We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Paradise Samana
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The resort is a hour and a half drive from the Airport in Samana, not the minutes from the airport the ad said.
The lobby does not do justice to the resort, it's actually a very plain looking lobby, but the resort itself is very nice. The rooms are big and spacious. If you are in building 6, 7, or 8 you will be close to the beach, but you will also be close to the generators which hums somewhat loudly at nights when everything is quiet. There are wifi hotspots in the concourse of each housing building if you want to spend your time in a resort on computers or smart phone.
The pools are ok, the main pool and there is always a place to sit when you get there.
The beach is very nice, the sand is white, and a large portion is covered with grass, so you have the choice of either sitting in the chairs or actually laying on the grass. There is a nice trail that goes along the beach, that you can walk to both North and South and still be able to see the resort. This is also the trail used for horseback riding, it's great for a stroll in the evenings. The water is good, you will find that there is a lot of seaweed in the water. There is a section directly in front that seems to have been raked, but off to the sides there are lots of seaweeds. If it unfortunately rains any day you are there, then the volume of seaweeds quadruples.The water is not very deep and you can walk out very far without fear. The resort is located on the Eastern part of the country so you either have to get up early to get the sun on the beach, because by around 3 or 4pm there is very little sun there.
There are the usual resort activities, scuba, snorkeling, water boats, they also have a seven hole mini golf course, archery, volleyball, horseshoes, and a mini soccer pitch on the very large grass area. There was never a backlog for getting activity time which was great. There is an underwater aquarium that you can book on your snorkeling trip. It's pretty cool and it's maybe a half a kilometer out from the resort.
The night time activities were ok, usually they will start with a dance and activity for the kid and then lead into the adult activities.
The food was good. Had a very nice Christmas Eve and Christmas Day feast. The food was not kept very warm for some reason, and if you like to try local dishes, there was none offered at the buffet. During breakfast lunch and dinner always space in the buffet restaurants for eating, it was never crowded. During lunch you could either eat at the buffet by the beach or the main buffet. There was also a snacks available until 1:00am at another location after the dinner buffet was closed.
Grand Samana is a very family friendly resort for families with small children. Great activities for kids, not much night life and not really close to anywhere. We had a great time there.

Room Tip: Rooms in blocks 6.7. and 8 are close to the beach, but also close to the generators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank kkevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    1,310
    524
    233
    157
See reviews for
1,157
1,198
185
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I've been to GPS a few times and each time I received a warm welcome and left with more great friends. The staff are so kind and thoughtful. Every lobby staff that I spoke to always remembered me - thank you to Euris, Gina, Benjamin and Ronny. You are amazing. A special thank you to Julio for the tour of the new model rooms and the lobby while still under construction - the hotel will look amazing when completed. Thank you to Samuel as well for setting this up.

Given the hotel was under construction, I didn't hear any noise nor experience any frustration from it. The management took extra efforts to please the guests of the hotel - Wilfredo, Roberto, Henry, Samuel, Emilio and Noris. Good job to all of you. The upgrades to the hotel will be well worth your hard work.

The quality of the buffet style restaurant has noticeably improved and a special thank you to Roberto, Leocalina and Jose for my special requests at lunch time. You are so accommodating and I appreciate your kindness to my dietary needs. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the beach restaurants too - great view of the beach and ocean.

The activities/entertainment staff were very friendly and entertaining throughout the day and evening. You are all so hard working and I appreciate all you do for the guests at the hotel - Yessi, Olga, Judith, Alexis, Zapata, Yousef, Mikiki, Kaki, Lima, Yuberkys, Francko, Asprinia - just AMAZING!!!

I think this hotel is great for families and a good, relaxing time with a calm beach for kids to swim. The town nearby is Las Galeras where you can go to the bank, restaurants, shops, excursions or just to go for a nice walk along the beach.

I stayed in the bungalow this time because of the construction at the hotel. It was great - very spacious with walk-in closet, a bar/kitchenette, living area, second level loft and a patio to relax outdoors.

Can't wait to go back and see my GPS friends and enjoy another vacation exploring Samana.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 101TravelBug101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel was not the best hotel i've ever been to in the dominican republic, but it was definitely the best time i've had by far. The employes were so outgoing and lovely to talk to. The price was definitely reasonable for the services we got. Luciano was one of my favourite employees he interacted with the guests and got to know them, Guery who worked at the front desk was very much the same, they made you feel good about being there. The atmosphere was amazing, this is the kind of hotel you could travel to with friends, or even family, there was a lot of stuff going on for little kids as well, would I travel here again, definitely, intact I went here less then a year ago and am already planning another trip there. I had so much fun that It came to the point where I don't want to travel anywhere else, I found myself missing it as soon as I left.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. Catharines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Staff are very good , rooms are clean, the landscape around hotel is very relaxing. We been there my wife and I 4 times our vacation was great each time except the last trip the food was not as good and serve cold. The beach need sand , went you walk in the water your feet are in some white mud. overhall the price are good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank serge r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The new rooms are spacious, clean.
The hotel is not too large so you can walk everywhere without getting tired.
Beach is nice, soft sand and clean.

Overall, it is a very laid back place that is great for relaxing and unwinding away from the hustle and bustle of city life. It is very isolated with limited entertainment so keep that in mind if you get bored easily. If you are looking for luxury, stay at one of the Gran Bahia resorts.

Room Tip: upgrade to a newer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks in December 13.

To start, the flight with Sunwing was ok served with two or three table spoons of Champagne and for lunch we got another three table spoons of wine and a cheese sandwich, better than the no frill Air Canada flight we had to Jamaica but with less leg room.

We landed in Puerto Plata nobody from our travel agency or Sunwing told us it is more than four and half hours drive to the hotel so let it be known that it is a long drive so people can make choices in flying to Samana or Puerto plata.

The hotel occupy a large land of palm trees and vegetation, the beach is nice sandy, cleaned every day, however you will encounter batches of sea weeds while swimming. On the property you will see horses and in the pond you will be able to feed the fish and turtles. You will see the odd bird here and there and occasionally pigeons and flies in the dinning room. Remember this is the tropic and there is no way to avoid the odd insect, bird or ants somewhere during your stay.

Staff were friendly and doing their best to please clients, although sometimes slow responding to issues. Rooms are clean and spacious and kept clean on daily basis.

Food is good with lots of variety but with buffet style it is hard to keep it hot all the time.

Internet is very expensive at $ 49 a week, hot spots are near the pools, bars and if your room is facing a router you can get it on the balcony. We didn’t have a chance to investigate buying a SIM card and using our smart phone instead of paying what we consider an outrageous amount in particular when they charge you the $ 49 per week for each device you use, so if you want to use your cell phone and your laptop, this is $ 98/week.

An incident that annoyed us tremendously that of a young tourist from Toronto in his early twenties, took a Taxi from Puerto Plata to the hotel. It seems that due to either a language problem or misunderstanding he was short by $ 60 to pay the driver. He tried to withdrew the money from the only ATM machine at the hotel, but either the ATM didn’t work or his card didn’t work. That young man has prepaid his accommodation to the hotel and would be staying there for few days. Instead of the hotel staff advancing the money to the taxi driver they called the hotel security guards and the police and the young was handcuffed to be thrown in jail. The young tourist offered his laptop and cell phone to whoever would give him the money until he resolves this issue. An older couple who was present at the reception at the time gave the taxi driver the money, to the dismay of the hotel staff, security guards and the policemen who seem to be unhappy that somebody is bailing him out. Incidentally next day the laptop and the cell phone were stolen from the young man room. The only people who were present at the time during this incident were hotel reception staff, security guards, the policemen and the old couple. Do figure who knew of their existence at the young's man room.

Room Tip: If Internet is important to you use a room near by a router so you can use your device on the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank discover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at the Grand Paradise Samana from Dec 8 through Dec 14. The resort is undergoing renovations. It was not really crowded. The renovations certainly did not bother us. The food was included. There were buffets for each meal. Food was plentiful and varied. There was certainly enough for me as one who does not eat any meat and only some fish. The room was clean. You cannot drink the water in the room, but we had a refrigerator which was kept stocked with bottled water and soda. We had read of problems with belongings being looked through so we bought small locks for our suitcases. We had no problems. If we had any problems with the room, we told the reception person and things were taken care of. Our room was not one of the renovated ones, and I am told the newer ones are lovely.
The grounds are very nice. We took out a kayak one day, did some archery, water aerobics, step aerobics, all offered free of charge. We went snorkeling at the resort. That was inexpensive and wonderful. The guide led us with a bad full of fish food and the fish were all around us. We were even able to touch some.
There were shows each night- musical song and dance. The dancers were talented, but after a few nights, it all seemed the same.
We went to this resort on a groupon and feel we certainly got our money's worth. We did a couple of offsite tours, but that's for another review since it was not part of the hotel.

Room Tip: WE had a room overlooking the trees and beach. Some overlook the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galeras
0.8 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 5 in Las Galeras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
25.7 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
20.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
10.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
10.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#2 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Paradise Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Samana

Property: Grand Paradise Samana
Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Paradise Samana 3*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Paradise Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Samana Hotel Las Galeras
Casa Marina Bay
Grand Paradise Samana Las Galeras
Grand Paradise Samana Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing