We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Happy Returns”
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have said it all before, but will say it again, I have never been disappointed in all of the past seven years that I have regularly stayed at the Ship Inn. It almost feels like I am coming home after being away each time I enter the Ship. First class food and keen prices. Just got back and have already booked my next stay.

Room Tip: The only tip I would give is Don't stay anywhere other than the Ship Inn.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JetmasterDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Ship Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Nice hotel. Had a lovely room that overlooked the harbor. Wasn't the quietest spot since it was beautiful weather, folks were outside having a drink. The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed eating at the hotel's restaurant at night. Took a nice hike up to Dunnotar Castle, and the war monument on the way. The hike is longer than they say, but well worth it. We would recommend it to anyone and would stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room, great view. One evening we had a Polish gentleman, who liked to hear h...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loules99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting in front of harbour. Nice room, probably quieter at back of hotel. Very good cooked breakfast, compared to the poor continental breakfast at the Marine hotel (also dearer) next door. Also, choice of fish, porridge, etc.
Only minor complaint - my poached egg arrived hard boiled.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swimboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great place. But the service may be better. Situated in a very picturesque place. Little overpriced. The service may be better. The breakfast was good. The room was with a view to the dust bins. The pipe of the kitchen near the windows.

Room Tip: Ask a room with the view on the sea
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aron1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a cosy room with beautiful harbour view.
The hotel can be highly recommended. The breakfast was rich and very nice. Had a real good time in the Ship Inn and Stonehaven. We surely come back again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dafysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had a great stay at the Ship Inn. Glad we found the place. The room was clean and comfortable with a fantastic view of the harbor out large windows. We stayed in room 9. The bed was comfortable and we had a great nights sleep even though the room is directly over the bar. If you are looking for some exercise there is a trail to Dunnotar Castle from just a few yards down the street. The trail is only 1.5 miles but there are some long steep uphill passages. The reward is the spectacular views when you make it to the top.

Only downside for us was we didn't realise we should have made reservations for the restaurant so we had to eat in the bar. The menu is the same but the bartender who took our order clearly forgot about us and we couldn't catch his eye until we had waited for about an hour. Then he realized his error and came to the table to ask if we had eaten. Should have been obvious that with no utensils and and empty table that we had not been served. What was disappointing later was that he blamed the kitchen for the problem. We had to ask him for salt, pepper, and condoments as well since he just wanted to drop our plates on the table and run.

Still highly recommend the place for a night or two since it is close to several of the castles in the area without the crazyness of nearby Aberdeen.

One last note is that there is no AC in the Inn, very typical of most places we stayed in Scotland, but we found a fan in the hallway and that made the night perfectly comfortable.

Room Tip: Book a room with the harbor view. It's only a little more and the view is well worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A friendly welcome and ideal location. We would especially recommend our room which had a superb view of the harbour.
Our meal was served efficiently but would recommend other guests to book a table; the restaurant was full on our night (Friday) but we were lucky enough to be fitted in at short notice otherwise we would have dined in the bar

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
10.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
7.6 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
13.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#16 of 27 in Stonehaven
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Address: 5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range: £99 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing