfast were the best, although sometimes you would have to wait a bit because people wanted multiple crepes. We brought coffee mugs to get coffee in the morning before the breakfast buffet opened but apparently they were getting mad at people for doing that so I don’t know what the situation with that is now.
There are a lot of Europeans at the resort but I liked that. I met people from all over the world not just Canada, who were the worst behaved towards the staff it was actually sometimes embarrassing. The rooms are basic but fine and we never had any problems getting beach towels. The main negatives for me were the noise from the animation shows and disco at night and the lack of shade areas on the beach.
We did the day trip to the plantation and then to playa Rincon. The plantation is just some random house and it was very boring. If I go again I would take a private boat to Rincon from the town of Las Gelaras, that would be cheaper and to be able to spend more time at the beach would have been more rewarding, it was absolutely stunning.
We flew with West Jet and they are amazing. I usually fly major air carriers and the employees were so friendly. I was shocked.
We got a great price for 10 days and would rather stay somewhere less "fancy" for longer. I love the beach! If you are looking for luxury you will not be happy here. Also, I speak a fair amount of Spanish and the staff were amazing, sometimes you just have to make an effort to bridge the gap. Especially since the staff are learning French and German as well as English, I think a little patience is required (if you don't speak Spanish).
The photographers on staff are absolutely wonderful and talented.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wwwtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Our family trip was a wonderful experience, we loved our week in paradise! From the first step out of the taxi at the hotel to the very last moment, we relished it. Our first encounter was with Noris over the phone, doing everything she could to insure that our reservation and room requests, went smoothly. Noris made our taxi arrangements from the airport, greeted us at the front desk upon arrival, and she even made and our first dinner reservation (and her tutoring along the way was appreciated). We felt very taken care of by the staff. Julio served as a great problem solver as well, thank you for that. The beaches were lovely, the long palm tree lined beach was a backdrop to our many photographs, the sunsets perfect, and the walks along the trails were also a great evening activity. We even have another trip planned there this year!
Steve G & Family

Room Tip: ocean side beautiful, more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StevenGordon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My husband and i visited this resort feb 5-12 2013, and i must say it was a great first travel experience!
Its only a 90 min bus ride from Samana airport to resort, and best part is they hand you a envelope with your room key/number and a bonus 30 mins of free wifi. What a great idea so we didnt have to wait inline at midnight to register.
The resort was VERY clean, grounds ppl always working to clean the leaves and washing down the stones around the pool. The rooms are in okay shape, they do need to add some paint to make it look more stylish (no complaints)
The food was really good as well, love the variety of options they have at the buffet. **for kids if you go to beach buffet from 12-4 they have pizza burgers fries etc**
Yes the resort does get a bit loud during the shows but its just the audience laughing and hoot and hollering of enjoyment.

In previews and possible new reviews to come, some might complain of theft.... Reason for that is if you brag and holler about all the expensive stuff you brought with you to your room that doesn't fit in the safe, yes you might have someone steal it... Your in a 3rd world country who don't have the privilege of things we do. Don't bring items to a resort that cant fit in the safe!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view!! Totally worth the extra $40
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

My friend and I went here for 6 days/5 nights as a girl trip to get away from the cold weather. Unfortunately, to our dismay, the stay was not as we expected.

Though we got lucky with a balcony and a view of the ocean, the room was comparable to that of a Days Inn or Best Western, the staff I feel spoke insufficient English (in fact it got worse as the trip went on) and did not seem to have a whole lot of information, there was no welcome packet or orientation to let you know how to make reservations for dinner, that the "mini bar" (which consisted of soda and water) was included, the customer service line never was answered, and there never seemed to be clean towels in our room when we needed them. In fact, on day 3 or 4 we realized that they were taking the same towels we'd been using already and just refolding/rehanging them (we were being courteous to not put them on the floor when wet so they didn't get mildewy).

We opted out of snorkeling because we felt the staff probably did not sufficiently clean the mouthpieces between uses among people, and though they offer windsurfing, waves were breaking about 200+ meters out so could be potentially dangerous as no guides went with you.

The food got me sick one night and I was hesitant to eat any seafood a good portion of the time we were there. Best thing was the chicken, eggs and flan.

Overall, we made the best of the situation in which we were presented, but I feel that there was a lack of information given to us and it was not portrayed as how it really is. And this is coming from someone who doesn't expect a 5-star stay wherever she goes.

Room Tip: If you decide to go, ask for a room away from the pool and disco on the 2nd floor with the balcony f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
0.8 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 5 in Las Galeras
186 reviews
25.7 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
448 reviews
20.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 54 in Samana Province
3,882 reviews
10.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
9.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Samana

Property: Grand Paradise Samana
Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Paradise Samana 3*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Paradise Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Samana Hotel Las Galeras
Casa Marina Bay
Grand Paradise Samana Las Galeras
Grand Paradise Samana Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing