We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of road trip”
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This was end of our Scottish road trip, and what end. The Ship Inn is bang on the harbour with beautiful views of the harbour. Food (great seafood) staff and rooms were perfect. Great selection of whiskey and real ale on tap too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bobmacuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

After calling all over to get a place at the last minute, this gracious lady had one room left for a very reasonable rate. We drove in late, found food in the pub and stayed in this quaint and comfortable inn. A welcome oasis after a long day. The room was clean, comfortable, and had all amenities we needed. There was yummy hot food and a pint waiting downstairs. The best part was our room faced the ocean and we had a breathtaking view of the pier and this oh-so-cute little old town village. The next morning, we went down to breakfast, which was included in the price, and ate like kings. . . delicious! Well done my friends!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ygraine0454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location, comfortable and clean. Add to that friendly helpful staff, good atmosphere and food, what more could you want? Bedroom had everything you could need and you were left to feel that if you did need anything else during your stay that the staff would go out their way to get it. I really look forward to being able to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peoplespal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely old (1770s) hotel directly on the picturesque Stonehaven harbor, and enjoyed every minute. Small but modern and well-appointed rooms over the friendly pub and adjoining restaurant are entered via a side door and stairs off Threadneedle Street. Just around the corner from the popular walking path to stunning Dunnottar Castle, and an easy walk into town for shopping.

Our meals at the Ship Inn restaurant were great- we had been eating all around London the previous week and did not have anything better than the selections on the Ship Inn menu. DO try the haggis bonbons- delicious! And the salmon, and.... Everything was beautifully prepared. The lemon tart was perfect; miles better than the one at Jamie Oliver's new place in London.

A special thanks to Simon, who was able to introduce us to a local gentleman who remembered our great aunt and uncle from many years ago- the topper to a memorable visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidN1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We enjoyed staying in an old pub in a scenic location for our last night in Scotland. The rooms are great and the staff are really friendly and helpful. We had our evening meal in their restaurant which was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent 3 delightful days in Stonehaven's Ship Inn. I can't say enough good things about the hotel, employees and adjoining restaurant. The rooms were spacious, considering that the hotel was built in the 1700's. I would recommend trying the restaurant's haggis bon bons as a starter. Never having tried haggis before, I was surprised at how good they were. Delish! The salmon and cod dishes were well prepared with a careful balance of seasoning.
I would recommend the restaurant and hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sracf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We could only stay one night here and wished we could have settled in for a week! We had a room with a view of the harbour and, with the late setting mid-summer sun, we could enjoy the view until late.
Service was friendly and efficient and we had our evening meal in the restaurant, which we enjoyed. We were even advised on which whisky we should try. A lovely stay - maybe one day we can return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pepperberry30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
10.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
11.1 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
7.6 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
0.3 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Address: 5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range: £102 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing